Left arrow

PDC Super Series 6 Day Three: Players Championship 23 Draw and Live Scores

Right arrow

PDC Super Series 7 Day One | Players Championship 24 Draw and Live Scores

Wright continues winning spree at Players Championship 23

Jamie Shaw in PDC Super Series 04 Aug 2021
Peter Wright adds to his title tally (Photo by Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

Peter Wright picked up his third title in the space of a month as he edged out Jonny Clayton in a deciding leg to triumph at Players Championship 23 in Barnsley.

Wright, who claimed World Matchplay glory in Blackpool ten days ago, secured his fifth PDC ranking title of the year in the final event of Super Series 6.

The world number two held off a resilient Clayton fightback in the final to seal the £10,000 top prize at the Barnsley Metrodome.

“I told everyone on our table I was going to win today,” said Wright. “If I’d have hit my doubles [in the final] it would have been a lot more comfortable.

“That 167 he [Clayton] hit – that hurt. It was the Premier League champion against the Matchplay champion, that’s what I was thinking.

“The new darts got me over the line today. I won on the last day again!”

Wright began his charge to glory with a 6-3 victory over Jack Main before overcoming Joe Murnan 6-4 with the first of four consecutive ton-plus averages.

The Scot averaged 104 in dispatching Karel Sedlacek 6-3 and saw off Stephen Bunting by the same scoreline with an average of 104.3.

Wright then ended the impressive run of Martin Schindler in the Quarter-Finals with a 100.5 average in a 6-3 success, before denying Jamie Hughes 7-5 in the Semi-Finals.

Clayton clinched the opening leg of the final before Wright reeled off three in a row to move ahead.

Clayton responded with a terrific 140 checkout in leg five, but a 78 finish from ‘Snakebite’ saw him regain a two-leg cushion at 4-2.

Premier League champion Clayton held throw in leg seven before breaking thanks to a second 140 checkout, but five costly missed darts at doubles in the following leg allowed Wright regain the upper-hand at 5-4.

Wright took control of the match by securing successive legs to go within one of victory, but an incredible 167 checkout handed Clayton a lifeline.

A second missed match dart from Wright allowed Clayton to apply further pressure at 7-6 adrift, and the drama continued as the 2020 World Champion squandered a further three darts at doubles, handing the Welshman another reprieve on double 11 to force a decider.

Wright, however, dusted himself down and broke back in the all-important last leg to clinch victory.

Clayton’s clinical run to the final saw him drop just seven legs, including a 6-1 rout of Glen Durrant, a 6-2 win over Tuesday’s winner Ryan Searle and a 7-2 rout of James Wade in the Semi-Finals.

Hughes reached his second ProTour Semi-Final of the season, while Gerwyn Price was beaten by Searle in the Last 16.

Krzysztof Ratajski, Joe Cullen, Nathan Aspinall and Dimitri van den Bergh were among the surprise First Round casualties.


Players Championship 23 Results

Wednesday August 4

First Round
Jose De Sousa (Bye)
Jim McEwan 6-0 Mickey Mansell
Jamie Hughes 6-5 Steve Beaton
Josh Payne 6-5 Matt Jackson
Maik Kuivenhoven 6-3 Nathan Aspinall
William O’Connor 6-2 Andrew Gilding
Andy Boulton 6-5 Dimitri Van den Bergh
Ted Evetts 6-3 Mike Warburton
Brendan Dolan 6-3 Darren Webster
Danny Baggish 6-5 Jesus Noguera
Daryl Gurney 6-2 Peter Jacques
Gordon Mathers 6-5 Florian Hempel
Matthew Edgar 6-4 Devon Petersen
Zoran Lerchbacher 6-3 John Brown
Dave Chisnall 6-1 Adam Gawlas
Jeffrey De Zwaan 6-5 Luc Peters
Peter Wright 6-3 Jack Main
Joe Murnan 6-2 Aaron Beeney
Jermaine Wattimena 6-0 Peter Hudson
Karel Sedlacek 6-3 Gary Blades
Raymond van Barneveld 6-5 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Kevin McDine 6-2 Jason Heaver
Stephen Bunting 6-4 Kim Huybrechts
Rowby-John Rodriguez 6-2 Nick Kenny
Michael Smith 6-4 Lisa Ashton
Martin Schindler 6-2 Kai Fan Leung
Martijn Kleermaker 6-3 Jake Jones
Kevin Doets 6-5 Chas Barstow
Martin Lukeman 6-2 Krzysztof Ratajski
Michael Rasztovits 6-5 Ron Meulenkamp
Mervyn King 6-1 Martin Atkins
Alan Soutar 6-2 Carl Wilkinson
Scott Mitchell 6-2 Joe Cullen
Harald Leitinger 6-3 Steve West
Ryan Joyce 6-3 Alan Tabern
Geert Nentjes 6-5 Ritchie Edhouse
Ross Smith 6-3 Lewis Williams
Jelle Klaasen 6-5 Kirk Shepherd
Luke Humphries 6-4 James Wilson
Adrian Lewis 6-4 Daniel Larsson
Andy Hamilton 6-1 Damon Heta
Adam Hunt 6-3 David Evans
John Michael 6-1 Callan Rydz
Boris Koltsov 6-4 Ricky Evans
James Wade 6-2 Sean Fisher
Ryan Murray 6-4 Mark McGeeney
Gabriel Clemens 6-0 Eddie Lovely
Rusty-Jake Rodriguez 6-2 Wayne Jones
Gerwyn Price 6-5 Mike De Decker
Niels Zonneveld 6-4 Krzysztof Kciuk
Darius Labanauskas 6-2 Max Hopp
Ciaran Teehan 6-3 Ryan Meikle
Ryan Searle 6-3 John Henderson
Boris Krcmar 6-1 Bradley Brooks
Rob Cross 6-5 Steve Brown
Luke Woodhouse 6-2 Keegan Brown
Jonny Clayton 6-1 Glen Durrant
José Justicia 6-5 Lukas Wenig
Chris Dobey 6-4 Simon Whitlock
Scott Waites 6-2 Shane McGuirk
Danny Noppert 6-3 Berry van Peer
Steve Lennon 6-2 Jon Worsley
Martin Thomas 6-4 Vincent van der Voort
William Borland 6-3 Keane Barry

