Left arrow

Peter Wright rules himself out of World Cup of Darts

Right arrow

World Cup of Darts 2020 Draw, Live Scores and Tournament Schedule

Teams and players confirmed for 2020 World Cup of Darts

Jamie Shaw in World Cup of Darts 15 Oct 2020
William O’Connor and Steve Lennon reached the final in 2019 (Photo by PDC)

The 32 teams for the 2020 PDC World Cup of Darts have been confirmed ahead of the prestigious pairs event in November.

Two players from each nation will compete in the World Cup of Darts at the Salzburgarena in Austria from November 6-8.

The teams are initially based on the top-ranked players on the PDC Order of Merit from their respective nations, subject to withdrawals.

In-form Danny Noppert will make his debut for the Netherlands alongside three-time champion Michael van Gerwen.

Brisbane Masters winner Damon Heta will make his first appearance for Australia alongside former finalist Simon Whitlock, with Kyle Anderson unavailable for selection.

John Henderson has been confirmed as Robert Thornton’s partner for reigning champions Scotland following the news that both Gary Anderson and Peter Wright would not be competing due to travel concerns.

Gabriel Clemens will partner German compatriot Max Hopp for the first time, while England’s Michael Smith and Rob Cross will be the top seeds as they seek to secure a fifth title for their country in the tenth staging of the event.

World Grand Prix champion Gerwyn Price will be joined by Jonny Clayton in the Wales team which is seeded second, with the Netherlands side seeded third ahead of Northern Ireland’s Daryl Gurney and Brendan Dolan.

World Matchplay champion Dimitri Van den Bergh partners former World Cup finalist Kim Huybrechts for 2013 finalists Belgium.

Republic of Ireland, last year’s runners-up, as William O’Connor and Steve Lennon team up once again, while hosts Austria – represented by Mensur Suljovic and Rowby-John Rodriguez – complete the seeded nations.

Chuck Puleo will be partnered by 2019 CDC Continental Cup winner Danny Lauby in the American team, with the left-hander set to make his debut after Darin Young withdrew for health reasons.

Haupai Puha will make the long trip from New Zealand to partner Germany-based Cody Harris as they look to build on their run to the 2019 Quarter-Finals.

World Championship qualifier Matt Campbell will make his World Cup debut alongside Jeff Smith in the Canadian team, and big-stage newcomer Carl Gabriel will partner German Championship winner Devon Petersen for South Africa.


World Cup of Darts 2020 Competing Nations & Players

(1) England – Michael Smith & Rob Cross
(2) Wales – Gerwyn Price & Jonny Clayton
(3) Netherlands – Michael van Gerwen & Danny Noppert
(4) Northern Ireland – Daryl Gurney & Brendan Dolan
(5) Belgium – Dimitri Van den Bergh & Kim Huybrechts
(6) Germany – Max Hopp & Gabriel Clemens
(7) Republic of Ireland – William O’Connor & Steve Lennon
(8) Austria – Mensur Suljovic & Rowby-John Rodriguez
Australia – Simon Whitlock & Damon Heta
Brazil – Diogo Portela & Bruno Rangel
Canada – Jeff Smith & Matt Campbell
China – Xicheng Han & Di Zhuang
Czech Republic – Karel Sedlacek & Adam Gawlas
Denmark – Neils Heinsøe & Per Laursen
Finland – Marko Kantele & Kim Viljanen
Gibraltar – Craig Galliano & Justin Hewitt
Greece – John Michael & Veniamin Symeonidis
Hong Kong – Kai Fan Leung & Royden Lam
Hungary – Patrik Kovacs & Janos Vegsö
Italy – Andrea Micheletti & Daniele Petri
Japan – Seigo Asada & Yuki Yamada
Lithuania – Darius Labanauskas & Mindaugas Barauskas
New Zealand – Cody Harris & Haupai Puha
Philippines – Lourence Ilagan & Noel Malicdem
Poland – Krzysztof Ratajski & Krzysztof Kciuk
Russia – Boris Koltsov & Aleksei Kadochnikov
Scotland – John Henderson & Robert Thornton
Singapore – Paul Lim & Harith Lim
South Africa – Devon Petersen & Carl Gabriel
Spain – Cristo Reyes & Toni Alcinas
Sweden – Daniel Larsson & Dennis Nilsson
USA – Chuck Puleo & Danny Lauby