Left arrow

UK Qualifying School 2021: Day One Draw and Live Scores

Right arrow

European Qualifying School 2021: Day Two Draw and Live Scores

Gawlas and Veenstra among early victors in Stage One of 2021 Qualifying School

Jamie Shaw in Q School 08 Feb 2021
18-year-old Czech star Gawlas celebrates (Photo by Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

Adam Gawlas and Richard Veenstra were among the first eight players to progress through PDC Qualifying School Stage 1A on Monday.

The opening day of Qualifying School saw more than 300 players kick off their campaigns in Milton Keynes and Niedernhausen, with places in the final stage up for grabs.

Gawlas and Veenstra were joined by Michael Plooy and Lorenzo Pronk in becoming the first four players to make it through European Q School.

In the UK, Eddie Lovely, Chas Barstow, Derek Coulson and Dale Hughes booked their place in the second phase later this month.

Former World Youth Championship runner-up Gawlas set the standard in Niedernhausen, averaging over 90 in four of his five wins, sealing his path through with victory over Croatia’s Pero Ljubic.

Experienced Dutchman Veenstra, a former Lakeside semi-finalist, also enjoyed a successful start to his bid for a place on the PDC tour for the first time.

Multiple-European Tour event qualifier Plooy and Q School debutant Pronk made it a trio of Dutch successes on Day One thanks to last eight wins over the much-fancied German prospect Nico Kurz and Belgium’s Geert De Vos respectively.

Much of the attention in Niedernhausen was focused on five-time World Champion Raymond van Barneveld – who was making his comeback appearance in PDC competition after announcing his decision to come out of retirement.

The Dutch legend got off to a strong start with a trio of victories, including a 100 average in the Last 32 against Gillian Koehoorn, before going down to Ljubic 6-5 in the Last 16, missing two match darts in the deciding leg.

Van Barneveld will be among the players returning for the second day of Stage 1A on Tuesday where the final four players from each venue will once again advance to Final Stage.

In Milton Keynes, experienced campaigner Lovely got the better of Scottish youngster Nathan Girvan in their qualification decider.

Barstow, in his third Q School appearance, defeated former Grand Slam qualifier Adam Smith-Neale, while Welsh pair Coulson and Hughes defeated John Imrie and Josh McCarthy respectively.

Elsewhere at the Marshall Arena, Fallon Sherrock exited at the Last 64 stage, Wes Newton reached the Last 32, while Kevin Painter and Wayne Warren failed to make it beyond the Last 128.


European Qualifying School 2021 Results

Last 32
Dennie Olde Kalter 6-3 Michael Rasztovits
Nico Kurz 6-3 Andreas Toft Jorgensen
Mario Vandenbogaerde 6-2 Boris Koltsov
Michael Plooy 6-4 Marko Puls
Pero Ljubic 6-4 Michael Stoeten
Raymond van Barneveld 6-0 Gillian Koehoorn
Jiri Brejcha 6-3 Jaimy van de Weerd
Adam Gawlas 6-1 Francois Schweyen
Moreno Blom 6-4 Philip Van Gasse
Geert De Vos BYE Mikel van Maastrigt
Michael Unterbuchner 6-4 Davy Proosten
Lorenzo Pronk 6-3 Egor Tvorogov
Remo Mandiau 6-5 Steven Noster
El Abbas El Amri 6-5 Ricardo Pietreczko
Richard Veenstra 6-5 Gian van Veen
Niko Springer 6-2 Karsten Koch

Last 16
Nico Kurz 6-3 Dennie Olde Kalter
Michael Plooy 6-3 Mario Vandenbogaerde
Pero Ljubic 6-5 Raymond van Barneveld
Adam Gawlas 6-1 Jiri Brejcha
Geert De Vos 6-5 Moreno Blom
Lorenzo Pronk 6-2 Michael Unterbuchner
Remo Mandiau 6-4 El Abbas El Amri
Richard Veenstra 6-2 Niko Springer

Last Eight
Michael Plooy 6-4 Nico Kurz
Adam Gawlas 6-1 Pero Ljubic
Lorenzo Pronk 6-4 Geert De Vos
Richard Veenstra 6-4 Remo Mandiau

Click here for full results from Stage 1A Day One of European Qualifying School

UK Qualifying School 2021 Results

Last 32
Eddie Lovely 6-4 Fred Box
Stephen Gallimore 6-3 Matt Jackson
Nathan Girvan 6-3 Jamie Durrant
David Wawrzewski 6-3 Liam Meek
David Airey 6-1 Jaikob Selby-Rivas
Adam Smith-Neale 6-2 Steve Earley
Chas Barstow 6-2 Arron Monk
Kevin Thomas 6-4 Mike Warburton
Kevin McDine 6-1 Wes Newton
John Imrie 6-2 Jack Vincent
John Scott 6-1 Peter Hudson
Derek Coulson 6-2 Haupai Puha
Josh McCarthy 6-1 Sam Booth
Philip Borthwick 3-6 John Brown
Brett Claydon 3-6 Dale Hughes
Connor Scutt 6-5 Martin Pratt

Last 16
Eddie Lovely 6-2 Stephen Gallimore
Nathan Girvan 6-2 David Wawrzewski
David Airey 5-6 Adam Smith-Neale
Chas Barstow 6-5 Kevin Thomas
Kevin McDine 1-6 John Imrie
John Scott 0-6 Derek Coulson
Josh McCarthy 6-2 John Brown
Dale Hughes 6-3 Connor Scutt

Last Eight
Eddie Lovely 6-2 Nathan Girvan
Adam Smith-Neale 4-6 Chas Barstow
John Imrie 4-6 Derek Coulson
Josh McCarthy 5-6 Dale Hughes

Click here for full results from Stage 1A Day One of UK Qualifying School