Left arrow

The race to the 2022 Players Championship Finals | Latest qualification table

Right arrow

Peter Wright withdraws from 2022 Players Championship Finals

Players Championship Finals 2022 Draw | Peter Wright to face Ross Smith

Jamie Shaw in Players Championship Finals 06 Nov 2022
Peter Wright is the defending champion (Photo by Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

The draw for the 2022 Players Championship Finals has been confirmed, with Peter Wright beginning the defence of his title against Ross Smith.

The top 64 players from the Players Championship Order of Merit following 30 events this year make up the field for the £600,000 event, which takes place at Butlin’s Minehead from November 25-27.

Reigning champion Wright is seeded number nine and will open up against newly crowned European Champion Ross Smith in one of the stand-out ties of the First Round.

Smith produced an incredible comeback to stun Wright in last month’s European Championship Quarter-Finals, and the pair will renew their rivalry on the main stage in Minehead.

Top seed Damon Heta will open his campaign against Germany’s Ricardo Pietreczko, with second seed Luke Humphries set to take on Northern Irish prospect Nathan Rafferty.

Six-time champion Michael van Gerwen could face emerging star Josh Rock in round two, should the pair overcome opening tests against Ryan Meikle and Cameron Menzies respectively.

World number one Gerwyn Price faces Ryan Joyce in another intriguing tussle, with Saturday’s Players Championship 30 winner James Wade pitted against Austrian veteran Mensur Suljovic.

Elsewhere, 2014 champion Gary Anderson will face Germany’s number one Gabriel Clemens, with 2018 winner Daryl Gurney set to meet Keegan Brown.

Ryan Searle and Mervyn King – finalists in 2021 and 2020 respectively – collide in another tasty tussle, while UK Open champion Danny Noppert takes on Australia’s World Cup winner Simon Whitlock.

Nathan Aspinall and Dirk van Duijvenbode have scooped two Players Championship titles apiece in 2022, and they will kick off their title bids against Martijn Kleermaker and Mickey Mansell.

Two-time runner-up Adrian Lewis will meet UK Open semi-finalist Keane Barry, while 2012 finalist Kim Huybrechts will lock horns with five-time World Champion Raymond van Barneveld.

Rob Cross and Dave Chisnall – seeded fifth and seventh respectively – are up against Dutch duo Kevin Doets and Niels Zonneveld, with 2017 runner-up Jonny Clayton set to play debutant John O’Shea.

Sixth seed Michael Smith continues his bid for televised ranking glory against Ritchie Edhouse, with the winner set to play Dimitri Van den Bergh or Martin Lukeman in round two.

The schedule of play will be confirmed in due course.

Players Championship Finals 2022 Draw

Damon Heta (1) v Ricardo Pietreczko (64)
Callan Rydz (32) v Madars Razma (33)
Andrew Gilding (16) v Ricky Evans (49)
Adrian Lewis (17) v Keane Barry (48)
Gerwyn Price (8) v Ryan Joyce (57)
Brendan Dolan (25) v Jermaine Wattimena (40)
Peter Wright (9) v Ross Smith (56)
Jonny Clayton (24) v John O’Shea (41)
Dirk van Duijvenbode (4) v Mickey Mansell (61)
Daryl Gurney (29) v Keegan Brown (36)
Ryan Searle (13) v Mervyn King (52)
Stephen Bunting (20) v Jamie Hughes (45)
Rob Cross (5) v Kevin Doets (60)
Gabriel Clemens (28) v Gary Anderson (37)
Martin Schindler (12) v Vincent van der Voort (53)
Chris Dobey (21) v Geert Nentjes (44)
Luke Humphries (2) v Nathan Rafferty (63)
Jim Williams (31) v Mike De Decker (34)
Krzysztof Ratajski (15) v William O’Connor (50)
Jose de Sousa (18) v Danny Jansen (47)
Dave Chisnall (7) v Niels Zonneveld (58)
Scott Williams (26) v Alan Soutar (39)
Joe Cullen (10) v Rowby-John Rodriguez (55)
Kim Huybrechts (23) v Raymond van Barneveld (42)
Nathan Aspinall (3) v Martijn Kleermaker (62)
Matt Campbell (30) v Steve Beaton (35)
Danny Noppert (14) v Simon Whitlock (51)
James Wade (19) v Mensur Suljovic (46)
Michael Smith (6) v Ritchie Edhouse (59)
Dimitri Van den Bergh (27) v Martin Lukeman (38)
Josh Rock (11) v Cameron Menzies (54)
Michael van Gerwen (22) v Ryan Meikle (43)

LATEST DARTS FREE BET OFFERS (18+ | T&Cs apply | Be Gamble Aware)