Left arrow

Teams and players confirmed for 2020 World Cup of Darts

Right arrow

World Cup of Darts 2020 Day One preview and order of play: Minnows eyeing early upsets

World Cup of Darts 2020 Draw, Live Scores and Tournament Schedule

Jamie Shaw in World Cup of Darts 08 Nov 2020
Scotland defeated Republic of Ireland in last year’s final (Photo by PDC Europe)

The elite stars from 32 nations head to Salzburg for the annual World Cup of Darts, and you can follow the latest results and fixtures here.

The top two players from each nation will battle it out across three days for £350,000 in prize money as the unique invitational heads to Austria behind closed doors.

With Peter Wright and Gary Anderson both having opted out of this year’s tournament, Scotland’s title defence falls into the hands of John Henderson and Robert Thornton.

England, who claimed this title on four occasions thanks to Phil Taylor and Adrian Lewis, are seeded number one as Michael Smith and Rob Cross partner up once again.

Netherlands have also lifted this trophy four times and will see world number one Michael van Gerwen partnered for the first time by former Lakeside finalist Danny Noppert.

World Grand Prix champion Gerwyn Price and fellow top 16 star Jonny Clayton link up for second seeds Wales, while Daryl Gurney and Brendan Dolan are seeded fourth for Northern Ireland.

William O’Connor and Steve Lennon look to replicate last year’s run to the final for the Republic of Ireland, while World Matchplay champion Dimitri Van den Bergh and Kim Huybrechts team up for former finalists Belgium.

Australia, the 2012 runners-up, are represented by Simon Whitlock and Autumn Series event winner Damon Heta, as José de Sousa features for debutants Portugal alongside José Marques.

The tournament runs from November 6-8 at the Salzburgarena in Salzburg, Austria.

All First Round matches are to be contested over the best of nine legs (pairs). Second Round, Quarter-Finals and Semi-Finals will be played as two best of seven legs singles matches.

In the event of both nations winning one singles match apiece, a best of seven-leg Doubles match will be played to decide the tie.

The final will be played as two best of seven leg singles matches, followed by a best of seven-leg doubles match and then reverse singles matches. The first team to win three games is declared the winner.


World Cup of Darts 2020 Tournament Schedule

Friday November 6

First Round

Afternoon Session (12pm-4pm)

Lithuania 5-3 Gibraltar
Portugal 5-0 Hungary
New Zealand 5-2 Denmark
Canada 5-2 Northern Ireland
Belgium 5-4 Czech Republic
Austria 5-2 USA
England 5-3 Philippines
Spain 5-4 Italy

Evening Session (6pm-10pm)

Greece 5-0 Sweden
Scotland 5-3 Japan
Poland 5-0 South Africa
Australia 5-2 Republic of Ireland
Wales 5-0 Russia
Germany 5-0 Finland
Netherlands 5-1 Brazil
Hong Kong 4-5 Latvia

Saturday November 7

Second Round

Afternoon Session (12pm-4pm)

Canada 2-0 New Zealand

Singles One: Jeff Smith 4-1 Haupai Puha
Singles Two: Matt Campbell 4-2 Cody Harris

Austria 2-0 Portugal

Singles One: Mensur Suljovic 4-2 Jose De Sousa
Singles Two: Rowby-John Rodriguez 4-1 Jose Marques

Belgium 2-0 Latvia

Singles One: Kim Huybrechts 4-0 Janis Mustafejevs
Singles Two: Dimitri Van den Bergh 4-3 Madars Razma

England 2-0 Lithuania

Singles One: Michael Smith 4-0 Darius Labanauskas
Singles Two: Rob Cross 4-2 Mindaugas Barauskas

Evening Session (6pm-10pm)

Australia 2-0 Poland

Singles One: Simon Whitlock 4-3 Krzysztof Ratajski
Singles Two: Damon Heta 4-1 Krzysztof Kciuk

Wales 2-1 Scotland

Singles One: Gerwyn Price 4-2 John Henderson
Singles Two: Jonny Clayton 2-4 Robert Thornton
Doubles (if required): Price/Clayton 4-0 Henderson/Thornton

