Left arrow

Qualification criteria confirmed for 2020 Grand Slam of Darts

Right arrow

Grand Slam of Darts 2020 Draw, Live Scores and Tournament Schedule

Grand Slam of Darts 2020 Draw: Price pitted against Clayton in Group Phase

Jamie Shaw in Grand Slam of Darts 14 Nov 2020
Gerwyn Price is the reigning and back-to-back champion (Photo by Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

The draw for the 2020 Grand Slam of Darts has been confirmed, with defending champion Gerwyn Price situated in Group G alongside Jonny Clayton, Ryan Joyce and Mikuru Suzuki.

The £550,000 major will feature 30 of the PDC’s top stars against two BDO invitees as they compete at the Ricoh Arena in Coventry from November 16-24.

The behind closed doors event initially sees the 32 players split into eight groups, with the top two players from each group advancing to the knock-out phase.

Gerwyn Price has claimed the title in successive years and will launch his quest for a Boylesports Grand Slam hat-trick in a fascinating Group G.

Price will take on his World Cup winning team-mate Jonny Clayton, as well as ProTour event winner Ryan Joyce and reigning Women’s World Champion Mikuru Suzuki.

A contender for the ‘group of death’ sees World Champion Peter Wright joined in Group E by Ian White, Devon Petersen and World Grand Prix finalist Dirk van Duijvenbode.

Group C sees multiple major finalist Michael Smith come up against Polish ace Krzysztof Ratajski, Portuguese star Jose De Sousa and four-time Women’s World Champion Lisa Ashton.

World number one and three-time Grand Slam champion Michael van Gerwen starts out in Group A alongside Winter Series event winner Joe Cullen, German number one Gabriel Clemens and debutant qualifier Adam Hunt.

Two-time Grand Slam finalist Gary Anderson is joined in Group B by former European Champion Simon Whitlock and debutants Ryan Searle and Adam Gawlas – last year’s World Youth Championship runner-up.

Former World Champion Rob Cross is housed in Group D alongside 2014 finalist Dave Chisnall, 2019 World Youth Champion Luke Humphries and returning qualifier Justin Pipe.

Group F sees two-time Grand Slam finalist James Wade up against Premier League champion Glen Durrant, Winter Series Order of Merit qualifier Jermaine Wattimena and Autumn Series Order of Merit qualifier Damon Heta.

Premier League runner-up Nathan Aspinall is joined in Group H by World Matchplay champion Dimitri van den Bergh, qualifier Ricky Evans and 2020 BDO World Champion Wayne Warren.

The full schedule of play will be confirmed in due course.


Boylesports Grand Slam of Darts 2020 Draw

Group A
Michael van Gerwen
Joe Cullen
Gabriel Clemens
Adam Hunt

Group B
Gary Anderson
Simon Whitlock
Ryan Searle
Adam Gawlas

Group C
Michael Smith
Krzysztof Ratajski
Jose De Sousa
Lisa Ashton

Group D
Rob Cross
Dave Chisnall
Luke Humphries
Justin Pipe

Group E
Peter Wright
Ian White
Devon Petersen
Dirk van Duijvenbode

Group F
James Wade
Glen Durrant
Jermaine Wattimena
Damon Heta

Group G
Gerwyn Price
Jonny Clayton
Ryan Joyce
Mikuru Suzuki

Group H
Nathan Aspinall
Dimitri van den Bergh
Ricky Evans
Wayne Warren