Left arrow

PDC Summer Series 2020 Day Three Draw: The First Round line-up for Players Championship 11

Right arrow

PDC Summer Series 2020 Day Four Draw: The First Round line-up for Players Championship 12

Van Gerwen secures PDC Summer Series double in Milton Keynes

Jamie Shaw in PDC Summer Series 10 Jul 2020
Van Gerwen celebrates a second title in the space of three days (Photo by Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

Michael van Gerwen picked up his second PDC Summer Series title of the week, thrashing Jose De Sousa 8-3 in the final in Milton Keynes.

Van Gerwen, who claimed the opening Summer Series title on Wednesday, bounced back from his early exit the following day by sealing another £10,000 title.

The Dutch juggernaut was rarely threatened on a day of dominance at the Marshall Arena and reeled off eight of the last nine legs to deny Portugal’s De Sousa a dream triumph.

“It’s a good result for me,” said Van Gerwen. “I had some really good games and I had to fight hard today, and sometimes that’s good because it gives you a lot of confidence.

“I had a phenomenal game with Chris Dobey, and Jose is a brilliant player who has been in finals before. The 130 and 146 finishes I think won me the game.

“I feel good and I’m comfortable but I still think there’s plenty more in the tank. My goal was to win two titles and I’m doing well and I hope I can do some more damage in the next two days.”

“It’s a nice message to the rest of the field and they all know what I’m capable of.”

The world number one began the day with a 6-2 victory over Alan Tabern before brushing aside Kim Huybrechts 6-1 and Robert Collins 6-2.

His first ton-plus average (107.3) came in a 6-2 success over James Wade in the Last 16, before averaging 106.3 in a thrilling 6-4 Quarter-Final win over Chris Dobey – who also averaged 106.

Van Gerwen then saw off Canada’s Jeff Smith 7-4 in the Semi-Finals, before recovering from 2-0 down to deny De Sousa in the final.

Portugal’s De Sousa began strongly but missed tops for a 117 in the third leg, which proved a key turning point.

Van Gerwen stepped in to finish double eight to get off the mark, and produced checkouts of 130 on the bull and 146 to surge into a 4-2 lead, before winning two more legs to extend the advantage.

De Sousa hit back on tops in leg nine to punish two misses from Van Gerwen, but the Dutchman recovered to take out tops and double 14 in the next two legs to claim the title.

De Sousa was in stunning form in his best run of 2020, winning five of his six games in reaching the final with an averages between 102 and 109.

He saw off Adam Hunt, Aaron Beeney, Danny Noppert – who averaged 109 himself in a high-quality thriller – Gerwyn Price, Stephen Bunting and Daryl Gurney to win through to the final.

Gurney reached his second Semi-Final of 2020 in an impressive run, while Smith followed up his run to the final of Players Championship One in February by reaching the last four.

Runs to the Quarter-Finals for Bunting and Dobey improved their chances of qualifying for next weekend’s Betfred World Matchplay, although they still have work to do over the next two days in Milton Keynes if they are to force their way into the 32-player field.

Saturday sees the 128 players reassembled for Players Championship 12, the fourth of the five PDC Summer Series events this week.


Players Championship 11 Results

Friday July 10

First Round
Gerwyn Price 6-0 Luke Humphries
Martin Atkins 6-5 Nick Kenny
Ryan Searle 6-2 Jelle Klaasen
Ron Meulenkamp 6-5 Christian Bunse
Danny Noppert 6-1 Richard North
Vincent Van der Meer 6-5 Carl Wilkinson
Jose De Sousa 6-1 Adam Hunt
Aaron Beeney 6-5 Scott Waites
Joe Cullen 6-4 William Borland
Peter Jacques 6-4 Adrian Gray
Stephen Bunting 6-4 Jamie Hughes
Harald Leitinger 6-2 Max Hopp
Dave Chisnall 6-3 Arjan Konterman
Rowby-John Rodriguez 6-4 Callan Rydz
Ryan Murray 6-5 Gary Anderson
James Wilson 6-1 Conan Whitehead
Andy Hamilton 6-5 Mensur Suljovic
Scott Mitchell 6-2 Robert Thornton
Kirk Shepherd 6-4 Keegan Brown
Ryan Meikle 6-2 Darius Labanauskas
Daryl Gurney 6-1 Derk Telnekes
Wayne Jones 6-1 Graham Usher
Steve Lennon 6-1 Gabriel Clemens
Steve Brown 6-2 Jan Dekker
Ian White 6-1 Madars Razma
Krzysztof Kciuk 6-5 Andy Boulton
Vincent van der Voort 6-2 Geert Nentjes
Luke Woodhouse 6-1 Simon Whitlock
Harry Ward 6-5 Brendan Dolan
Matthew Edgar 6-0 Ciaran Teehan
Jonny Clayton 6-0 Josh Payne
Kai Fan Leung 6-1 Steve West
Peter Wright 6-3 Matt Clark
Mark McGeeney 6-3 Jitse Van der Wal
Ricky Evans 6-5 Niels Zonneveld
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-1 Darren Penhall
Michael Smith 6-3 Mervyn King
Scott Baker 6-3 John Henderson
Jermaine Wattimena 6-0 Nathan Derry
Cameron Menzies 6-4 William O’Connor
Nathan Aspinall 6-2 Jamie Lewis
Nathan Rafferty 6-5 Boris Krcmar
Jeff Smith 6-4 Justin Pipe
Gary Blades 6-4 David Pallett
Gavin Carlin 6-5 Glen Durrant
Mike De Decker 6-4 Jason Lowe
Devon Petersen 6-3 Jeffrey De Zwaan
Karel Sedlacek 6-2 Ryan Hogarth
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-1 Joe Murnan
Andrew Gilding 6-3 Matthew Dennant
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-0 Barrie Bates
Reece Robinson 6-1 Ted Evetts
Mickey Mansell 6-5 Rob Cross
Martijn Kleermaker 6-4 Mike van Duivenbode
Chris Dobey 6-3 Adrian Lewis
Bradley Brooks 6-3 Maik Kuivenhoven
Michael van Gerwen 6-2 Alan Tabern
Kim Huybrechts 6-4 Jonathan Worsley
Ross Smith 6-1 Steve Beaton
Robert Collins 6-2 James Hubbard
James Wade 6-3 Michael Barnard
Benito van de Pas 6-3 Lisa Ashton
Darren Webster 6-5 Ryan Joyce
Martin Schindler 6-4 Simon Stevenson

