Left arrow

PDC Super Series 5 Day Four | Players Championship 20 Draw and Live Scores

Right arrow

Entries confirmed for PDC Super Series 6 in Barnsley

Wright denies Van Gerwen to claim Players Championship 20 title

Jamie Shaw in PDC Super Series 08 Jul 2021
Peter Wright celebrates (Photo by Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

Peter Wright extended Michael van Gerwen’s wait for a first title of 2021 with an 8-2 rout to claim glory at Players Championship 20.

Wright had ended the year’s second and fourth blocks of PDC Super Series action with titles in recent months and repeated the feat in Coventry as he landed another £10,000 top prize.

The world number two registered four ton-plus averages in his seven wins on the day but reserved his best performance for the final in a high-quality contest with rival Van Gerwen.

Finishes of 84, 74 and 64 helped Wright into a 3-0 lead, with Van Gerwen needing a 130 finish for a 12-darter to hit back in leg four.

Wright punished a miss at the bull from the Dutchman to restore his cushion with a 12-darter in leg five, with Van Gerwen opening the next with seven perfect darts only to see his rival finish 324 in six darts with a 180 and a 144 checkout.

Double 16 saw Van Gerwen claim a second leg, but Wright took out 87 for a 12-darter, double 11 to capitalise on two further misses from the three-time World Champion and a 71 finish to complete a brilliant display – ending with an average of almost 109.

Wright also defeated Boris Krcmar, Steve Brown, Martijn Kleermaker, Daryl Gurney, Danny Noppert and James Wade during the day, and heads into the Betfred World Matchplay full of confidence.

“Beating Michael means a lot and to beat the players I did on the way through is great,” said Wright.

“I had some loose darts and missed so many doubles as well against people, but it’s nice to win.”

Wright continued his tinker-man style by using a new gold-coated set of darts on his way to victory, and he is now targeting World Matchplay glory with the set-up.

“I only got the gold darts on Wednesday morning. I like these darts, they’re new and I love them – the way they look in the board as well.

“I feel like I want to play proper darts, I didn’t want to show too much before Blackpool. I can win it.”

Van Gerwen won through to his second Players Championship final of 2021 and averaged 113 in a victory over John Henderson as well as ton-plus averages in deciding-leg wins over Chris Dobey and Michael Smith.

He also defeated Adam Gawlas, Dave Chisnall and Jose de Sousa and averaged 106 in the final, but remains without a tournament win since last November’s Players Championship Finals.

While the previous three days had seen victories for players from outside the world’s top 16 – Stephen Bunting, Chris Dobey and Ross Smith – the sport’s top names stamped their authority on Thursday.

Reigning UK Open champion Wade and Grand Slam champion De Sousa reached the Semi-Finals, with World Champion Gerwyn Price among the quarter-finalists.

Dimitri Van den Bergh won through to the Last 16 before losing to De Sousa in another high-quality battle in the final ranking event before beginning his World Matchplay title defence in Blackpool.

Kim Huybrechts and Gabriel Clemens both land nine-darters, taking the total of perfect legs landed during PDC Super Series 5 to five across the four days.

Players Championship 20 was also the final tournament before the cut-off for Betfred World Matchplay qualification, with the 32-player field confirmed ahead of the tournament’s return to the iconic Winter Gardens.


Players Championship 20 Results

Thursday July 8

First Round
Geert De Vos 6-3 Ricky Evans
Jamie Hughes 6-4 Jesus Noguera
Niels Zonneveld 6-4 Martin Thomas
Rob Cross 6-5 Justin Pipe
Raymond van Barneveld 6-4 Jason Heaver
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-1 Gordon Mathers
Scott Mitchell 6-5 Zoran Lerchbacher
Devon Petersen 6-4 Jake Jones
Chas Barstow 6-5 Jack Main
Ryan Joyce 6-5 Ryan Murray
Nick Kenny 6-4 Michael Rasztovits
Brendan Dolan 6-3 William Borland
David Evans 6-1 Peter Hudson
Vincent van der Voort 6-4 Steve Lennon
James Wilson 6-4 Steve West
Michael Smith 6-4 Danny Baggish
Alan Soutar 6-3 Josh Payne
Jermaine Wattimena 6-4 Wayne Jones
Darren Webster 6-3 Derk Telnekes
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-2 Adam Hunt
Matthew Edgar 6-4 Mark McGeeney
Ian White 6-3 Lewis Williams
Max Hopp 6-2 Bradley Brooks
Michael van Gerwen 6-5 Adam Gawlas
John Henderson 6-2 Andy Boulton
Chris Dobey 6-0 Andy Hamilton
Rowby-John Rodriguez 6-1 Glen Durrant
Kim Huybrechts 6-2 Dirk van Duijvenbode – *Huybrechts hits a nine-darter*
Mickey Mansell 6-4 Jeff Smith
Dave Chisnall 6-3 Andrew Gilding
Ciaran Teehan 6-3 Sean Fisher
Gerwyn Price 6-1 Keane Barry
Krzysztof Kciuk 6-4 Matt Jackson
John Brown 6-5 Madars Razma
Florian Hempel 6-3 Jim McEwan
John Michael 6-5 Ross Smith
Scott Waites 6-2 Ron Meulenkamp
Martin Schindler 6-2 Stephen Bunting
Ritchie Edhouse 6-2 Aaron Beeney
James Wade 6-3 Peter Jacques
Jon Worsley 6-2 Martin Atkins
Jason Lowe 6-0 Callan Rydz
Darius Labanauskas 6-3 Jeffrey De Zwaan
Keegan Brown 6-1 Damon Heta
Eddie Lovely 6-3 Geert Nentjes
Gabriel Clemens 6-3 Jelle Klaasen – *Clemens hits a nine-darter*
Luke Woodhouse 6-5 Joe Murnan
Peter Wright 6-3 Boris Krcmar
Steve Brown 6-4 Lisa Ashton
Martijn Kleermaker 6-0 Adam Mould
Luc Peters 6-2 Steve Beaton
Nathan Aspinall 6-5 Simon Whitlock
Karel Sedlacek 6-4 William O’Connor
Daryl Gurney 6-3 Alan Tabern
Gary Blades 6-3 Mike De Decker
Jonny Clayton 6-2 Martin Lukeman
Adrian Lewis 6-0 Harald Leitinger
Ryan Searle 6-1 Ted Evetts
Boris Koltsov 6-4 Brett Claydon
Danny Noppert 6-3 José Justicia
Kevin Doets 6-0 Berry van Peer
Maik Kuivenhoven 6-5 Luke Humphries
Robert Thornton 6-4 Rusty-Jake Rodriguez

