Left arrow

Field of players confirmed for 2020/21 World Darts Championship

Right arrow

World Darts Championship 2020/21 Draw: Wright to face West or Gilitwala in Ally Pally opener

Fans given the green light for Ally Pally return as World Darts Championship ticket details confirmed

Jamie Shaw in World Darts Championship 02 Dec 2020
A general view of the Ally Pally arena in 2019 (Photo by Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

Up to 1,000 fans will be in attendance at each session of the 2020/21 World Darts Championship at London’s Alexandra Palace after the PDC received clearance from the UK government and local authorities.

Fans will return to a televised UK darts event for the first time since March for the sport’s annual show-piece in a COVID-secure environment under specific conditions.

Fans from the UK in Tier 1 or Tier 2 areas will be able to book a table of four seats, with a table required to consist of one household or support bubble.

Social distancing measures will be in operation throughout the venue, spectators will be required to arrive at specified times and gain admission through one of two entrances.

Food and drink will be served directly to tables and booked via a dedicated app.

Tickets will go on Priority Sale from 12pm GMT on Thursday December 3 for PDCTV Annual Subscribers before General Sale begins from 12pm GMT on Friday December 4 through SeeTickets.

Notable safety procedures in place include:

  • Tables are limited to one household or support bubble (maximum of four people) per table, all of whom must arrive at the same time to gain entry
  • All tables and chairs are positioned to comply with social distancing guidelines and spectators will not be able to mix between tables
  • Face coverings must be worn at all times by spectators and staff when travelling around the venue, with the exception of when you are seated at your table, eating or drinking.
  • The arena will be divided in to two separate zones, each with its own entrance/exit and toilet facilities to minimise contact between spectators
  • All food and drink will be ordered via a smartphone app and delivered to tables – there will be no bars or catering concessions for spectators to visit
  • Spectators will be sent a recommended arrival time, and event security staff will manage the exit from the arena in a controlled manner
  • One-way systems will be in place to manage the flow of people around the venue
  • Clear social distancing markers will be displayed to remind people to maintain distance between other individuals and households, especially when queuing
  • Hand sanitisation stations will be located across the venue
  • Daily deep cleaning will be conducted across the venue along with enhanced cleaning of public areas in between sessions
  • There will be no Fans Village and all spectators must head straight for their table on arrival
  • The only reason to leave your table during the event will be to visit the toilet, or for spectators sat on the Palm Court side of the venue only, to visit the smoking area
  • Spectators are encouraged to avoid public transport where possible when travelling to the event, with parking available on site
  • All spectators must follow COVID-19 guidelines and not travel to the event if they or any member of their household has symptoms of COVID-19 or has tested positive in the last 21 days
  • All spectators must provide their name and the lead booker must provide contact details for NHS Test & Trace
  • All staff will undergo a daily health screening before being permitted access on site
  • Fully-trained COVID-19 Welfare Officers will be on site throughout the duration of the event

The 28th staging of the PDC World Darts Championship will feature the top 32 players from the PDC Order of Merit, the next highest 32 ranked players from the ProTour Order of Merit, plus a further 32 International Qualifiers.

The £2.5 million event, which was won for the first time by Peter Wright in 2020, features 96 players from 29 different countries battling it out for the sport’s richest and most prestigious prize.

The draw for is due to take place at 9.30am GMT on Thursday December 3, live on Sky Sports News in the UK.