Left arrow

PDC Super Series 4 Day Two: Players Championship 14 Draw and Live Scores

Right arrow

PDC Super Series 4 Day Three: Players Championship 15 Draw and Live Scores

De Sousa doubles his title tally for 2021 at Players Championship 14

Jamie Shaw in PDC Super Series 15 Jun 2021
Jose De Sousa celebrates (Photo by Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

Jose De Sousa secured his second title of 2021 at Players Championship 14 with an 8-6 win over Michael van Gerwen in the final.

The Portuguese star followed up his Players Championship 9 triumph in April by claiming a further £10,000 title with a superb display in the second of four days at Super Series 4 in Milton Keynes.

De Sousa’s success also saw him extend Van Gerwen’s wait a first title of the season as he held firm in a thrilling final.

Van Gerwen led 3-2 in the decider but De Sousa surged clear  with three straight legs to take an advantage he would not relinquish.

De Sousa had taken out 120 early in the contest, with Van Gerwen’s 95 finish which featured two double 19s bettered by a sensational 170 checkout in leg nine and combinations of 100 and 112 to keep his hopes alive at 7-6 behind.

The Dutchman also left 24 in his bid to force a deciding leg, but De Sousa held his nerve with a 108 finish on tops to secure the title.

“I’m very happy to win today,” said De Sousa. “It is an honour to play against a player like Michael. He always tries to make the best game.

“I’ve shown to the fans and everybody involved in darts that I have the darts to play with these players. For me, it’s really amazing what I’m doing in the PDC, unbelievable.”

De Sousa had averaged an incredible 127 in his First Round win on Monday and produced a further four ton-plus averages 24 hours later on his way to glory.

After registering early wins over David Evans and Jamie Hughes, De Sousa came from 5-4 down to defeat Rob Cross and then overcame World Matchplay champion Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-1 with a 105.5 average.

A see-saw Semi-Final saw him defeat Gabriel Clemens 7-5, with the German ace coming from 4-0 down to lead 5-4 – landing three successive 13-darters in the process – before the Portuguese regained his range to close out the win.

Van Gerwen’s route to the final was less problematic as the three-time World Champion posted 106 averages against Rusty-Jake Rodriguez in Round Two and in a 7-2 Semi-Final win over Gary Anderson.

He also whitewashed Sean Fisher and defeated Luke Humphries, Chris Dobey and Ted Evetts on his way to the final, but saw his bid to claim a first title since last November’s Players Championship Finals fall short.

Anderson enjoyed his best run of 2021 so far as he reached the Semi-Finals, seeing off Monday’s winner Joe Cullen with a 106 average in the Quarter-Finals.

Clemens was a ProTour semi-finalist for a third time this year following his run in the second of four Players Championship events this week.

World Champion Gerwyn Price exited in the first round to Luke Woodhouse, while world number two Peter Wright was a second round casualty at the hands of Josh Payne.

Tuesday’s event also featured two nine-darters, as Jim McEwan and Geert Nentjes achieved perfection in their first round ties with Raymond van Barneveld and Kirk Shepherd respectively.

Nathan Aspinall has been withdrawn from the remaining events at Super Series 4 after testing positive for Covid-19, while Keane Barry has also been withdrawn after coming into close contact with Aspinall on Monday.


Players Championship 14 Results

Tuesday June 15

First Round
William O’Connor 6-3 Kevin Doets
Steve West 6-3 Ryan Searle
Niels Zonneveld 6-5 Jason Lowe
Scott Mitchell 6-2 Daryl Gurney
Eddie Lovely 6-4 Berry van Peer
Dave Chisnall 6-4 Matthew Edgar
Jelle Klaasen 6-5 Bradley Brooks
James Wade 6-2 Boris Koltsov
Mike De Decker 6-5 Jake Jones
Mervyn King 6-2 Mark McGeeney
Darius Labanauskas 6-4 Keegan Brown
Gary Blades 6-3 Devon Petersen
Alan Tabern 6-5 Mickey Mansell
Steve Beaton 6-3 Martijn Kleermaker
Gary Anderson 6-4 Jeffrey De Zwaan
Michael van Gerwen 6-0 Sean Fisher
Rusty-Jake Rodriguez 6-1 Maik Kuivenhoven
Luke Humphries 6-2 José Justicia
Krzysztof Kciuk 6-1 Danny Baggish
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-5 Stephen Bunting
Rowby-John Rodriguez 6-3 Karel Sedlacek
Andy Boulton 6-3 Jermaine Wattimena
Chris Dobey 6-4 Ricky Evans
Michael Smith 6-1 Ryan Murray
Adrian Lewis 6-2 Alan Soutar
Derk Telnekes 6-3 Glen Durrant
Ted Evetts 6-2 Peter Hudson
Damon Heta 6-5 Martin Atkins
Ron Meulenkamp 6-2 Matt Jackson
Ross Smith 6-2 Jason Heaver
Geert Nentjes 6-0 Kirk Shepherd – *Nentjes hits a nine-darter*
David Evans 6-3 Kai Fan Leung
Jamie Hughes 6-1 Brett Claydon
Joe Murnan 6-4 Martin Schindler
Ryan Meikle 6-5 Ian White
Lisa Ashton 6-5 Steve Lennon
Rob Cross 6-0 Boris Krcmar
Gordon Mathers 6-3 John Brown
Jonny Clayton 6-3 Jon Worsley
Michael Rasztovits 6-2 Andy Hamilton
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-0 James Wilson
Raymond van Barneveld 6-5 Jim McEwan – *McEwan hits a nine-darter*
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-1 Lorenzo Pronk
Darren Webster 6-2 John Michael
Vincent van der Voort 6-5 Peter Jacques
William Borland 6-3 Geert De Vos
Luke Woodhouse 6-4 Gerwyn Price
Chas Barstow 6-3 Aaron Beeney
Ryan Joyce 6-0 John Henderson
Simon Whitlock 6- 1 Lewis Williams
Brendan Dolan 6-3 Steve Brown
Jeff Smith 6-1 Ryan De Vreede
Gabriel Clemens 6-2 Jesus Noguera
Justin Pipe 6-2 Martin Thomas
Peter Wright 6-4 Jack Main
Josh Payne 6-2 Ciaran Teehan
Kevin McDine 6-5 Madars Razma
Kim Huybrechts 6-3 Nick Kenny
Andrew Gilding 6-4 Danny Noppert
Ritchie Edhouse 6-3 Scott Waites
Callan Rydz 6-3 Wayne Jones
Martin Lukeman 6-1 Luc Peters

