Left arrow
Qualification criteria confirmed for 2020 Grand Slam of Darts

Gerwyn Price: “I have to put the Grand Slam behind me, this is a new tournament and I have to focus”

Right arrow

Grand Slam of Darts 2020 Draw: Price pitted against Clayton in Group Phase

Qualification criteria confirmed for 2020 Grand Slam of Darts

Jamie Shaw in Grand Slam of Darts 18 Aug 2020
Reigning BDO World Champion Warren returns for a successive Grand Slam appearance (Photo by Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

The qualifying criteria for the 2020 Grand Slam of Darts has been confirmed, with only two BDO players set to feature in November’s competition.

The 32-player, cross-code tournament traditionally features players from both the PDC and BDO systems competing across nine days in Wolverhampton.

However, with the BDO’s commercial arm having recently entered liquidation and with therefore no upcoming major events, there are just two confirmed places for BDO players in the 2020 Grand Slam of Darts.

They have been allocated to reigning Men’s BDO World Champion Wayne Warren and reigning Women’s BDO World Champion Mikuru Suzuki.

They will be joined by a maximum of 22 players, comprised of winners and runners-up from PDC events and highest placed players from the PDC’s Summer, Autumn and Winter Series.

One place will also be determined via the Women’s qualifying event, to be held on October 16.

A further eight places will be on offer at the PDC Tour Card Holder Qualifier on November 6.

The qualification system for the the Grand Slam, which is a fully-ranked PDC event, is set to be reviewed for 2021, including the position of invitations to non-PDC players.

Gerwyn Price is the reigning and back-to-back Grand Slam champion and will be joined in this year’s line-up by the likes of world number one Michael van Gerwen and World Champion Peter Wright.

World Matchplay champion Dimitri van den Bergh and runner-up Gary Anderson, Masters finalist, Michael Smith World Youth Champion Luke Humphries and runner-up Adam Gawlas will also compete.

There are also places for PDC Home Tour winner Nathan Aspinall and James Wade, the highest-placed non-qualified player from the PDC Summer Series Order of Merit.

Further places will be on offer for the finalists of the Premier League, World Series Finals, World Grand Prix, European Championship and World Cup of Darts.

The reserve list, comprised of winners of European Tour and Players Championship events, currently includes Ryan Searle, Krzysztof Ratajski, Ian White and Ryan Joyce.


Grand Slam of Darts 2020 Qualifying Structure

PDC Competitors

Qualifying Players: (invited in the following order up to a maximum of 22 players. Current provisional qualifiers in Bold)
2019/20 PDC World Champion; PETER WRIGHT – 1
2019 Grand Slam Champion; GERWYN PRICE – 2
2020 Premier League Champion;
2020 World Matchplay Champion; DIMITRI VAN DEN BERGH – 3
2020 World Grand Prix Champion;
2019 World Youth Champion; LUKE HUMPHRIES – 4
2020 Masters Champion; (Peter Wright)
2020 UK Open Champion; MICHAEL VAN GERWEN – 5
2020 European Champion;
2019 Players Champion; (Michael van Gerwen)
2020 World Series of Darts Finals Champion;
2020 World Cup winners;
2020 PDC Home Tour Champion: NATHAN ASPINALL – 6
2020 PDC Summer Series OOM Highest-Placed Player: JAMES WADE – 7
2020 PDC Autumn Series OOM Highest-Placed Player:
2020 PDC Winter Series OOM Highest-Placed Player:
2020 PDC Women’s Qualifier:
2019/20 PDC World Championship runner-up; (Michael van Gerwen)
2019 Grand Slam runner-up; (Peter Wright)
2020 Premier League runner-up;
2020 World Matchplay runner-up; GARY ANDERSON – 8
2020 World Grand Prix runner-up;
2019 World Youth Championship runner-up; ADAM GAWLAS – 9
2020 Masters runner-up; MICHAEL SMITH – 10
2020 UK Open runner-up; (Gerwyn Price)
2020 European Championship runner-up;
2019 Players Championship runner-up; (Gerwyn Price)
2020 World Series of Darts Finals runner-up;
2020 World Cup runners-up (2 players with highest individual taking preference if only one spot available);

This list can produce a maximum of 31 players. If it produces more than 22 players, they shall be taken in order as listed above and no further players shall qualify automatically.

If it produces fewer than 22 places then additional places shall be filled from the reserve list in the following order:

2020 Players Championship winners:

Ryan Searle (PC3)
Krzysztof Ratajski (PC4)
Ian White (PC8)
Ryan Joyce (PC10)

BDO Invited Players

Wayne Warren – 2020 BDO Champion
Mikuru Suzuki – 2020 BDO Women’s Champion