Second Round
Jim McEwan 6-5 José de Sousa
Jamie Hughes 6-4 Josh Payne
Maik Kuivenhoven 6-2 William O’Connor
Andy Boulton 6-5 Ted Evetts
Brendan Dolan 6-3 Danny Baggish
Daryl Gurney 6-3 Gordon Mathers
Matthew Edgar 6-5 Zoran Lerchbacher
Dave Chisnall 6-3 Jeffrey De Zwaan
Peter Wright 6-4 Joe Murnan
Karel Sedlacek 6-3 Jermaine Wattimena
Raymond van Barneveld 6-1 Kevin McDine
Stephen Bunting 6-5 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Martin Schindler 6-5 Michael Smith
Martijn Kleermaker 6-4 Kevin Doets
Martin Lukeman 6-4 Michael Rasztovits
Alan Soutar 6-5 Mervyn King
Scott Mitchell 6-1 Harald Leitinger
Ryan Joyce 6-3 Geert Nentjes
Jelle Klaasen 6-2 Ross Smith
Luke Humphries 6-3 Adrian Lewis
Andy Hamilton 6-4 Adam Hunt
Boris Koltsov 6-5 John Michael
James Wade 6-2 Ryan Murray
Gabriel Clemens 6-4 Rusty-Jake Rodriguez
Gerwyn Price 6-4 Niels Zonneveld
Darius Labanauskas 6-3 Ciaran Teehan
Ryan Searle 6-1 Boris Krcmar
Luke Woodhouse 6-4 Rob Cross
Jonny Clayton 6-0 José Justicia
Chris Dobey 6-1 Scott Waites
Danny Noppert 6-2 Steve Lennon
William Borland 6-5 Martin Thomas
Losers: £500

Last 32
Jamie Hughes 6-3 Jim McEwan
Maik Kuivenhoven 6-4 Andy Boulton
Daryl Gurney 6-4 Brendan Dolan
Dave Chisnall 6-3 Matthew Edgar
Peter Wright 6-3 Karel Sedlacek
Stephen Bunting 6-3 Raymond van Barneveld
Martin Schindler 6-4 Martijn Kleermaker
Martin Lukeman 6-4 Alan Soutar
Ryan Joyce 6-1 Scott Mitchell
Luke Humphries 6-0 Jelle Klaasen
Andy Hamilton 6-3 Boris Koltsov
James Wade 6-3 Gabriel Clemens
Gerwyn Price 6-4 Darius Labanauskas
Ryan Searle 6-3 Luke Woodhouse
Jonny Clayton 6-1 Chris Dobey
William Borland 6-3 Danny Noppert
Losers: £1,000

Last 16
Jamie Hughes 6-4 Maik Kuivenhoven
Daryl Gurney 6-4 Dave Chisnall
Peter Wright 6-3 Stephen Bunting
Martin Schindler 6-5 Martin Lukeman
Luke Humphries 6-2 Ryan Joyce
James Wade 6-3 Andy Hamilton
Ryan Searle 6-4 Gerwyn Price
Jonny Clayton 6-1 William Borland
Losers: £1,500

Jamie Hughes 6-5 Daryl Gurney
Peter Wright 6-3 Martin Schindler
James Wade 6-3 Luke Humphries
Jonny Clayton 6-2 Ryan Searle
Losers: £2,250

Peter Wright 7-5 Jamie Hughes
Jonny Clayton 7-2 James Wade
Losers: £3,000

Peter Wright 8-7 Jonny Clayton
Winner: £10,000
Runner-up: £6,000