Left arrow

PDC Autumn Series 2020 Day Three Draw: The First Round line-up for Players Championship 16

Right arrow

PDC Autumn Series 2020 Day Four Draw: The First Round line-up for Players Championship 17

Van Gerwen returns to winning ways in the PDC Autumn Series

Jamie Shaw in PDC Autumn Series 14 Sep 2020
Van Gerwen claims his fourth title of the season (Photo by Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

Michael van Gerwen returned to the winner’s enclosure on Day Three of the PDC Autumn Series in Niederhausen, thrashing Mensur Suljovic 8-1 in the final on Monday.

The world number one had failed to qualify for the Premier League play-offs less than a fortnight ago and was beaten by both eventual champions in the opening two days of the Autumn Series.

However, he bounced back emphatically at the third time of asking, dropping just 13 legs en route to claiming his fourth ranking title of the season.

Van Gerwen recorded four consecutive ton-plus averages in his run to the final before powering past Suljovic to seal the £10,000 top prize.

“You have to play your A-game to win tournaments like this,” said Van Gerwen.

“I had some tough games today. I played Damon Heta again after he beat me yesterday.

“Apart from yesterday, the last few days I have felt a lot more comfortable than I did before.

“Of course it was nice to beat Glen Durrant for first time. He’s a phenomenal player but I should’ve beaten him last time.

“There’s always pressure on my back. I didn’t perform how I can in the Premier League but that’s how darts goes sometimes.

“I’m human but I will come back stronger, everyone knows that and I believe in my own ability.”

The world number one began the day with a 6-4 victory over former world finalist Andy Hamilton, before recording his first of four ton-plus averages in a 6-2 defeat of Reece Robinson.

Whitewash wins over fellow Dutchman Dirk van Duijvenbode and his Day Two conqueror Damon Heta were sandwiched either side of a 6-2 victory over Glen Durrant, his first against the Premier League table-topper.

A 7-4 triumph over Welshman Nick Kenny saw him progress to the final where he blew away Mensur Suljovic 8-1 with checkouts of 96 and 113 in the process.

Suljovic’s sole contribution to the scoreline came courtesy of a spectacular 170 checkout in the fourth leg.

The Austrian had defeated the likes of Jeffrey De Zwaan, Daryl Gurney, Luke Humphries and Ian White on his way to reaching the final.

Kenny, a Tour Card winner at Q School in January, reached his first PDC Semi-Final, while Australia’s Heta backed up his Day Two title win with a run to the Last Eight.


PDC Autumn Series 2020 Day Three Results

Monday September 14

First Round
Peter Wright 6-4 Ryan Meikle
Scott Waites 6-1 Daniel Larsson
Keegan Brown 6-1 Barrie Bates
Kirk Shepherd 6-2 Peter Jacques
Rob Cross 6-4 Adrian Lewis
Max Hopp 6-1 Yordi Meeuwisse
Luke Humphries 6-1 Ryan Joyce
Steffen Siepmann 6-3 Toni Alcinas
Mensur Suljovic 6-5 Marko Kantele
Jan Dekker 6-2 Scott Baker
Jeffrey De Zwaan 6-3 Harry Ward
Justin Pipe 6-2 Robert Collins
Daryl Gurney 6-1 Maikel Verberk
Niels Zonneveld 6-1 Harald Leitinger
Kim Huybrechts 6-0 Ryan Murray
Brian Raman 6-1 Martijn Kleermaker
Nathan Aspinall 6-0 Karel Sedlacek
Kai Fan Leung 6-3 Scott Mitchell
Madars Razma 6-4 Graham Usher
Ricky Evans 6-2 Jeff Smith
Danny Noppert 6-1 Geert Nentjes
Conan Whitehead 6-1 Gary Blades
Ted Evetts 6-2 Stephen Bunting
Vincent van der Voort 6-2 Mark McGeeney
Ian White 6-0 Nathan Derry
Mike De Decker 6-3 Darren Webster
Jonny Clayton 6-0 Scott Taylor
William Borland 6-5 Luke Woodhouse
Jose De Sousa 6-1 Robert Thornton
Jelle Klaasen 6-3 Bradley Brooks
Jermaine Wattimena 6-3 David Pallett
Adam Hunt 6-4 Carl Wilkinson
Gerwyn Price 6-5 Andrew Gilding
Ron Meulenkamp 6-5 Joe Murnan
Steve Beaton 6-5 John Henderson
Ross Smith 6-1 Jamie Lewis
James Wilson 6-5 Brendan Dolan
Gavin Carlin 6-4 Krzysztof Kciuk
Joe Cullen 6-2 Steve Lennon
Matthew Edgar 6-5 Chris Dobey
James Wade 6-3 Jitse Van der Wal
Josh Payne 6-4 Mickey Mansell
Nick Kenny 6-5 Devon Petersen
Simon Whitlock 6-5 Martin Schindler
Michael Smith 6-5 Justin Hood
Boris Krcmar 6-3 Matt Clark
Lisa Ashton 6-3 Jamie Hughes
Alan Tabern 6-4 Jesus Noguera
Damon Heta 6-5 Krzysztof Ratajski
Rowby-John Rodriguez 6-0 Derk Telnekes
Mervyn King 6-1 Vincent Van der Meer
William O’Connor 6-2 Adrian Gray
Dave Chisnall 6-3 Steve Brown
Darius Labanauskas 6-3 Benito van de Pas
Callan Rydz 6-3 Gabriel Clemens
Aaron Beeney 6-3 Christian Bunse
Michael van Gerwen 6-4 Andy Hamilton
Reece Robinson 6-1 Wayne Jones
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-5 Maik Kuivenhoven
Andy Boulton 6-3 Jason Lowe
Glen Durrant 6-2 Ryan Hogarth
Arjan Konterman 6-5 Richard North
Ryan Searle 6-2 Dimitri Van den Bergh
John Michael 6-2 Steve West

