Left arrow

World Darts Championship 2021/21 dates and sessions confirmed

Right arrow

Fans given the green light for Ally Pally return as World Darts Championship ticket details confirmed

Field of players confirmed for 2020/21 World Darts Championship

Jamie Shaw in World Darts Championship 02 Dec 2020
The Sid Waddell Trophy on the Ally Pally stage (Photo by Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

The 96-player field for the 2020/21 PDC World Darts Championship has been confirmed following the final qualifying events on Monday.

The 28th staging of the PDC World Championship will feature the top 32 players from the PDC Order of Merit, the next highest 32 ranked players from the ProTour Order of Merit, plus a further 32 International Qualifiers.

The sport’s show-piece event will be staged at London’s Alexandra Palace from December 15, 2020, to January 3, 2021, and could feature a crowd of up to 1,000 fans per session pending clearance from the local authorities.

The £2.5 million event, which was won for the first time by Peter Wright in 2020, features 96 players from 29 different countries battling it out for the sport’s richest and most prestigious prize.

Michael van Gerwen will be seeded number one as he bids for a fourth world title, having lost 7-3 to Wright in last year’s final.

Defending champion Wright is looking to become only the fourth player to successfully retain the title, while third seed Gerwyn Price is out to surpass his landmark run to last year’s Semi-Finals.

Other former winners returning to the palace as seeds include Rob Cross, Gary Anderson and Adrian Lewis, while former runners-up include Michael Smith, Simon Whitlock and the returning Andy Hamilton.

The likes of Gabriel Clemens, Devon Petersen and Jose de Sousa are seeded for the first time and will enter the fray at the Second Round stage.

Notable debutants from the ProTour Order of Merit, who will enter at the First Round stage, include two-time BDO World Champion Scott Waites and Dutch stars Maik Kuivenhoven and Martijn Kleermaker.

Qualifiers include Lisa Ashton and Deta Hedman, who finished in the top two of the Women’s Series Order of Merit, and rising stars Keane Barry and Ryan Meikle – who qualified via the Development Tour.

David Evans will make his PDC World Championship debut by virtue of his exploits on the Challenge Tour, while Bradley Brooks secured his debut on Sunday by winning the World Youth Championship final.

Germany’s Nico Kurz will be out to follow up his debut run to the Last 32 last year, while Croatia’s Boris Krcmar, Canada’s Matt Campbell and New Zealand’s Haupai Puha have all caught the eye in recent televised events.

Paul Lim, who made his World Championship debut back in 1982, makes his return as the oldest player in the field at 66.

Jamie Lewis, who reached the Semi-Finals in 2017/18, was one of four players to come through Monday’s PDPA UK Qualifier, alongside Matthew Edgar, Ciaran Teehan and Welsh debutant Nick Kenny.

Czech star Karel Sedlacek and Dutch debutant Niels Zonneveld claimed the two qualification places from the PDPA Rest of the World Qualifier.

The draw is due to take place at 9.30am GMT on Thursday December 3, live on Sky Sports News in the UK.


PDC World Darts Championship 2020/21 Field of Players

PDC Order of Merit Top 32 (Seeded into the Second Round)

1. Michael van Gerwen
2. Peter Wright
3. Gerwyn Price
4. Michael Smith
5. Rob Cross
6. Nathan Aspinall
7. James Wade
8. Dave Chisnall
9. Dimitri van den Bergh
10. Ian White
11. Daryl Gurney
12. Glen Durrant
13. Gary Anderson
14. Jose de Sousa
15. Krzysztof Ratajski
16. Joe Cullen
17. Jonny Clayton
18. Simon Whitlock
19. Mervyn King
20. Mensur Suljovic
21. Adrian Lewis
22. Chris Dobey
23. Jeffrey de Zwaan
24. Jermaine Wattimena
25. Danny Noppert
26. Stephen Bunting
27. Vincent van der Voort
28. Jamie Hughes
29. Devon Petersen
30. Brendan Dolan
31. Gabriel Clemens
32. Ricky Evans

ProTour Order of Merit Qualifiers (Enter in Round One)

Damon Heta
Ryan Searle
Dirk van Duijvenbode
Ross Smith
Madars Razma
Ryan Joyce
Martijn Kleermaker
Kim Huybrechts
Jeff Smith
William O’Connor
Steve Lennon
Jason Lowe
Maik Kuivenhoven
Derk Telnekes
Darius Labanauskas
Mickey Mansell
Adam Hunt
Max Hopp
Scott Waites
Andy Boulton
Ryan Murray
Keegan Brown
Steve Beaton
Luke Woodhouse
Luke Humphries
Callan Rydz
Mike De Decker
Ron Meulenkamp
Steve West
Wayne Jones
Andy Hamilton
John Henderson

International Qualifiers (Enter in Round One)

Lisa Ashton
Danny Baggish
James Bailey
Keane Barry
Bradley Brooks
Matt Campbell
Cameron Carolissen
David Evans
Edward Shouji Foulkes
Amit Gilitwala
Dmitriy Gorbunov
Deta Hedman
Lourence Ilagan
Marko Kantele
Boris Krcmar
Nico Kurz
Daniel Larsson
Danny Lauby
Paul Lim
Chengan Liu
Gordon Mathers
Ryan Meikle
Diogo Portela
Haupai Puha
Toru Suzuki
Di Zhuang
Ciaran Teehan
Matthew Edgar
Jamie Lewis
Nick Kenny
Niels Zonneveld
Karel Sedlacek

World Championship PDPA UK Qualifier Results

Last 32
Conan Whitehead 6-1 Darren Webster
Joe Murnan 6-4 William Borland
Mark McGeeney 6-5 Richard North
Harry Ward 6-4 Darren Penhall
Robert Thornton 6-3 Kirk Shepherd
Jamie Lewis 6-2 David Pallett
Alan Tabern 6-2 Carl Wilkinson
Josh Payne 6-0 Matt Clark
Simon Stevenson 6-3 Gavin Carlin
Matthew Edgar 6-4 Gary Blades
Martin Atkins 6-1 Aaron Beeney
James Wilson 6-5 Peter Jacques
Jonathan Worsley 6-4 Reece Robinson
Ted Evetts 6-2 Adrian Gray
Nick Kenny 6-5 Steve Brown
Ciaran Teehan 6-1 Michael Barnard

Last 16
Joe Murnan 6-3 Conan Whitehead
Ciaran Teehan 6-2 Mark McGeeney
Robert Thornton 6-2 Harry Ward
Jamie Lewis 6-2 Alan Tabern
Josh Payne 6-3 Simon Stevenson
Matthew Edgar 6-5 Martin Atkins
James Wilson 6-5 Jonathan Worsley
Nick Kenny 6-3 Ted Evetts

Last Eight
Ciaran Teehan 7-6 Joe Murnan
Jamie Lewis 7-5 Robert Thornton
Matthew Edgar 7-2 Josh Payne
Nick Kenny 7-6 James Wilson

World Championship PDPA Rest of the World Qualifier Results

Last 16
Niels Zonneveld 6-3 Krzysztof Kciuk
Martin Schindler 6-4 Jesus Noguera
Kai Fan Leung 6-2 Christian Bunse
Karel Sedlacek 6-0 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Geert Nentjes 6-0 Harald Leitinger

Last Eight
Niels Zonneveld 6-4 Jelle Klaasen
Martin Schindler 6-4 Kai Fan Leung
Karel Sedlacek 6-2 Benito van de Pas
Jan Dekker 6-1 Geert Nentjes

Last Four
Niels Zonneveld 7-4 Martin Schindler
Karel Sedlacek 7-2 Jan Dekker