Left arrow

PDC Super Series 7 Day Four | Players Championship 27 Draw and Live Scores

Right arrow

PDC Super Series 8 Day One | Players Championship 28 Draw and Live Scores

Magnificent Michael Smith secures Players Championship 27 title

Jamie Shaw in PDC Super Series 22 Oct 2021
Michael Smith celebrates (Photo by Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

Michael Smith secured his second ranking title of the year at Players Championship 27 with a comeback win over Ross Smith in the final.

The world number ten recovered from 4-0 down to complete an 8-6 victory over Ross Smith – who was also bidding to claim his second ProTour title of the season.

An impressive comeback from ‘Bully Boy’ saw him collect his 13th PDC ranking title, moving him into a provisional qualification place for next month’s Grand Slam of Darts.

“Ross missed so many chances, he let me in and I think my finals experience saw me through,” admitted Smith.

“If I’m being honest, I haven’t really played well today, I’ve been pinching games and I did the same in the final.

“But what I have done well is keep fighting. I’ve been working on the mental side of the game over the last six months, so it’s good to see that paying off.

“I just keep myself composed and keep myself together under pressure. I’m just trying to find myself back into form.”

A slow start to the day from Michael Smith saw him average just over 80 in defeating Michael Rasztovits 6-5 in Round One, before bouncing back with averages above 100 in wins over Joe Murnan and Maik Kuivenhoven.

Smith came through another last-leg decider against Ricky Evans, before dispatching Kim Huybrechts and Florian Hempel to reach his fourth ranking event final of the year.

It was Ross Smith who flew out of the blocls, firing in two 180s and a 94 checkout on his way to taking a commanding 4-0 lead.

Michael Smith stopped the rot with a 13-darter to break throw, and then took out 101 to move within two legs of his opponent.

The following two legs also went the way of Michael Smith, before ‘Smudger’ hit back to regain the upper-hand at 5-4.

However, that would be the last time Ross Smith led the contest as Michael Smith won four of the last five legs to wrap up victory.

Elsewhere, rising German star Hempel reached his first ranking Semi-Final, while Huybrechts continued his resurgence with a Quarter-Final appearance, having reached a Semi-Final earlier in the week.

Latvia’s Madars Razma landed a second nine-darter in as many days, producing perfection in the deciding leg of his Second Round tie with Luke Humphries.

Michael van Gerwen was beaten 6-2 by an inspired Huybrechts in the Last 16, while notable First Round casualties included the likes of Dimitri van den Bergh, Adrian Lewis, Ryan Searle, James Wade and Dave Chisnall.


Players Championship 27 Results

Friday October 22

First Round
Joe Cullen (Bye)
Brett Claydon 6-5 John Henderson
Karel Sedlacek 6-2 Darius Labanauskas
Alan Tabern 6-2 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Jeff Smith 6-3 Krzysztof Ratajski
Keane Barry 6-4 Boris Krcmar
Ross Smith 6-5 Jake Jones
Jason Heaver 6-3 Chas Barstow
Damon Heta 6-3 Gordon Mathers
Boris Koltsov 6-5 Steve Lennon
Daryl Gurney 6-0 Harald Leitinger
William Borland 6-4 James Wilson
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-3 Nick Kenny
Jeffrey De Zwaan 6-2 Steve Beaton
Mensur Suljovic 6-4 Mickey Mansell
Ron Meulenkamp 6-4 Mike De Decker
Peter Wright 6-4 Adam Gawlas
Gavin Carlin 6-4 Luke Woodhouse
Martin Schindler 6-3 Derk Telnekes
Martin Thomas 6-3 Jelle Klaasen
Rob Cross 6-1 Adam Hunt
Kai Fan Leung 6-2 Kevin McDine
Jim McEwan 6-1 Stephen Bunting
Geert Nentjes 6-5 Berry van Peer
Brendan Dolan 6-4 Simon Whitlock
Rusty-Jake Rodriguez 6-3 Matthew Edgar
Geert De Vos 6-5 Martijn Kleermaker
Josh Payne 6-2 Robert Thornton
Callan Rydz 6-1 Jon Worsley
Lisa Ashton 6-5 Ted Evetts
Vincent van der Voort 6-0 Darren Webster
Ciaran Teehan 6-2 John Brown
Jose de Sousa 6-4 Matt Jackson
Aaron Beeney 6-3 Niels Zonneveld
Jermaine Wattimena 6-5 Keegan Brown
Scott Mitchell 6-5 Jamie Hughes
Gabriel Clemens 6-4 Michael Unterbuchner
Bradley Brooks 6-4 Derek Coulson
Nathan Aspinall 6-4 Luc Peters
Lewis Williams 6-5 Jose Justicia
Jesus Noguera 6-4 Ryan Searle
Danny Baggish 6-3 Andy Boulton
Andrew Gilding 6-4 Chris Dobey
Ryan Meikle 6-4 Ian White
Scott Waites 6-3 Dimitri Van den Bergh
Kevin Doets 6-3 Peter Jacques
Florian Hempel 6-5 Adrian Lewis
Andy Hamilton 6-3 Devon Petersen
Michael Smith 6-5 Michael Rasztovits
Joe Murnan 6-4 Peter Hudson
Maik Kuivenhoven 6-3 Raymond van Barneveld
Gary Blades 6-3 Jack Main
Luke Humphries 6-1 Eddie Lovely
Madars Razma 6-3 Alan Soutar
Danny Noppert 6-5 William O’Connor
Ricky Evans 6-5 Steve West
Michael van Gerwen 6-5 Mark McGeeney
David Evans 6-1 Wayne Jones
Ryan Joyce 6-3 John Michael
Ritchie Edhouse 6-4 Krzysztof Kciuk
Ryan Murray 6-5 James Wade
Max Hopp 6-4 Gary Anderson
Steve Brown 6-3 Dave Chisnall
Kim Huybrechts 6-3 Carl Wilkinson

