Left arrow

The race to the 2021 World Grand Prix | Latest qualification tables

Right arrow

BoyleSports World Grand Prix 2021 Draw, Live Scores and Schedule of Play

Boylesports World Grand Prix 2021 Draw | Price to begin title defence against Smith

Jamie Shaw in World Grand Prix 29 Sep 2021
Gerwyn Price is the defending champion (Photo by Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

The draw for the 2021 Boylesports World Grand Prix has been confirmed, with Gerwyn Price launching his title defence against Michael Smith.

World number one Price, who lifted the World Grand Prix title for the first time in 2020, has been handed the toughest possible draw on paper against Smith – the highest ranked unseeded player.

The draw for the double-start event, which will be played at the Morningside Arena in Leicester from October 3-9, also pits five-time champion Michael van Gerwen against fellow Dutchman Danny Noppert.

World number two Peter Wright will face Rob Cross in another stand-out tie, while 2020 runner-up Dirk van Duijvenbode will take on UK Open finalist Luke Humphries – one of six debutants in the field.

Two-time champion James Wade will open up against Australia’s Damon Heta, 2017 champion Daryl Gurney will meet Stephen Bunting and two-time runner-up Dave Chisnall comes up against Mensur Suljovic.

Premier League champion Jonny Clayton has drawn debutant Callan Rydz, while 2011 finalist Brendan Dolan – who hit the historic first double-start nine-darter – takes on Darius Labanauskas, the first Lithuanian to compete in the event.

Only the top eight players are seeded in the draw for the £450,000 event. The full schedule of play will be confirmed in due course.


BoyleSports World Grand Prix 2021 Draw

First Round

Gerwyn Price (1) v Michael Smith
Martijn Kleermaker v Mervyn King
Dave Chisnall (8) v Mensur Suljovic
Joe Cullen v Ross Smith
James Wade (4) v Damon Heta
Stephen Bunting v Daryl Gurney
Dimitri Van den Bergh (5) v Ryan Searle
Dirk van Duijvenbode v Luke Humphries
Peter Wright (2) v Rob Cross
Nathan Aspinall v Krzysztof Ratajski
Jose de Sousa (7) v Glen Durrant
Callan Rydz v Jonny Clayton
Michael van Gerwen (3) v Danny Noppert
Vincent van der Voort v Gabriel Clemens
Gary Anderson (6) v Ian White
Darius Labanauskas v Brendan Dolan

  • Bet £10 Get £40 in Free Bets when you join
  • Double your odds on any Premier League Darts market
  • Get 50% of your stake back as a Free Bet if your first bet loses
  • Multiple markets on all major darts tournaments