Left arrow

Peter Wright withdraws from German Darts Championship ahead of Quarter-Final with MVG

Right arrow

German Darts Grand Prix 2022 | Draw, Live Scores and Schedule of Play

Van Gerwen returns to European Tour winner’s circle with German Darts Championship triumph

Jamie Shaw in European Tour 13 Mar 2022
Van Gerwen claims his first ranking title of the season (Photo by Kais Bodensieck/PDC Europe)

Michael van Gerwen ended a three-year wait for European Tour silverware by claiming the 2022 German Darts Championship title with victory over Rob Cross in the final.

Van Gerwen followed up back-to-back Premier League triumphs in Exeter and Brighton with his first ranking title of 2022 in style in Hildesheim on Sunday.

The Dutchman’s most recent Euro Tour success had come in Graz in 2019, but he ended the drought by defeating Cross 8-5 in a high quality final to scoop the £25,000 title.

Cross had opened up leads of 2-0 and 4-1, but Van Gerwen hit back with legs of 12, 13 and 12 darts to level up.

Cross took out 121 to move back ahead at 5-4 but Van Gerwen levelled again and capitalised on a miss from ‘Voltage’ at tops to break for a 6-5 lead, before legs of 11 and 14 darts completed the comeback and sealed the title.

“I’ve been working for this for a really long time and it means a lot to me,” said Van Gerwen. “To win a [European Tour] tournament again feels absolutely phenomenal.

“Everyone knows I love to play tournaments in Germany – the crowds have been absolutely fantastic, and it means the world.

“I keep fighting and I never give up. I’m not done yet!”

The victory sees Van Gerwen climb back up to third in the PDC Order of Merit, just seven days after being leapfrogged by Michael Smith and James Wade.

He survived three missed match darts from Dimitri Van den Bergh in the deciding leg of their dramatic Semi-Final as he pinned double 18 for 13-darter.

MVG had benefitted from a bye in the Quarter-Finals following the withdrawal of Peter Wright due to a back problem following the world number one’s Third Round win over Krzysztof Ratajski earlier in the day.

Van Gerwen had seen off Martin Lukeman 6-4 in the Last 16 to follow up Saturday’s opening victory over Spain’s Jose Justicia.

Cross had to produce a rousing comeback from 4-2 down in his Quarter-Final with Karel Sedlacek, reeling off four straight legs to end the Czech qualifier’s dream run.

He subsequently averaged 100 in his 7-4 Semi-Final defeat of Daryl Gurney to follow up an earlier 99 average in a 6-3 Third Round win over Dirk van Duijvenbode.

The reigning European Championship winner fell short for the fifth time in a European Tour final, and admitted: “Michael played great and I missed my chances.

“He took them and that’s what he used to do. I’m happy for him that he got over the line; he’s winning and working hard and I’ve been in the same boat.

“It’s nice to see him back a little bit, and hopefully I can keep improving for the future.”

Premier League pair Michael Smith and Jonny Clayton joined Sedlacek in losing out at the Quarter-Final stage, while Van den Bergh’s wait to reach a European Tour final continues following his narrow Semi-Final defeat.

Smith had averaged above 108 in a 6-1 rout of Dave Chisnall in the Last 16, while Sedlacek finished six doubles from 11 attempts in his 6-4 defeat of top seed Jose de Sousa to reach his first European Tour Quarter-Final for three years.

Bet £10 Get £50 in bonuses on the Cheltenham Festival when you join 888Sport (18+ | T&Cs Apply | Be Gamble Aware)

German Darts Championship 2022 – Day Three Results

Sunday March 13

Third Round

Afternoon Session
Michael van Gerwen 6-4 Martin Lukeman
Peter Wright 6-4 Krzysztof Ratajski
Ryan Searle 1-6 Dimitri Van den Bergh
Michael Smith 6-1 Dave Chisnall
Joe Cullen 3-6 Daryl Gurney
Jonny Clayton 6-4 Mensur Suljovic
Rob Cross 6-3 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Jose de Sousa 4-6 Karel Sedlacek

Evening Session

Michael van Gerwen w/o Peter Wright (withdrawn through injury)
Michael Smith 3-6 Dimitri van den Bergh
Jonny Clayton 5-6 Daryl Gurney
Karel Sedlacek 4-6 Rob Cross

Michael van Gerwen 7-6 Dimitri van den Bergh
Rob Cross 7-4 Daryl Gurney

Michael van Gerwen 8-5 Rob Cross

Bet £10 Get £50 in bonuses on the Cheltenham Festival when you join SBK (18+ | T&Cs Apply | Be Gamble Aware)

  • Watch The Masters streamed here
  • Bet £10 and Get £50 in Free Bets when you register
  • Get £40 in Bonuses when you register and stake £10
  • Price Boosts and Specials on all Darts events