Germany 2-0 Greece

Singles One: Gabriel Clemens 4-1 John Michael
Singles Two: Max Hopp 4-0 Veniamin Symeonidis

Netherlands 2-0 Spain

Singles One: Michael van Gerwen 4-0 Toni Alcinas
Singles Two: Danny Noppert 4-3 Jesus Noguera

Sunday November 8

Afternoon Session (12pm-4pm)


Canada 1-2 Belgium

Singles One: Jeff Smith 1-4 Kim Huybrechts
Singles Two: Matt Campbell 4-1 Dimitri Van den Bergh
Doubles: Smith/Campbell 2-4 Huybrechts/Van den Bergh

England 2-1 Austria

Singles One: Michael Smith 3-4 Mensur Suljovic
Singles Two: Rob Cross 4-3 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Doubles : Smith/Cross 4-3 Suljovic/Rodriguez

Wales 2-1 Australia

Singles One: Gerwyn Price 4-3 Simon Whitlock
Singles Two: Jonny Clayton 2-4 Damon Heta
Doubles: Price/Clayton 4-2 Whitlock/Heta

Netherlands 1-2 Germany

Singles One: Danny Noppert 3-4 Gabriel Clemens
Singles Two: Michael van Gerwen 4-1 Max Hopp
Doubles: Noppert/Van Gerwen 3-4 Clemens/Hopp

Evening Session (6pm-10pm)


England 2-0 Belgium
Singles One: Michael Smith 4-3 Kim Huybrechts
Singles Two: Rob Cross 4-3 Dimitri Van den Bergh

Wales 2-0 Germany
Singles One: Gerwyn Price 4-2 Gabriel Clemens
Singles Two: Jonny Clayton 4-2 Max Hopp


Wales 3-0 England
Singles One: Gerwyn Price 4-1 Michael Smith
Singles Two: Jonny Clayton 4-2 Rob Cross
Doubles: Wales 4-3 England

World Cup of Darts Competing Nations & Players

(1) England – Michael Smith & Rob Cross
(2) Wales – Gerwyn Price & Jonny Clayton
(3) Netherlands – Michael van Gerwen & Danny Noppert
(4) Northern Ireland – Daryl Gurney & Brendan Dolan
(5) Belgium – Dimitri Van den Bergh & Kim Huybrechts
(6) Germany – Max Hopp & Gabriel Clemens
(7) Republic of Ireland – William O’Connor & Steve Lennon
(8) Austria – Mensur Suljovic & Rowby-John Rodriguez
Australia – Simon Whitlock & Damon Heta
Brazil – Diogo Portela & Bruno Rangel
Canada – Jeff Smith & Matt Campbell
Latvia – Madars Razma and Janis Mustafejevs
Czech Republic – Karel Sedlacek & Adam Gawlas
Denmark – Niels Heinsøe & Per Laursen
Finland – Marko Kantele & Veijo Viinikka
Gibraltar – Craig Galliano & Justin Hewitt
Greece – John Michael & Veniamin Symeonidis
Hong Kong – Kai Fan Leung & Royden Lam
Hungary – Patrik Kovacs & Janos Vegsö
Italy – Andrea Micheletti & Daniele Petri
Japan – Seigo Asada & Yuki Yamada
Lithuania – Darius Labanauskas & Mindaugas Barauskas
New Zealand – Cody Harris & Haupai Puha
Philippines – Lourence Ilagan & Noel Malicdem
Poland – Krzysztof Ratajski & Krzysztof Kciuk
Portugal – Jose De Sousa & Jose Marques
Russia – Boris Koltsov & Aleksei Kadochnikov
Scotland – John Henderson & Robert Thornton
South Africa – Devon Petersen & Carl Gabriel
Spain – Toni Alcinas & Jesus Noguera
Sweden – Daniel Larsson & Dennis Nilsson
USA – Chuck Puleo & Danny Lauby
NB: Singapore replaced by Portugal. China replaced by Latvia. For Spain, Jesus Noguera replaced Cristo Reyes.

World Cup of Darts Prize Fund

Winners: £70,000
Runners-up: £40,000
Semi-Final losers: £24,000
Quarter-Final losers: £16,000
Second Round losers: £8,000
First Round losers: £4,000