Left arrow

PDC Super Series 6 Day Two: Players Championship 22 Draw and Live Scores

Right arrow

PDC Super Series 6 Day Three: Players Championship 23 Draw and Live Scores

Sensational Searle claims Players Championship 22 title

Jamie Shaw in PDC Super Series 03 Aug 2021
Ryan Searle celebrates (Photo by Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

Ryan Searle secured his second PDC ranking title in style at Players Championship 22 in Barnsley with an 8-7 win over Peter Wright in the final.

Searle produced a sensational day of darts as he clinched the £10,000 title at the Barnsley Metrodome, dropping just seven legs on his way to the final.

The 33-year-old, whose first ProTour title came in February 2020, had lost in the final of Players Championship 15 in June but went one better by denying the World Matchplay champion in a tense final.

“That was a scrappy final, it just didn’t feel like we were hitting anything. I’m amazed the averages were that high,” said Searle.

“I’ve been playing well for a long time and maybe just not had the luck. I believe I should be in the top 32, which is easy to say but that’s where I want to be.

“I’m delighted to get over the line and hopefully I can push on from here.”

Searle began his run with a 6-1 rout of Msrk McGeeney in Round One before averaging 105.8 in a 6-2 success over Jim McEwan.

The world number 34 then dispatched Raymond van Barneveld 6-2 before cruising past Rusty-Jake Rodriguez 6-1 with a 100 average.

A third ton-plus average of the day was to follow in the Quarter-Finals as Searle swept aside Luke Woodhouse 6-1 before emphatically whitewashing Martin Lukeman 7-0 in the Semi-Finals with an astounding 116.9 average – the highest of the day.

The first four legs of the final were shared before Searle edged in front and followed in with a ten-darter to open up a 4-2 advantage.

Wright, however, responded with back-to-back finishes of 106 and 136 to draw level, and though Searle regained the upper-hand, an 81 checkout for an 11-darter saw Snakebite make it five apiece.

Searle picked out double one to lead again, this time for Wright to take out 76 for a 12-darter and parity.

Wright then took a gamble by opting out of a shot at the bullseye on 127 with his opponent waiting on the same finish, and it appeared to pay off as the Scot returned for double eight to edge 7-6 up.

However, Wright was left to rue a missed match dart in the next leg as Searle stepped in for tops to force a decider, and the Devon ace found that same target again to clinch the title.

Wright was bidding for his third tournament win in his last four outings but was forced to settle for the £6,000 runner-up cheque.

The world number two averaged 109.6 in a 6-4 win over Martin Schindler in the Quarter-Finals before recording an eighth straight victory over Dimitri van den Bergh in the Last Four – a match which signalled a repeat of the recent World Matchplay final.

Elsewhere, Ron Meulenkamp hit a nine-dart finish against Rusty-Jake Rodriguez in Round One, but it was not enough to avert a 6-5 defeat.

Michael van Gerwen suffered a shock First Round exit at the hands of fellow Dutchman Kevin Doets, while Monday’s winner Gerwyn Price was beaten by an inspired Martijn Kleermaker in the Last 32.

Martin Lukeman enjoyed a fine run to his first PDC ranking Semi-Final, defeating the likes of Ian White and Jonny Clayton along the way.

Krzysztof Ratajski, Joe Cullen, Daryl Gurney and Dirk van Duijvenbode were among the other notable First Round casualties.


Players Championship 22 Results

Tuesday August 3

First Round
José de Sousa 6-3 Matt Jackson
Jason Heaver 6-1 Kevin McDine
Darius Labanauskas 6-0 Jamie Hughes
William Borland 6-4 Danny Baggish
Nathan Aspinall 6-0 Kirk Shepherd
Peter Hudson 6-3 Max Hopp
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-0 John Brown
Keegan Brown 6-5 Mickey Mansell
Damon Heta 6-2 Martin Atkins
Daniel Larsson 6-2 Glen Durrant
Lewis Williams 6-3 Daryl Gurney
Ciaran Teehan 6-5 Steve Beaton
Brendan Dolan 6-1 Nick Kenny
Scott Mitchell 6-1 Chas Barstow
Vincent van der Voort 6-3 Jake Jones
Ryan Joyce 6-5 Zoran Lerchbacher
Michael Smith 6-5 Justin Pipe
Adrian Lewis 6-1 Steve Brown
Chris Dobey 6-2 Mike De Decker
Joe Murnan 6-3 Niels Zonneveld
Martin Schindler 6-1 Krzysztof Ratajski
Lukas Wenig 6-5 Jeffrey De Zwaan
Stephen Bunting 6-4 Jack Main
Steve West 6-3 Josh Payne
Peter Wright 6-2 Wayne Jones
Matthew Edgar 6-2 Gary Blades
Dave Chisnall 6-1 Boris Koltsov
Alan Soutar 6-4 Ritchie Edhouse
Danny Noppert 6-0 Krzysztof Kciuk
Andrew Gilding 6-2 Ricky Evans
Mervyn King 6-2 Gordon Mathers
Rowby-John Rodriguez 6-4 Florian Hempel
Maik Kuivenhoven 6-4 Joe Cullen
Steve Lennon 6-2 Adam Gawlas
Jermaine Wattimena 6-4 Ryan Meikle
Sean Fisher 6-4 Martin Thomas
Ross Smith 6-0 Alan Tabern
Simon Whitlock 6-3 Jelle Klaasen
Ted Evetts 6-0 Luke Humphries
Keane Barry 6-3 Luc Peters
Jonny Clayton 6-0 Berry van Peer
Geert Nentjes 6-0 John Michael
David Evans 6-3 Callan Rydz
Shane McGuirk 6-2 Jesus Noguera
Boris Krcmar 6-4 Devon Petersen
Kim Huybrechts 6-4 Ryan Murray
Martin Lukeman 6-5 Ian White
Kai Fan Leung 6-4 Karel Sedlacek
Gerwyn Price 6-4 William O’Connor
Harald Leitinger 6-5 Jon Worsley
Martijn Kleermaker 6-1 Bradley Brooks
Adam Hunt 6-1 Scott Waites
Peter Jacques 6-5 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Eddie Lovely 6-3 Lisa Ashton
Rob Cross 6-1 Andy Boulton
Luke Woodhouse 6-4 Aaron Beeney
Kevin Doets 6-4 Michael van Gerwen
Raymond van Barneveld 6-4 Michael Rasztovits
Ryan Searle 6-1 Mark McGeeney
Jim McEwan 6-4 Jason Lowe
James Wade 6-5 James Wilson
Andy Hamilton 6-3 Darren Webster
Gabriel Clemens 6-4 John Henderson
Rusty-Jake Rodriguez 6-5 Ron Meulenkamp – *Meulenkamp hits a nine-darter*

