World Grand Prix

World Grand Prix News

The stars of world darts convene in Coventry for the annual World Grand Prix from October 6-12.

The unique double-start tournament will see 32 players competing for the prestigious trophy and £450,000 in prize money at the Ricoh Arena.

It will be the first time the Boylesports World Grand Prix has been held away from the Citywest Hotel in Dublin for 20 years and will be staged behind closed doors due to ongoing covid restrictions.

The top 16 players from the main PDC Order of Merit are joined in the star-studded line-up by the next 16 highest ranked players from the ProTour Order of Merit.

Michael van Gerwen is the defending champion after defeating Dave Chisnall 5-2 in last year’s final and is bidding for a sixth crown since making his breakthrough in 2012.

Former finalist Peter Wright and world number three Gerwyn Price are looking to get their hands on this trophy for the first time, along with the likes of Gary Anderson, Glen Durrant and Nathan Aspinall.

James Wade and Daryl Gurney are the only other former World Grand Prix champions in the competition.

The six debutants in this year’s field include recent German Championship winner Devon Petersen, Portugal’s Jose De Sousa and Dutchman Dirk van Duijvenbode.

First Round matches are to be contested over the best of three sets, Second Round and Quarter-Finals best of five, Semi-Finals best of seven and the final best of nine.

Best Offers!

  • Bet £5 and Get £20 in Free Bets when you join
  • Daily Money-back Specials and Price Boosts