Left arrow

PDC Super Series 2 Day Two Draw: First Round line-up for Players Championship 6

Right arrow

PDC Super Series 2 Day Three Draw: First Round line-up for Players Championship 7

Price picks up tenth Players Championship title at the PDC Super Series

Jamie Shaw in PDC Super Series 17 Mar 2021
Gerwyn Price reacts (Photo by Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

Gerwyn Price secured his tenth Players Championship title at the PDC Super Series with an 8-5 victory over Luke Humphries in the final in Milton Keynes.

The world number one was in imperious form as he produced his best day of darts since winning the World Championship title at the beginning of the year.

The Welshman averaged 102.89 across the day, with six ton-plus averages in his seven wins en route to glory.

He overcame Chris Dobey 6-2 in Round One and was taken all the way to a deciding leg by Andrew Gilding in Round Two, before seeing off Rowby-John Rodriguez 6-1, Scott Mitchell 6-3 and Michael Smith 6-3 to reach the Semi-Finals.

There, he ended Brendan Dolan’s bid for back-to-back ProTour titles in a high-quality contest, surviving a missed match dart at the bullseye from Tuesday’s champion before taking the deciding leg in 14 darts to avenge his defeat to the Northern Irishman 24 hours earlier.

A 12-dart break of throw from Price in the opening leg of the final set the tone for another pulsating affair, with Humphries responding with a 13-darter before edging ahead.

Price took the next two to lead 3-2, and after Humphries finished 79 to level in leg six, four in a row for the World Champion – as he reeled off legs of 14, 13, 15 and 13 darts – stamped his authority on the game at 7-3.

Humphries hit back with a 13-darter and took out 126 on the bull for a 12-darter to keep his hopes alive, but Price found a key 174 score to leave 20 in the next before a third-dart double ten sealed the title.

“I’m enjoying darts and playing well,” admitted Price. “Every game I play is really tough because everyone’s raising their game against me.

“It brings the best out of me and it’s another win for me, so hopefully I can push on from here and pick up a couple more.

“I’ve been playing pretty decent – sometimes I miss a couple of doubles, if you give people chances they’re going to take them and Brendan did exactly that yesterday.

“Obviously everyone’s out to beat you and I’ve got a big target on my back, but it’s nice to get another win under my belt. I’m playing well but people are playing well against me as well.”

Humphries’ run to the decider followed up his recent appearance in the UK Open final ten days ago, as he narrowly missed out on a maiden ProTour triumph.

The former World Youth Champion knocked out former World Champions Raymond van Barneveld and Peter Wright as well as Ian White, Gordon Mathers and World Grand Prix finalist Dirk van Duijvenbode, before pinning a 122 checkout in the deciding leg of his Semi-Final against Jamie Hughes.

Hughes’ run to the Last Four was an encouraging return to form following his elbow surgery earlier this year and included wins over the likes of Mensur Suljovic and Mervyn King.

Van Duijvenbode was appearing in a second successive Quarter-Final, with fellow countryman Niels Zonneveld, UK Open champion James Wade and Tuesday’s runner-up Michael Smith also reaching the Last Eight.

The PDC Super Series 2 continues on Thursday with Players Championship 7 as the 128 players return to compete for a further £75,000 in prize money.


PDC Super Series 2 Event Two Results

Wednesday March 17

First Round
Joe Cullen 6-1 James Wilson
Keane Barry 6-4 Luc Peters
Ricky Evans 6-4 Luke Woodhouse
Jeffrey De Zwaan 6-2 Max Hopp
Daryl Gurney 6-4 Martin Atkins
Alan Soutar 6-3 Steve Lennon
Brendan Dolan 6-2 Geert De Vos
Ron Meulenkamp 6-3 Aaron Beeney
James Wade 6-3 Darren Webster
Bradley Brooks 6-3 Maik Kuivenhoven
Ryan Joyce 6-5 Kim Huybrechts
Rusty-Jake Rodriguez 6-5 Martin Thomas
Jason Heaver 6-5 Krzysztof Ratajski
John Brown 6-3 Keegan Brown
Jermaine Wattimena 6-3 Steve West
Kirk Shepherd 6-4 Jake Jones
Michael Smith 6-2 Ciaran Teehan
John Henderson 6-5 Steffen Siepmann
Ryan Meikle 6-5 Ross Smith
Adam Hunt 6-5 Lorenzo Pronk
Danny Noppert 6-5 Danny Baggish
Andy Hamilton 6-1 Berry van Peer
Glen Durrant 6-5 Chas Barstow
Gino Vos 6-4 Zoran Lerchbacher
Gerwyn Price 6-2 Chris Dobey
Andrew Gilding 6-5 Martin Schindler
Stephen Bunting 6-2 Justin Pipe
Rowby-John Rodriguez 6-4 Dimitri Van den Bergh
Damon Heta 6-3 Jason Lowe
Simon Whitlock 6-2 Lisa Ashton
Peter Jacques 6-3 Gabriel Clemens
Scott Mitchell 6-2 Gary Blades
Eddie Lovely 6-4 José de Sousa
Gavin Carlin 6-4 Ted Evetts
Darius Labanauskas 6-4 William O’Connor
Matthew Edgar 6-5 Boris Koltsov
Dave Chisnall 6-3 William Borland
Andy Boulton 6-4 Krzysztof Kciuk
Niels Zonneveld 6-4 Rob Cross
Josh Payne 6-3 David Evans
Jonny Clayton 6-3 Steve Beaton
Kai Fan Leung 6-5 Boris Krcmar
Mervyn King 6-1 Martin Lukeman
Martijn Kleermaker 6-5 Jelle Klaasen
Mensur Suljovic 6-4 Jesus Noguera
Jamie Hughes 6-3 Nick Kenny
Madars Razma 6-0 Michael Rasztovits
Ryan Murray 6-4 Wayne Jones
Peter Wright 6-5 Jack Main
Lewis Williams 6-2 Adrian Lewis
Ryan Searle 6-2 Peter Hudson
Scott Waites 6-3 Mark McGeeney
Ian White 6-5 Mickey Mansell
Luke Humphries 6-4 Raymond van Barneveld
Gordon Mathers 6-5 Callan Rydz
Jon Worsley 6-4 Daniel Larsson
Devon Petersen 6-2 Adam Gawlas
Jeff Smith 6-2 John Michael
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-2 Alan Tabern
Gary Anderson 6-1 Derk Telnekes
Ritchie Edhouse 6-5 Nathan Aspinall
Karel Sedlacek 6-5 Mike De Decker
Vincent van der Voort 6-3 Steve Brown
Joe Murnan 6-1 Brett Claydon