Second Round
José de Sousa 6-4 Jason Heaver
Darius Labanauskas 6-2 William Borland
Nathan Aspinall 6-1 Peter Hudson
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-1 Keegan Brown
Damon Heta 6-4 Daniel Larsson
Ciaran Teehan 6-5 Lewis Williams
Scott Mitchell 6-3 Brendan Dolan
Vincent van der Voort 6-3 Ryan Joyce
Adrian Lewis 6-4 Michael Smith
Joe Murnan 6-4 Chris Dobey
Martin Schindler 6-3 Lukas Wenig
Steve West 6-5 Stephen Bunting
Peter Wright 6-1 Matthew Edgar
Alan Soutar 6-4 Dave Chisnall
Andrew Gilding 6-4 Danny Noppert
Rowby-John Rodriguez 6-5 Mervyn King
Steve Lennon 6-2 Maik Kuivenhoven
Sean Fisher 6-5 Jermaine Wattimena
Simon Whitlock 6-3 Ross Smith
Keane Barry 6-4 Ted Evetts
Jonny Clayton 6-1 Geert Nentjes
Shane McGuirk 6-4 David Evans
Kim Huybrechts 6-3 Boris Krcmar
Martin Lukeman 6-5 Kai Fan Leung
Gerwyn Price 6-2 Harald Leitinger
Martijn Kleermaker 6-1 Adam Hunt
Eddie Lovely 6-1 Peter Jacques
Luke Woodhouse 6-4 Rob Cross
Raymond van Barneveld 6-5 Kevin Doets
Ryan Searle 6-2 Jim McEwan
James Wade 6-1 Andy Hamilton
Rusty-Jake Rodriguez 6-0 Gabriel Clemens
Losers: £500

Last 32
José de Sousa 6-1 Darius Labanauskas
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-2 Nathan Aspinall
Damon Heta 6-2 Ciaran Teehan
Vincent van der Voort 6-5 Scott Mitchell
Joe Murnan 6-3 Adrian Lewis
Martin Schindler 6-2 Steve West
Peter Wright 6-5 Alan Soutar
Andrew Gilding 6-2 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Sean Fisher 6-4 Steve Lennon
Keane Barry 6-1 Simon Whitlock
Jonny Clayton 6-4 Shane McGuirk
Martin Lukeman 6-5 Kim Huybrechts
Martijn Kleermaker 6-2 Gerwyn Price
Luke Woodhouse 6-1 Eddie Lovely
Ryan Searle 6-2 Raymond van Barneveld
Rusty-Jake Rodriguez 6-4 James Wade
Losers: £1,000

Last 16
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-5 José de Sousa
Vincent van der Voort 6-4 Damon Heta
Martin Schindler 6-2 Joe Murnan
Peter Wright 6-1 Andrew Gilding
Keane Barry 6-4 Sean Fisher
Martin Lukeman 6-3 Jonny Clayton
Luke Woodhouse 6-5 Martijn Kleermaker
Ryan Searle 6-1 Rusty-Jake Rodriguez
Losers: £1,500

Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-3 Vincent van der Voort
Peter Wright 6-4 Martin Schindler
Martin Lukeman 6-5 Keane Barry
Ryan Searle 6-1 Luke Woodhouse
Losers: £2,250

Peter Wright 7-4 Dimitri Van den Bergh
Ryan Searle 7-0 Martin Lukeman
Losers: £3,000

Ryan Searle 8-7 Peter Wright
Winner: £10,000
Runner-up: £6,000