Left arrow

PDC Super Series 7 Day One | Players Championship 24 Draw and Live Scores

Right arrow

PDC Super Series 7 Day Two | Players Championship 25 Draw and Live Scores

Van den Bergh comeback seals second Players Championship title

Jamie Shaw in PDC Super Series 19 Oct 2021
Dimitri van den Bergh celebrates (Photo by Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

Dimitri Van den Bergh pulled off a superb comeback from 4-0 down to defeat Adrian Lewis 8-5 in the final and claim the Players Championship 24 title.

Two-time World Champion Lewis had looked on course to secure his first title since March 2019 when he pulled clear in the early stages of the final at the Barnsley Metrodome.

However, Van den Bergh claimed eight of the next nine legs in a ruthless spell to scoop the £10,000 title in the first of four Players Championship events forming PDC Super Series 7 this week.

Van den Bergh averaged above 100 in six of his seven matches on the day, which began with wins over Boris Koltsov, Andrew Gilding and Vincent van der Voort.

He then defeated Chris Dobey 6-1 and overcame Sunday’s European Champion Rob Cross 6-2 in the Quarter-Finals with an average of almost 110.

Van den Bergh then claimed a 7-2 win over Kim Huybrechts in their all-Belgian Semi-Final before producing a magnificent fightback in the final.

“I just feel very lucky that I managed to win my second title this year,” said Van den Bergh.

“I felt like I wasn’t playing well [in the final] but I managed to come back. I still had a 100 average in the final and it didn’t feel like that.

“Today my finishing helped me through. I never gave up, I kept digging in and my finishing was strong.

“I’m proud but I’ll get my feet back on the ground because tomorrow is another day. I’m going to work hard because you can never underestimate anybody.”

Lewis coasted into a 4-0 lead, landing two 12-darters and a 121 finish in the process, before Van den Bergh hit back in leg five to get off the mark.

The Belgian then fired in a ten-darter before Lewis moved 5-2 up, but a 12-darter sparked a run of six straight legs which swept Van den Bergh to victory.

Lewis was appearing in his first final since March 2019, when he overcame Raymond van Barneveld, and showed both quality and resilience in his six wins on the day.

Three of his matches in the early rounds went to a deciding leg, as he prevailed against Luke Woodhouse, Michael Smith and Callan Rydz – in a clash where both players averaged 106.

He also saw off Ryan Searle 6-2 in the Quarter-Finals and averaged 100 in his 7-4 Semi-Final defeat of Dave Chisnall – who became a father earlier this week.

Both Chisnall and Huybrechts reached their first ProTour Semi-Finals of 2021 on Tuesday, while Searle defied a 107 average from Michael van Gerwen to reach the Last Eight.

The day also featured two nine-dart legs, with both Nathan Aspinall and Callan Rydz achieving perfection – although both subsequently went on to lose the game.


Players Championship 24 Results

Tuesday October 19

First Round
Joe Cullen 6-2 Ciaran Teehan
Krzysztof Kciuk 6-1 Gavin Carlin
Darius Labanauskas 6-2 Ryan Meikle
Martin Schindler 6-2 Jose Justicia
Keegan Brown 6-4 Nathan Aspinall – *Aspinall hits a nine-darter*
Scott Waites 6-3 Devon Petersen
Gabriel Clemens 6-1 Joe Murnan
Kim Huybrechts 6-3 Alan Tabern
James Wade 6-3 Andy Boulton
Florian Hempel 6-2 Steve Beaton
Mervyn King 6-2 Lisa Ashton
Ian White 6-3 Steve West
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-4 Geert De Vos
Ron Meulenkamp 6-2 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Mickey Mansell 6-5 Martijn Kleermaker
Danny Baggish 6-0 Glen Durrant
Peter Wright 6-1 Mark McGeeney
Michael Unterbuchner 6-1 James Wilson
Chris Dobey 6-4 Jeffrey De Zwaan
Carl Wilkinson 6-4 Steve Lennon
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-2 Boris Koltsov
Andrew Gilding 6-4 Karel Sedlacek
Vincent van der Voort 6-1 Lewis Williams
Ricky Evans 6-3 Luc Peters
Mike De Decker 6-4 Brendan Dolan
Andy Hamilton 6-5 Aaron Beeney
Jamie Hughes 6-2 Raymond van Barneveld
Bradley Brooks 6-2 Martin Lukeman
Jelle Klaasen 6-3 Danny Noppert
Keane Barry 6-4 Kevin McDine
Rob Cross 6-0 John Brown
Kai Fan Leung 6-3 Harald Leitinger
Jose de Sousa 6-5 Martin Thomas
Niels Zonneveld 6-4 Jack Main
Jermaine Wattimena 6-5 Maik Kuivenhoven
Gary Anderson 6-1 John Michael
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-4 Eddie Lovely
Matthew Edgar 6-0 Ted Evetts
Stephen Bunting 6-4 Boris Krcmar
Brett Claydon 6-4 Michael Rasztovits
Derk Telnekes 6-5 Damon Heta
Berry van Peer 6-4 Adam Hunt
Dave Chisnall 6-1 Jesus Noguera
Gordon Mathers 6-4 Jason Lowe
Alan Soutar 6-5 Luke Humphries
Nick Kenny 6-3 Chas Barstow
Daryl Gurney 6-3 Wayne Jones
Steve Brown 6-4 Peter Hudson
Michael Smith 6-3 Josh Payne
William O’Connor 6-0 David Evans
Adrian Lewis 6-5 Luke Woodhouse
Peter Jacques 6-5 Max Hopp
Ross Smith 6-2 Jake Jones
Rusty-Jake Rodriguez 6-1 Jim McEwan
Callan Rydz 6-1 Jon Worsley
Simon Whitlock 6-4 Madars Razma
Michael van Gerwen 6-0 Gary Blades
Ryan Murray 6-3 Jason Heaver
Ryan Joyce 6-2 Adam Gawlas
Ritchie Edhouse 6-3 William Borland
Ryan Searle 6-3 John Henderson
Scott Mitchell 6-5 Geert Nentjes
Kevin Doets 6-2 Mensur Suljovic
Jeff Smith 6-1 Darren Webster

