Left arrow

UK Qualifying School 2021 Stage Two: Day One Draw and Live Scores

Right arrow

European Qualifying School 2021 Stage Two: Day Two Draw and Live Scores

Kirk Shepherd and Geert De Vos secure first automatic Tour Cards at 2021 Qualifying School

Jamie Shaw in Q School 14 Feb 2021
Kirk Shepherd in action (Photo by Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

Kirk Shepherd and Geert De Vos secured the first available automatic Tour Cards at 2021 PDC Qualifying School on Sunday.

Stage Two of the newly revamped PDC Qualifying School got under way in Milton Keynes and Niedernhausen following six days of Stage One action as 127 and 128 players competed in the respective events.

Former world finalist Shepherd maintained his incredible Q School record by securing automatic qualification for the third time in as many appearances.

The 34-year-old began his run by defeating Michael Barnard 6-3 before edging out Matthew Dennant 6-5 in one of three deciding leg victories en route.

A 6-4 success over Jonathan Wynn was followed by a last-leg victory over Matt Jackson, before a comprehensive 6-1 rout of in-form Chas Barstow in the Quarter-Finals.

The Semi-Finals saw Shepherd see off Martin Lukeman with another 6-5 scoreline, before pressing home his vast experience to deny emerging star Jack Main 6-1 in the final.

Main heads into Day Two on Monday top of the UK Q School Order of Merit with five points, one clear of Lukeman and Jonathan Worsley on four.

Meanwhile, Fallon Sherrock pulled off a 6-4 scalp of former Lakeside Champion Scott Mitchell in Round One before losing out to Sean Fisher 6-1 in the Last 64.

Former BDO world finalist Jim Williams crashed out in Round One, as did the likes of Arron Monk, Jamie Lewis and Richie Burnett.

European Qualifying School saw Belgian star De Vos secure a coveted PDC Tour Card for the first time thanks to an excellent all-round display in Germany.

The former World Trophy winner, who famously averaged 103.8 in a match at the 2015 Grand Slam, dropped just 14 legs in his seven wins on the day.

He began by defeating Dutchman Jerry Hendriks 6-2 before whitewashing Hungary’s Patrik Kovacs with a 96 average.

A 6-2 win over Steve Noster was followed with a clinical 100 average in a 6-1 rout of two-time Lakeside semi-finalist Michael Unterbuchner before overcoming dangerous Dutchman Richard Veenstra 6-3.

In the Semi-Finals, De Vos dispatched in-form Dutchman Lorenzo Pronk 6-2, before eventually getting over the line 6-4 against Geert Nentjes in the final despite missing match darts in the eighth leg.

Nentjes tops the European Order of Merit table ahead of Martin Schindler and Pronk, while five-time World Champion Raymond van Barneveld sits in ninth spot with two points.

Van Barneveld, bidding to complete his comeback less than two years after retiring, recorded two ton-plus averages on the day, including a 101.3 in his Last 16 defeat to Schindler.

Meanwhile, German Superleague winner Nico Kurz, Russia’s Boris Koltsov, Canada’s Matt Campbell and Austria’s Rowby-John Rodriguez were among the notable names who failed to register a point on the Order of Merit table.

The Stage Two action continues on Monday, with a further two automatic Tour Cards up for grabs.

In addition to the eight automatic Tour Cards on offer across the four days, a further eight will be available via the European Order of Merit and a further 13 via the UK Order of Merit.


UK Qualifying School Stage Two Day One Results

Last 32
Chas Barstow 6-3 Joe Murnan
Brett Claydon 6-5 Kevin Burness
Matt Jackson 6-5 Josh McCarthy
Kirk Shepherd 6-4 Jonathan Wynn
Andrew Gilding 6-4 Scott Williams
Martin Lukeman 6-0 Ryan Hogarth
Martin Heneghan 6-5 Eddie Lovely
Robert Thornton 6-4 Niall Culleton
Jason Askew 6-1 Paul Mitchell
Jack Main 6-4 Simon Stevenson
Lee Evans 6-2 Jason Heaver
Paul Holloway 6-1 Joe Davis
Alan Soutar 6-1 Liam Meek
Gavin Carlin 6-0 Robert Rickwood
Jon Worsley 6-4 Lloyd Pennell
Sean Fisher 6-5 Rhys Davies

Last 16
Chas Barstow 6-5 Brett Claydon
Kirk Shepherd 6-5 Matt Jackson
Martin Lukeman 6-0 Andrew Gilding
Martin Heneghan 6-4 Robert Thornton
Jack Main 6-4 Jason Askew
Lee Evans 6-0 Paul Holloway
Gavin Carlin 6-4 Alan Soutar
Jon Worsley 6-5 Sean Fisher

Last Eight
Kirk Shepherd 6-1 Chas Barstow
Martin Lukeman 6-1 Martin Heneghan
Jack Main 6-4 Lee Evans
Jon Worsley 6-1 Gavin Carlin

Last Four
Kirk Shepherd 6-5 Martin Lukeman
Jack Main 6-4 Jonathan Worsley

Kirk Shepherd 6-1 Jack Main

Click here for all results from Stage Two Day One of UK Qualifying School

European Qualifying School Stage Two – Day One Results

Last 32
Michael Unterbuchner 6-3 Niels Zonneveld
Geert De Vos 6-2 Steven Noster
Ryan De Vreede 6-4 Michael Rasztovits
Richard Veenstra 6-2 Gino Vos
Adam Gawlas 6-2 Florian Hempel
Lorenzo Pronk 6-2 Ricardo Pietreczko
Jan Dekker 6-2 Claus Bendix Nielsen
Mario Vandenbogaerde 6-0 Maikel Verberk
Wesley Plaisier 6-5 Robbie Knops
Toni Alcinas 6-3 Maikel Venema
Robert Marijanovic 6-1 Daniele Petri
Geert Nentjes 6-5 Pero Ljubic
Martin Schindler 6-1 Danny van Trijp
Raymond van Barneveld 6-4 Patrick van den Boogaard
Zoran Lerchbacher 6-1 Franz Roetzsch
Rusty-Jake Rodriguez 6-4 Kai Gotthardt

Last 16
Geert De Vos 6-1 Michael Unterbuchner
Richard Veenstra 6-2 Ryan De Vreede
Lorenzo Pronk 6-3 Adam Gawlas
Mario Vandenbogaerde 6-3 Jan Dekker
Wesley Plaisier 6-2 Toni Alcinas
Geert Nentjes 6-1 Robert Marijanovic
Martin Schindler 6-4 Raymond van Barneveld
Zoran Lerchbacher 6-4 Rusty-Jake Rodriguez

Last Eight
Geert De Vos 6-3 Richard Veenstra
Lorenzo Pronk 6-5 Mario Vandenbogaerde
Geert Nentjes 6-5 Wesley Plaisier
Martin Schindler 6-3 Zoran Lerchbacher

Last Four
Geert De Vos 6-2 Lorenzo Pronk
Geert Nentjes 6-2 Martin Schindler

Geert De Vos 6-4 Geert Nentjes

Click here for all results from Stage Two Day One of European Qualifying School