Second Round
Joe Cullen 6-2 William O’Connor
Steve West 6-2 Niels Zonneveld
Scott Mitchell 6-1 Eddie Lovely
Dave Chisnall 6-1 Jelle Klaasen
James Wade 6-4 Mike De Decker
Mervyn King 6-0 Darius Labanauskas
Gary Blades 6-1 Alan Tabern
Gary Anderson 6-5 Steve Beaton
Michael van Gerwen 6-3 Rusty-Jake Rodriguez
Luke Humphries 6-3 Krzysztof Kciuk
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-2 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Chris Dobey 6-1 Andy Boulton
Adrian Lewis 6-4 Michael Smith
Ted Evetts 6-4 Derk Telnekes
Damon Heta 6-4 Ron Meulenkamp
Ross Smith 6-5 Geert Nentjes
José de Sousa 6-2 David Evans
Jamie Hughes 6-2 Joe Murnan
Ryan Meikle 6-4 Lisa Ashton
Rob Cross 6-2 Gordon Mathers
Jonny Clayton 6-3 Michael Rasztovits
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-1 Raymond van Barneveld
Darren Webster 6-5 Krzysztof Ratajski
Vincent van der Voort 6-4 William Borland
Luke Woodhouse 6-5 Chas Barstow
Simon Whitlock 6-5 Ryan Joyce
Jeff Smith 6-2 Brendan Dolan
Gabriel Clemens 6-0 Justin Pipe
Josh Payne 6-3 Peter Wright
Kim Huybrechts 6-2 Kevin McDine
Ritchie Edhouse 6-4 Andrew Gilding
Martin Lukeman 6-4 Callan Rydz
Losers: £500

Last 32
Joe Cullen 6-3 Steve West
Scott Mitchell 6-2 Dave Chisnall
Mervyn King 6-1 James Wade
Gary Anderson 6-1 Gary Blades
Michael van Gerwen 6-3 Luke Humphries
Chris Dobey 6-5 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Ted Evetts 6-5 Adrian Lewis
Ross Smith 6-3 Damon Heta
José de Sousa 6-1 Jamie Hughes
Rob Cross 6-2 Ryan Meikle
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-2 Jonny Clayton
Darren Webster 6-4 Vincent van der Voort
Luke Woodhouse 6-5 Simon Whitlock
Gabriel Clemens 6-5 Jeff Smith
Josh Payne 6-5 Kim Huybrechts
Ritchie Edhouse 6-4 Martin Lukeman
Losers: £1,000

Last 16
Joe Cullen 6-4 Scott Mitchell
Gary Anderson 6-0 Mervyn King
Michael van Gerwen 6-3 Chris Dobey
Ted Evetts 6-5 Ross Smith
José de Sousa 6-5 Rob Cross
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-1 Darren Webster
Gabriel Clemens 6-2 Luke Woodhouse
Ritchie Edhouse 6-1 Josh Payne
Losers: £1,500

Gary Anderson 6-4 Joe Cullen
Michael van Gerwen 6-4 Ted Evetts
José de Sousa 6-1 Dimitri Van den Bergh
Gabriel Clemens 6-4 Ritchie Edhouse
Losers: £2,250

Michael van Gerwen 7-2 Gary Anderson
José de Sousa 7-5 Gabriel Clemens
Losers: £3,000

Jose De Sousa 8-6 Michael van Gerwen
Winner: £10,000
Runner-up: £6,000