Left arrow

The race to the 2021 Betfred World Matchplay | Latest ranking tables

Right arrow

Betfred World Matchplay 2021 Draw | Van den Bergh handed Petersen opener

Field confirmed for 2021 Betfred World Matchplay

Jamie Shaw in World Matchplay 08 Jul 2021
A general view of the Winter Gardens venue (credit: Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

The field of players for the 2021 Betfred World Matchplay has been confirmed ahead of the tournament’s return to the Winter Gardens in Blackpool later this month.

The historic major will feature 32 players competing for £700,000 in prize money and the Phil Taylor Trophy from July 17-25.

The top 16 players from the PDC Order of Merit will be seeded in the draw and will be joined by 16 qualifiers from the one-year ProTour Order of Merit.

World Champion Gerwyn Price heads to Blackpool as the top seed, while reigning champion Dimitri Van den Bergh will step onto the Winter Gardens stage for the first time as the eighth seed.

Michael van Gerwen, the 2015 and 2016 champion, is the number three seed, with 2017 runner-up Peter Wright seeded number two.

Three other former champions also feature in the field, with James Wade, Rob Cross and Gary Anderson seeded fourth, fifth and sixth respectively.

South Africa’s Devon Petersen will be among seven players in line for debuts in the event, alongside Damon Heta, Dirk van Duijvenbode, Ross Smith, Luke Humphries, Ryan Searle and Callan Rydz.

Players Championship 18 winner Chris Dobey secured the final ProTour Order of Merit qualification place ahead of Jermaine Wattimena.

The draw for the first round of the 2021 Betfred World Matchplay will be broadcast on Friday July 9 from 12pm BST.


Betfred World Matchplay 2021 Field

PDC Order of Merit Qualifiers

1. Gerwyn Price
2. Peter Wright
3. Michael van Gerwen
4. James Wade
5. Rob Cross
6. Gary Anderson
7. Michael Smith
8. Dimitri Van den Bergh
9. Dave Chisnall
10. Jose de Sousa
11. Nathan Aspinall
12. Glen Durrant
13. Krzysztof Ratajski
14. Daryl Gurney
15. Joe Cullen
16. Jonny Clayton

ProTour Order of Merit Qualifiers

Brendan Dolan
Devon Petersen
Damon Heta
Danny Noppert
Dirk van Duijvenbode
Ross Smith
Mensur Suljovic
Stephen Bunting
Mervyn King
Luke Humphries
Gabriel Clemens
Vincent van der Voort
Ryan Searle
Ian White
Callan Rydz
Chris Dobey