Players Championship Finals

Players Championship Finals News

The top performers from the ProTour head to Coventry for the 2020 Players Championship Finals.

The £500,000 major features 64 players battling it out in a culmination of the 23 Players Championship events held during the course of the season.

This year’s Players Championship Finals will be held behind closed doors at the Ricoh Arena in Coventry from November 27-29.

Play in the early rounds will be held across two stages, with main stage matches televised and matches from Stage Two streamed exclusively live online.

Michael van Gerwen is the defending champion after defeating Gerwyn Price 11–9 in last year’s final at Butlins Minehead.

The world number one is targeting a sixth Players Championship Finals title since 2013 and a first major title since the UK Open back in March.

Other former champions in the field include 2014 winner Gary Anderson and 2018 winner Daryl Gurney, while World Champion Peter Wright is the number one seed and World Grand Prix champion Gerwyn Price is seeded number two.

Newly-crowned Grand Slam champion Jose De Sousa is the number nine seed, with beaten finalist James Wade seeded sixth behind Nathan Aspinall and Krzysztof Ratajski.

Mensur Suljovic and Jeff Smith have been replaced from the original list of qualifiers by Darren Webster and Ryan Meikle.

First and Second Round ties are to be contested over the best of 11 legs, with Third Round and Quarter-Finals best of 19 and Semi-Finals and Final best of 21 legs.