Left arrow

Players Championship Finals 2022 Draw | Peter Wright to face Ross Smith

Right arrow

Players Championship Finals 2022 live stream | How to watch live online

Peter Wright withdraws from 2022 Players Championship Finals

Jamie Shaw in Players Championship Finals 16 Nov 2022
Wright departs the stage (Photo by Taylor Lanning/PDC)

Reigning champion Peter Wright has withdrawn from the 2022 Players Championship Finals for family reasons.

Wright claimed Players Championship Finals glory for the first time a year ago, edging out Ryan Searle 11-10 in a dramatic final at Butlins Minehead.

The reigning World Champion had been set to begin his title defence against European Champion Ross Smith in a blockbuster First Round tie on Friday November 25.

However, Wright has withdrawn from the event as his wife Joanne continues to receive treatment following a recent gallbladder operation.

Wright is replaced directly in the draw by the next-ranked player from the 2022 Players Championship Order of Merit, meaning that Dutch prospect Gian Van Veen will now make his debut.

Wright suffered an agonising exit at the Grand Slam of Darts in Wolverhampton on Tuesday, missing out on a place in the knock-out phase by just one leg after a 5-2 defeat to Nathan Aspinall in his final group fixture.

His withdrawal means Gerwyn Price will now head to Alexandra Palace as the number one seed for the World Championship.

Meanwhile, the schedule of play has been confirmed for the opening day in Minehead, where play will be split across two stages in one bumper session of darts from 10.30am-6.30pm UK time.

Players Championship Finals Schedule of Play

Friday November 25

10.30am-6.30pm GMT

First Round

Main Stage
Rob Cross v Kevin Doets
Joe Cullen v Rowby-John Rodriguez
Damon Heta v Ricardo Pietreczko
James Wade v Mensur Suljovic
Josh Rock v Cameron Menzies
Gian van Veen v Ross Smith
Nathan Aspinall v Martijn Kleermaker
Dimitri Van den Bergh v Martin Lukeman
Danny Noppert v Simon Whitlock
Michael Smith v Ritchie Edhouse
Gerwyn Price v Ryan Joyce
Kim Huybrechts v Raymond van Barneveld
Michael van Gerwen v Ryan Meikle
Luke Humphries v Nathan Rafferty

Stage Two
Andrew Gilding v Ricky Evans
Callan Rydz v Madars Razma
Daryl Gurney v Keegan Brown
Scott Williams v Alan Soutar
Brendan Dolan v Jermaine Wattimena
Jim Williams v Mike De Decker
Krzysztof Ratajski v William O’Connor
Adrian Lewis v Keane Barry
Jose de Sousa v Danny Jansen
Dirk van Duijvenbode v Mickey Mansell
Ryan Searle v Mervyn King
Stephen Bunting v Jamie Hughes
Chris Dobey v Geert Nentjes
Martin Schindler v Vincent van der Voort
Jonny Clayton v John O’Shea
Matt Campbell v Steve Beaton
Gabriel Clemens v Gary Anderson
Dave Chisnall v Niels Zonneveld

LATEST DARTS FREE BET OFFERS (18+ | T&Cs apply | Be Gamble Aware)