Second Round
Gerwyn Price 6-0 Martin Atkins
Ryan Searle 6-3 Ron Meulenkamp
Danny Noppert 6-3 Vincent Van der Meer
Jose De Sousa 6-2 Aaron Beeney
Joe Cullen 6-1 Peter Jacques
Stephen Bunting 6-1 Harald Leitinger
Rowby-John Rodriguez 6-5 Dave Chisnall
Ryan Murray 6-4 James Wilson
Scott Mitchell 6-5 Andy Hamilton
Ryan Meikle 6-2 Kirk Shepherd
Daryl Gurney 6-4 Wayne Jones
Steve Brown 6-4 Steve Lennon
Ian White 6-1 Krzysztof Kciuk
Vincent van der Voort 6-1 Luke Woodhouse
Matthew Edgar 6-5 Harry Ward
Jonny Clayton 6-4 Kai Fan Leung
Peter Wright 6-3 Mark McGeeney
Ricky Evans 6-3 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Michael Smith 6-4 Scott Baker
Jermaine Wattimena 6-5 Cameron Menzies
Nathan Aspinall 6-2 Nathan Rafferty
Jeff Smith 6-3 Gary Blades
Mike De Decker 6-2 Gavin Carlin
Devon Petersen 6-4 Karel Sedlacek
Andrew Gilding 6-5 Krzysztof Ratajski
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-1 Reece Robinson
Mickey Mansell 6-5 Martijn Kleermaker
Chris Dobey 6-3 Bradley Brooks
Michael van Gerwen 6-1 Kim Huybrechts
Robert Collins 6-4 Ross Smith
James Wade 6-4 Benito van de Pas
Darren Webster 6-2 Martin Schindler
Losers: £500

Last 32
Gerwyn Price 6-4 Ryan Searle
Jose De Sousa 6-4 Danny Noppert
Stephen Bunting 6-2 Joe Cullen
Ryan Murray 6-3 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Ryan Meikle 6-0 Scott Mitchell
Daryl Gurney 6-0 Steve Brown
Ian White 6-3 Vincent van der Voort
Jonny Clayton 6-2 Matthew Edgar
Peter Wright 6-1 Ricky Evans
Jermaine Wattimena 6-5 Michael Smith
Jeff Smith 6-3 Nathan Aspinall
Mike De Decker 6-2 Devon Petersen
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-2 Andrew Gilding
Chris Dobey 6-0 Mickey Mansell
Michael van Gerwen 6-2 Robert Collins
James Wade 6-2 Darren Webster
Losers: £1,000

Last 16
Jose De Sousa 6-3 Gerwyn Price
Stephen Bunting 6-3 Ryan Murray
Daryl Gurney 6-1 Ryan Meikle
Ian White 6-2 Jonny Clayton
Peter Wright 6-4 Jermaine Wattimena
Jeff Smith 6-1 Mike De Decker
Chris Dobey 6-4 Dimitri Van den Bergh
Michael van Gerwen 6-2 James Wade
Losers: £1,500

Jose De Sousa 6-2 Stephen Bunting
Daryl Gurney 6-0 Ian White
Jeff Smith 6-3 Peter Wright
Michael van Gerwen 6-4 Chris Dobey
Losers: £2,250

Jose De Sousa 7-3 Daryl Gurney
Michael van Gerwen 7-4 Jeff Smith
Losers: £3,000

Michael van Gerwen 8-3 Jose De Sousa
Winner: £10,000
Runner-up: £6,000