Second Round
José de Sousa 6-2 Geert De Vos
Niels Zonneveld 6-2 Jamie Hughes
Raymond van Barneveld 6-2 Rob Cross
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-4 Scott Mitchell
Chas Barstow 6-5 Devon Petersen
Ryan Joyce 6-1 Nick Kenny
Brendan Dolan 6-5 David Evans
James Wilson 6-2 Vincent van der Voort
Michael Smith 6-4 Alan Soutar
Jermaine Wattimena 6-5 Darren Webster
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-4 Matthew Edgar
Max Hopp 6-4 Ian White
Michael van Gerwen 6-1 John Henderson
Chris Dobey 6-4 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Mickey Mansell 6-2 Kim Huybrechts
Dave Chisnall 6-1 Ciaran Teehan
Gerwyn Price 6-2 Krzysztof Kciuk
Florian Hempel 6-1 John Brown
Scott Waites 6-0 John Michael
Martin Schindler 6-4 Ritchie Edhouse
James Wade 6-5 Jon Worsley
Jason Lowe 6-2 Darius Labanauskas
Eddie Lovely 6-3 Keegan Brown
Luke Woodhouse 6-2 Gabriel Clemens
Peter Wright 6-4 Steve Brown
Martijn Kleermaker 6-1 Luc Peters
Nathan Aspinall 6-5 Karel Sedlacek
Daryl Gurney 6-4 Gary Blades
Adrian Lewis 6-2 Jonny Clayton
Ryan Searle 6-2 Boris Koltsov
Danny Noppert 6-2 Kevin Doets
Robert Thornton 6-4 Maik Kuivenhoven
Losers: £500

Last 32
José de Sousa 6-3 Niels Zonneveld
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-1 Raymond van Barneveld
Chas Barstow 6-1 Ryan Joyce
Brendan Dolan 6-1 James Wilson
Michael Smith 6-3 Jermaine Wattimena
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-3 Max Hopp
Michael van Gerwen 6-5 Chris Dobey
Dave Chisnall 6-4 Mickey Mansell
Gerwyn Price 6-3 Florian Hempel
Martin Schindler 6-4 Scott Waites
James Wade 6-5 Jason Lowe
Eddie Lovely 6-5 Luke Woodhouse
Peter Wright 6-5 Martijn Kleermaker
Daryl Gurney 6-4 Nathan Aspinall
Ryan Searle 6-3 Adrian Lewis
Danny Noppert 6-4 Robert Thornton
Losers: £1,000

Last 16
Jose de Sousa 6-2 Dimitri Van den Bergh
Chas Barstow 6-4 Brendan Dolan
Michael Smith 6-4 Krzysztof Ratajski
Michael van Gerwen 6-3 Dave Chisnall
Gerwyn Price 6-2 Martin Schindler
James Wade 6-1 Eddie Lovely
Peter Wright 6-4 Daryl Gurney
Danny Noppert 6-4 Ryan Searle
Losers: £1,500

Jose de Sousa 6-3 Chas Barstow
Michael van Gerwen 6-5 Michael Smith
James Wade 6-3 Gerwyn Price
Peter Wright 6-3 Danny Noppert
Losers: £2,250

Michael van Gerwen 7-2 Jose de Sousa
Peter Wright 7-2 James Wade
Losers: £3,000

Peter Wright 8-2 Michael van Gerwen
Winner: £10,000
Runner-up: £6,000