Left arrow

Ross Smith storms into Round Two at the International Darts Open as Hopp thrashes Klaasen

Right arrow

Ross Smith dethrones Price at the International Darts Open as White and Cross also crash out

International Darts Open 2020 Day Two preview and order of play: Round Two commences in Riesa

Jamie Shaw in European Tour 24 Oct 2020
Adrian Lewis returns to action (Photo by Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

The Second Round action gets underway at the 2020 International Darts Open in Riesa on Saturday as the 16 seeds start their campaigns.

The International Open is the fourth and final European Tour event of the season, following which the 32-man field for next week’s European Championship will be confirmed.

A host of players remain in contention for places in the European Championship and will look to bolster their qualification hopes by reaching the final day in Riesa.

Jason Lowe currently occupies 33rd position in the qualification tables and would move into the provisional field if he could overcome Premier League finalist Nathan Aspinall.

Aspinall was narrowly edged out 6-5 by Michael van Gerwen in the Quarter-Finals last week and is out to remain on a collision course with the Dutchman for a rematch at the same stage of proceedings.

Van Gerwen went on to reach the final in Sindelfingen – where he was beaten by a red hot Jose De Sousa – and the world number one launches his latest quest for a first Euro Tour title of the season with a tie against Latvia’s Madars Razma.

De Sousa became the first Portuguese player to triumph on the Euro Tour and will aim to pick up from where he left off last Sunday when he faces home favourite Max Hopp.

Hopp is one of five German hopefuls left standing in the competition, but has seen his German number one spot now taken by his World Cup team-mate Gabriel Clemens.

Clemens comes up against Austrian ace Mensur Suljovic in the evening session, with both safe in the knowledge they have qualified for the European Championship.

Adrian Lewis returns to action after missing the recent World Grand Prix due to a positive Covid test, and he opens up against former World Series Finals runner-up Danny Noppert.

Stephen Bunting was also forced to miss the Grand Prix after a positive Covid test and will look to make up for lost time with a strong run here, starting out against former PDC World finalist Andy Hamilton.

Former European Champion James Wade faces Swedish debutant Andreas Harrysson – who knocked out Benito van de Pas in Round One on Friday.

Reigning European Champion Rob Cross looks to warm up for next week’s title defence in style, and he faces an opening tie against Host Nation qualifier Franz Roetsch – who defeated Brendan Dolan in Round One.

Premier League star Michael Smith faces a tricky opener against German number three Martin Schindler, while two-time major champion Daryl Gurney meets Euro Tour debutant Scott Baker.

Czech Open winner Jamie Hughes kicks off the afternoon session with a closely-matched tie against Steve West, as multiple major finalist Dave Chisnall takes on Dutch left-hander Ron Meulenkamp.

Krzysztof Ratajski looks to avenge last week’s 6-2 defeat to Dutch ace Martijn Kleermaker when the pair face off at the same stage of the competition.

Former European Matchplay champion Joe Cullen opens up against Robert Marijanovic – who whitewashed Jamie Lewis in Round One.

World Grand Prix and World Series Finals winner Gerwyn Price looks to avoid a potential banana skin at the hands of Ross Smith – who averaged 112.8 in a blistering First Round win over Mario Vandenbogaerde.

Ian White, a multiple European Tour winner, faces Spain’s Jesus Noguera – who whitewashed European Grand Prix quarter-finalist Maik Kuivenhoven in his opener.

The action gets underway from 12pm BST, with Second Round matches to be contested over the best of 11 legs.


International Darts Open 2020 Schedule

Saturday October 24

Second Round

Afternoon Session (12pm-4pm)
Jamie Hughes v Steve West
Adrian Lewis v Danny Noppert
Michael Smith v Martin Schindler
Joe Cullen v Robert Marijanovic
Daryl Gurney v Scott Baker
Dave Chisnall v Ron Meulenkamp
James Wade v Andreas Harrysson
Rob Cross v Franz Roetsch

Evening Session (6pm-10pm)
Krzysztof Ratajski v Martijn Kleermaker
Stephen Bunting v Andy Hamilton
Nathan Aspinall v Jason Lowe
Mensur Suljovic v Gabriel Clemens
Michael van Gerwen v Madars Razma
Gerwyn Price v Ross Smith
Jose De Sousa v Max Hopp
Ian White v Jesus Noguera