Second Round
Brett Claydon 6-2 Joe Cullen
Karel Sedlacek 6-3 Alan Tabern
Jeff Smith 6-5 Keane Barry
Ross Smith 6-1 Jason Heaver
Damon Heta 6-3 Boris Koltsov
Daryl Gurney 6-3 William Borland
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-2 Jeffrey De Zwaan
Mensur Suljovic 6-5 Ron Meulenkamp
Gavin Carlin 6-1 Peter Wright
Martin Schindler 6-4 Martin Thomas
Rob Cross 6-2 Kai Fan Leung
Jim McEwan 6-5 Geert Nentjes
Brendan Dolan 6-2 Rusty-Jake Rodriguez
Geert De Vos 6-5 Josh Payne
Callan Rydz 6-5 Lisa Ashton
Vincent van der Voort 6-4 Ciaran Teehan
Jose de Sousa 6-2 Aaron Beeney
Scott Mitchell 6-5 Jermaine Wattimena
Gabriel Clemens 6-2 Bradley Brooks
Nathan Aspinall 6-3 Lewis Williams
Danny Baggish 6-5 Jesus Noguera
Andrew Gilding 6-2 Ryan Meikle
Scott Waites 6-3 Kevin Doets
Florian Hempel 6-4 Andy Hamilton
Michael Smith 6-3 Joe Murnan
Maik Kuivenhoven 6-2 Gary Blades
Madars Razma 6-5 Luke Humphries – *Razma hits a nine-darter*
Ricky Evans 6-5 Danny Noppert
Michael van Gerwen 6-1 David Evans
Ryan Joyce 6-3 Ritchie Edhouse
Max Hopp 6-3 Ryan Murray
Kim Huybrechts 6-2 Steve Brown
Losers: £500

Last 32
Karel Sedlacek 6-5 Brett Claydon
Ross Smith 6-5 Jeff Smith
Damon Heta 6-4 Daryl Gurney
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-3 Mensur Suljovic
Martin Schindler 6-5 Gavin Carlin
Rob Cross 6-4 Jim McEwan
Brendan Dolan 6-1 Geert De Vos
Vincent van der Voort 6-5 Callan Rydz
Jose de Sousa 6-5 Scott Mitchell
Nathan Aspinall 6-1 Gabriel Clemens
Danny Baggish 6-2 Andrew Gilding
Florian Hempel 6-1 Scott Waites
Michael Smith 6-1 Maik Kuivenhoven
Ricky Evans 6-2 Madars Razma
Michael van Gerwen 6-5 Ryan Joyce
Kim Huybrechts 6-0 Max Hopp
Losers: £1,000

Last 16
Ross Smith 6-2 Karel Sedlacek
Damon Heta 6-3 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Rob Cross 6-4 Martin Schindler
Brendan Dolan 6-4 Vincent van der Voort
Nathan Aspinall 6-5 Jose de Sousa
Florian Hempel 6-5 Danny Baggish
Michael Smith 6-5 Ricky Evans
Kim Huybrechts 6-2 Michael van Gerwen
Losers: £1,500

Ross Smith 6-5 Damon Heta
Rob Cross 6-4 Brendan Dolan
Florian Hempel 6-5 Nathan Aspinall
Michael Smith 6-3 Kim Huybrechts
Losers: £2,250

Ross Smith 7-6 Rob Cross
Michael Smith 7-3 Florian Hempel
Losers: £3,000

Michael Smith 8-6 Ross Smith
Winner: £10,000
Runner-up: £6,000

Latest Darts Offers

  • Bet £10 and get £50 in Free Darts Bets
  • Bet £10 on World Championship winner and get £2 Free Bet for every match they win
  • Watch all Modus Live League matches streamed here
  • Get up to £100 in Bet Credits when you join