Left arrow

PDC Super Series Day Two Draw: The First Round line-up for Players Championship 2

Right arrow

PDC Super Series Day Three Draw: The First Round line-up for Players Championship 3

Callan Rydz racks up first ranking title at the PDC Super Series

Jamie Shaw in PDC Super Series 26 Feb 2021
Callan Rydz celebrates (Photo by Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

Callan Rydz claimed his first PDC ranking title at Players Championship Two with an 8-7 victory over Jonny Clayton in the final.

The 22-year-old survived a match dart from Welsh star Clayton in a thrilling finale to ensure a dream start to just his second year as a PDC Tour Card Holder.

Previously a winner on the Challenge and Development Tours, Rydz came out on top in the 128 player field on the second day of the new ProTour season at the Bolton Whites Hotel.

“It feels amazing,” said an emotional Rydz. “I’ve played well all day and taken my chances when I got them. The 127 I took out in the final was massive.

“I’ve felt confident all day. Last year I lost a lot of games 6-5, now I’m a bit more experienced and consistent I’m coming out on the right side of those scorelines.

“I said to my manager last night ‘I feel like I can win one of these’ and I’m so happy to have done it.”

The Tynesider inflicted last-leg agony for a second successive day on reigning Masters champion Clayton, who impressed with a 6-1 defeat of world number two Michael van Gerwen in the Last 16.

Clayton claimed first blood in the final with a 121 checkout to go 2-1 up before Rydz, competing in his first senior PDC ranking final, punished two missed doubles from Clayton by pinning tops to break back and level at 3-3.

Rydz looked on course for glory when he tidied up 51 in two darts to go 6-4 in front, only for Clayton to reel off the next three legs, taking out 84 to move within a leg of the title.

With Clayton waiting on 47 after missing a dart at bullseye for the match, Rydz found the same target for a match-saving 127 checkout to send the contest to a final leg.

Rydz won the last-leg shoot-out in 15 darts, sealing the £10,000 prize with an 87 checkout.

Rydz also survived a match dart in wins over Boris Koltsov and Alan Soutar earlier in the day, before dropping just one leg in defeating Jeff Smith and Ian White to reach the semi-finals.

There, he scored a 7-2 victory over world number five Nathan Aspinall, who made it to the final four for a second successive day.

Elsewhere, it was another day of disappointment for World Champion Gerwyn Price who suffered a shock second round exit at the hands of Aaron Beeney, while world number three Peter Wright fell at the first hurdle to impressive newcomer Soutar.

Raymond van Barneveld picked up his first win since making his return to the PDC circuit, coming back from 5-2 down to defeat Ryan Murray 6-5 before losing out to fellow-Dutchman Danny Noppert in round two.

Vincent van der Voort made it two semi-final appearances in his last six ProTour outings, while Greece’s John Michael reached his first ProTour quarter-final.


PDC Super Series 2021 Event Two Results

Thursday February 25

First Round
Gerwyn Price 6-2 Jon Worsley
Aaron Beeney 6-2 Jason Lowe
John Michael 6-5 Ryan Searle
Ryan Meikle 6-5 Maik Kuivenhoven
Martin Schindler 6-3 Rob Cross
Lorenzo Pronk 6-4 Peter Jacques
Dave Chisnall 6-1 Steve Brown
Eddie Lovely 6-5 William Borland
Nathan Aspinall 6-3 Gordon Mathers
Jeffrey De Zwaan 6-5 Jason Heaver
Simon Whitlock 6-3 Madars Razma
Krzysztof Kciuk 6-5 Mark McGeeney
Mickey Mansell 6-3 Devon Petersen
Geert Nentjes 6-2 John Brown
Gabriel Clemens 6-5 Keane Barry
Rusty-Jake Rodriguez 6-3 Joe Murnan
Alan Soutar 6-2 Peter Wright
Peter Hudson 6-2 Jack Main
Ross Smith 6-3 Martin Lukeman
Callan Rydz 6-5 Boris Koltsov
Danny Noppert 6-1 Luke Humphries
Raymond van Barneveld 6-5 Ryan Murray
Jeff Smith 6-3 Brendan Dolan
Adrian Lewis 6-5 Andrew Gilding
Ritchie Edhouse 6-5 José de Sousa
Alan Tabern 6-4 Scott Waites
Gary Anderson 6-2 Martijn Kleermaker
Ricky Evans 6-5 Brett Claydon
Ian White 6-5 Max Hopp
Karel Sedlacek 6-5 Boris Krcmar
Glen Durrant 6-5 Daniel Larsson
Ciaran Teehan 6-3 Niels Zonneveld
Joe Cullen 6-3 Danny Baggish
Martin Atkins 6-4 James Wilson
Kim Huybrechts 6-5 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Andy Boulton 6-3 Scott Mitchell
Damon Heta 6-5 Michael Unterbuchner
Darius Labanauskas 6-3 Ted Evetts
Daryl Gurney 6-0 Kai Fan Leung
Steve Beaton 6-5 Gary Blades
James Wade 6-1 David Evans
Martin Thomas 6-5 Jesus Noguera
Vincent van der Voort 6-0 Jake Jones
Steffen Siepmann 6-4 Berry van Peer
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-3 Dimitri Van den Bergh
Justin Pipe 6-3 Harald Leitinger
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-4 Keegan Brown
Luke Woodhouse 6-4 Kirk Shepherd
Michael van Gerwen 6-5 Steve West
Adam Hunt 6-3 Steve Lennon
Ryan Joyce 6-1 Adam Gawlas
John Henderson 6-5 Matthew Edgar
Jonny Clayton 6-3 Bradley Brooks
Mike De Decker 6-5 Ron Meulenkamp
Mervyn King 6-4 Darren Webster
Luc Peters 6-2 Michael Rasztovits
Michael Smith 6-2 Lewis Williams
Josh Payne 6-5 Lisa Ashton
Chas Barstow 6-5 Stephen Bunting
Zoran Lerchbacher 6-3 Geert De Vos
Mensur Suljovic 6-5 Andy Hamilton
William O’Connor 6-1 Nick Kenny
Jermaine Wattimena 6-3 Chris Dobey
Jelle Klaasen 6-3 Derk Telnekes