Second Round
Joe Cullen 6-3 Keane Barry
Ricky Evans 6-4 Jeffrey De Zwaan
Alan Soutar 6-3 Daryl Gurney
Brendan Dolan 6-5 Ron Meulenkamp
James Wade 6-4 Bradley Brooks
Rusty-Jake Rodriguez 6-4 Ryan Joyce
Jason Heaver 6-3 John Brown
Jermaine Wattimena 6-3 Kirk Shepherd
Michael Smith 6-1 John Henderson
Ryan Meikle 6-2 Adam Hunt
Danny Noppert 6-3 Andy Hamilton
Gino Vos 6-4 Glen Durrant
Gerwyn Price 6-5 Andrew Gilding
Rowby-John Rodriguez 6-5 Stephen Bunting
Simon Whitlock 6-4 Damon Heta
Scott Mitchell 6-3 Peter Jacques
Eddie Lovely 6-0 Gavin Carlin
Darius Labanauskas 6-4 Matthew Edgar
Dave Chisnall 6-3 Andy Boulton
Niels Zonneveld 6-4 Josh Payne
Jonny Clayton 6-3 Kai Fan Leung
Mervyn King 6-3 Martijn Kleermaker
Jamie Hughes 6-3 Mensur Suljovic
Ryan Murray 6-5 Madars Razma
Peter Wright 6-3 Lewis Williams
Ryan Searle 6-1 Scott Waites
Luke Humphries 6-5 Ian White
Gordon Mathers 6-4 Jon Worsley
Devon Petersen 6-3 Jeff Smith
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-1 Gary Anderson
Karel Sedlacek 6-1 Ritchie Edhouse
Vincent van der Voort 6-3 Joe Murnan
Losers: £500

Last 32
Joe Cullen 6-3 Ricky Evans
Brendan Dolan 6-4 Alan Soutar
James Wade 6-4 Rusty-Jake Rodriguez
Jason Heaver 6-5 Jermaine Wattimena
Michael Smith 6-1 Ryan Meikle
Gino Vos 6-3 Danny Noppert
Gerwyn Price 6-1 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Scott Mitchell 6-3 Simon Whitlock
Darius Labanauskas 6-0 Eddie Lovely
Niels Zonneveld 6-4 Dave Chisnall
Mervyn King 6-1 Jonny Clayton
Jamie Hughes 6-1 Ryan Murray
Peter Wright 6-5 Ryan Searle
Luke Humphries 6-1 Gordon Mathers
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-3 Devon Petersen
Karel Sedlacek 6-5 Vincent van der Voort
Losers: £1,000

Last 16
Brendan Dolan 6-5 Joe Cullen
James Wade 6-4 Jason Heaver
Michael Smith 6-2 Gino Vos
Gerwyn Price 6-3 Scott Mitchell
Niels Zonneveld 6-3 Darius Labanauskas
Jamie Hughes 6-4 Mervyn King
Luke Humphries 6-4 Peter Wright
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-3 Karel Sedlacek
Losers: £1,500

Brendan Dolan 6-3 James Wade
Gerwyn Price 6-3 Michael Smith
Jamie Hughes 6-4 Niels Zonneveld
Luke Humphries 6-2 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Losers: £2,250

Gerwyn Price 7-6 Brendan Dolan
Luke Humphries 7-6 Jamie Hughes
Losers: £3,000

Gerwyn Price 8-5 Luke Humphries
Winner: £10,000
Runner-up: £6,000