Second Round
Peter Wright 6-1 Scott Waites
Keegan Brown 6-2 Kirk Shepherd
Rob Cross 6-2 Max Hopp
Luke Humphries 6-1 Steffen Siepmann
Mensur Suljovic 6-2 Jan Dekker
Jeffrey De Zwaan 6-5 Justin Pipe
Daryl Gurney 6-4 Niels Zonneveld
Kim Huybrechts 6-3 Brian Raman
Nathan Aspinall 6-1 Kai Fan Leung
Ricky Evans 6-3 Madars Razma
Danny Noppert 6-5 Conan Whitehead
Vincent van der Voort 6-3 Ted Evetts
Ian White 6-5 Mike De Decker
William Borland 6-3 Jonny Clayton
Jose De Sousa 6-3 Jelle Klaasen
Jermaine Wattimena 6-3 Adam Hunt
Gerwyn Price 6-1 Ron Meulenkamp
Ross Smith 6-4 Steve Beaton
Gavin Carlin 6-4 James Wilson
Joe Cullen 6-2 Matthew Edgar
James Wade 6-3 Josh Payne
Nick Kenny 6-3 Simon Whitlock
Boris Krcmar 6-5 Michael Smith
Lisa Ashton 6-2 Alan Tabern
Damon Heta 6-4 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Mervyn King 6-2 William O’Connor
Dave Chisnall 6-4 Darius Labanauskas
Callan Rydz 6-3 Aaron Beeney
Michael van Gerwen 6-2 Reece Robinson
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-2 Andy Boulton
Glen Durrant 6-1 Arjan Konterman
John Michael 6-2 Ryan Searle
Losers: £500

Last 32
Keegan Brown 6-5 Peter Wright
Luke Humphries 6-3 Rob Cross
Mensur Suljovic 6-5 Jeffrey De Zwaan
Daryl Gurney 6-4 Kim Huybrechts
Nathan Aspinall 6-3 Ricky Evans
Danny Noppert 6-5 Vincent van der Voort
Ian White 6-2 William Borland
Jose De Sousa 6-4 Jermaine Wattimena
Ross Smith 6-4 Gerwyn Price
Joe Cullen 6-0 Gavin Carlin
Nick Kenny 6-5 James Wade
Lisa Ashton 6-5 Boris Krcmar
Damon Heta 6-4 Mervyn King
Dave Chisnall 6-3 Callan Rydz
Michael van Gerwen 6-0 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Glen Durrant 6-3 John Michael
Losers: £1,000

Last 16
Luke Humphries 6-0 Keegan Brown
Mensur Suljovic 6-0 Daryl Gurney
Danny Noppert 6-4 Nathan Aspinall
Ian White 6-3 Jose De Sousa
Ross Smith 6-4 Joe Cullen
Nick Kenny 6-3 Lisa Ashton
Damon Heta 6-4 Dave Chisnall
Michael van Gerwen 6-2 Glen Durrant
Losers: £1,500

Mensur Suljovic 6-3 Luke Humphries
Ian White 6-3 Danny Noppert
Nick Kenny 6-2 Ross Smith
Michael van Gerwen 6-0 Damon Heta
Losers: £2,250

Mensur Suljovic 7-3 Ian White
Michael van Gerwen 7-4 Nick Kenny
Losers: £3,000

Michael van Gerwen 8-1 Mensur Suljovic
Winner: £10,000
Runner-up: £6,000