Second Round
Aaron Beeney 6-5 Gerwyn Price
John Michael 6-3 Ryan Meikle
Martin Schindler 6-5 Lorenzo Pronk
Dave Chisnall 6-0 Eddie Lovely
Nathan Aspinall 6-4 Jeffrey De Zwaan
Krzysztof Kciuk 6-3 Simon Whitlock
Mickey Mansell 6-4 Geert Nentjes
Rusty-Jake Rodriguez 6-5 Gabriel Clemens
Alan Soutar 6-2 Peter Hudson
Callan Rydz 6-4 Ross Smith
Danny Noppert 6-5 Raymond van Barneveld
Jeff Smith 6-5 Adrian Lewis
Ritchie Edhouse 6-3 Alan Tabern
Gary Anderson 6-2 Ricky Evans
Ian White 6-2 Karel Sedlacek
Ciaran Teehan 6-0 Glen Durrant
Joe Cullen 6-5 Martin Atkins
Andy Boulton 6-3 Kim Huybrechts
Darius Labanauskas 6-3 Damon Heta
Steve Beaton 6-4 Daryl Gurney
Martin Thomas 6-5 James Wade
Vincent van der Voort 6-3 Steffen Siepmann
Justin Pipe 6-1 Krzysztof Ratajski
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-1 Luke Woodhouse
Michael van Gerwen 6-5 Adam Hunt
Ryan Joyce 6-2 John Henderson
Jonny Clayton 6-2 Mike De Decker
Luc Peters 6-3 Mervyn King
Josh Payne 6-5 Michael Smith
Chas Barstow 6-3 Zoran Lerchbacher
Mensur Suljovic 6-5 William O’Connor
Jermaine Wattimena 6-5 Jelle Klaasen
Losers: £500

Last 32
John Michael 6-0 Aaron Beeney
Martin Schindler 6-4 Dave Chisnall
Nathan Aspinall 6-3 Krzysztof Kciuk
Rusty-Jake Rodriguez 6-2 Mickey Mansell
Callan Rydz 6-5 Alan Soutar
Jeff Smith 6-4 Danny Noppert
Gary Anderson 6-4 Ritchie Edhouse
Ian White 6-2 Ciaran Teehan
Joe Cullen 6-2 Andy Boulton
Steve Beaton 6-4 Darius Labanauskas
Vincent van der Voort 6-1 Martin Thomas
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-4 Justin Pipe
Michael van Gerwen 6-1 Ryan Joyce
Jonny Clayton 6-1 Luc Peters
Chas Barstow 6-2 Josh Payne
Mensur Suljovic 6-2 Jermaine Wattimena
Losers: £1,000

Last 16
John Michael 6-4 Martin Schindler
Nathan Aspinall 6-3 Rusty-Jake Rodriguez
Callan Rydz 6-0 Jeff Smith
Ian White 6-3 Gary Anderson
Steve Beaton 6-2 Joe Cullen
Vincent van der Voort 6-3 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Jonny Clayton 6-1 Michael van Gerwen
Mensur Suljovic 6-4 Chas Barstow
Losers: £1,500

Nathan Aspinall 6-4 John Michael
Callan Rydz 6-1 Ian White
Vincent van der Voort 6-3 Steve Beaton
Jonny Clayton 6-3 Mensur Suljovic
Losers: £2,250

Callan Rydz 7-2 Nathan Aspinall
Jonny Clayton 7-5 Vincent van der Voort
Losers: £3,000

Callan Rydz 8-7 Jonny Clayton
Winner: £10,000
Runner-up: £6,000