Second Round
Joe Cullen 6-3 Krzysztof Kciuk
Martin Schindler 6-2 Darius Labanauskas
Keegan Brown 6-4 Scott Waites
Kim Huybrechts 6-3 Gabriel Clemens
James Wade 6-5 Florian Hempel
Mervyn King 6-0 Ian White
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-4 Ron Meulenkamp
Mickey Mansell 6-4 Danny Baggish
Peter Wright 6-5 Michael Unterbuchner
Chris Dobey 6-2 Carl Wilkinson
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-2 Andrew Gilding
Vincent van der Voort 6-5 Ricky Evans
Mike De Decker 6-1 Andy Hamilton
Jamie Hughes 6-0 Bradley Brooks
Keane Barry 6-4 Jelle Klaasen
Rob Cross 6-3 Kai Fan Leung
Jose de Sousa 6-3 Niels Zonneveld
Gary Anderson 6-1 Jermaine Wattimena
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-1 Matthew Edgar
Brett Claydon 6-2 Stephen Bunting
Derk Telnekes 6-4 Berry van Peer
Dave Chisnall 6-5 Gordon Mathers
Nick Kenny 6-3 Alan Soutar
Steve Brown 6-4 Daryl Gurney
Michael Smith 6-3 William O’Connor
Adrian Lewis 6-3 Peter Jacques
Rusty-Jake Rodriguez 6-3 Ross Smith
Callan Rydz 6-3 Simon Whitlock
Michael van Gerwen 6-3 Ryan Murray
Ryan Joyce 6-2 Ritchie Edhouse
Ryan Searle 6-2 Scott Mitchell
Jeff Smith 6-4 Kevin Doets
Losers: £500

Last 32
Martin Schindler 6-3 Joe Cullen
Kim Huybrechts 6-4 Keegan Brown
Mervyn King 6-5 James Wade
Mickey Mansell 6-4 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Chris Dobey 6-1 Peter Wright
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-5 Vincent van der Voort
Mike De Decker 6-2 Jamie Hughes
Rob Cross 6-0 Keane Barry
Jose de Sousa 6-5 Gary Anderson
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-3 Brett Claydon
Dave Chisnall 6-1 Derk Telnekes
Nick Kenny 6-3 Steve Brown
Adrian Lewis 6-5 Michael Smith
Callan Rydz 6-1 Rusty-Jake Rodriguez
Michael van Gerwen 6-1 Ryan Joyce
Ryan Searle 6-3 Jeff Smith
Losers: £1,000

Last 16
Kim Huybrechts 6-4 Martin Schindler
Mickey Mansell 6-1 Mervyn King
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-1 Chris Dobey
Rob Cross 6-3 Mike De Decker
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-5 Jose de Sousa
Dave Chisnall 6-2 Nick Kenny
Adrian Lewis 6-5 Callan Rydz – *Rydz hits a nine-darter*
Ryan Searle 6-3 Michael van Gerwen
Losers: £1,500

Kim Huybrechts 6-2 Mickey Mansell
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-2 Rob Cross
Dave Chisnall 6-5 Krzysztof Ratajski
Adrian Lewis 6-2 Ryan Searle
Losers: £2,250

Dimitri van den Bergh 7-2 Kim Huybrechts
Adrian Lewis 7-4 Dave Chisnall
Losers: £3,000

Dimitri van den Bergh 8-5 Adrian Lewis
Winner: £10,000
Runner-up: £6,000

Latest Darts Offers

  • Bet £10 and get £50 in Free Darts Bets
  • Bet £10 on World Championship winner and get £2 Free Bet for every match they win
  • Watch all Modus Live League matches streamed here
  • Get up to £100 in Bet Credits when you join