Left arrow

International Darts Open 2020 Day Two preview and order of play: Round Two commences in Riesa

Right arrow

International Darts Open 2020 Day Three preview and order of play: Euro Tour concludes in Riesa

Ross Smith dethrones Price at the International Darts Open as White and Cross also crash out

Jamie Shaw in European Tour 24 Oct 2020
Ross Smith celebrates (Photo by PDC Europe)

Ross Smith continued his rampant run at the 2020 International Darts Open by dethroning defending champion Gerwyn Price, as Ian White and Rob Cross also suffered Second Round exits.

Day Two of the season’s final European Tour event in Riesa saw seven seeded players bite the dust as the race to reach next week’s European Championship took another twist.

Smith, who averaged 112.8 in a blistering 6-1 win over Mario Vandenbogaerde on Friday, continued his impressive form as he recovered from 4-0 down to edge out the world number two in a deciding leg.

Smith looked to be heading for home after losing the opening four legs, with Price taking out 130 and 90 along the way, but hit back with finishes of 68 and 113 in restoring parity.

Price stopped the rot with a 13-darter to regain the lead, but hit a 180 and double eight in forcing a decider, before adding another maximum en route to a 14-darter to win it in style.

Smith will now face home favourite Max Hopp in Sunday’s Last 16 after the German number one knocked out last week’s European Grand Prix winner Jose de Sousa 6-3 with a classy display.

Hopp, the 2018 German Open champion, averaged 98.7 and landed five 180s and a 148 checkout in dispatching the in-form Portuguese star.

Reigning European Champion Rob Cross was dumped out at the first hurdle by Host Nation qualifier Franz Roetsch – who continued his landmark run with a 6-3 triumph.

Roetsch had defeated Brendan Dolan in Round One and followed that up with the performance of his career as he averaged 103 with 60 per cent on the doubles in overcoming the world number five.

Third seed Ian White also suffered a shock early exit as he went down 6-3 to Spain’s Jesus Noguera.

Noguera punished just 27 per cent on the doubles from the Stoke star as he moved through to the Last 16 of a European Tour event for the first time and bolstered his hopes of World Championship and European Championship qualification.

Daryl Gurney also departed the tournament at the Second Round stage as he lost out 6-3 to debutant Scott Baker.

Baker will now face Danny Noppert on Sunday after the former World Series Finals runner-up overcame the returning Adrian Lewis 6-3 with a clinical 103.4 average.

World number one Michael van Gerwen battled his way past Latvia’s Madars Razma 6-4 despite an average of just 90 as he set up a show-down with Andy Hamilton.

Former world finalist Andy Hamilton moved into the provisional places for the European Championship after surviving three match darts to edge out Stephen Bunting in a tense decider.

Krzysztof Ratajski avenged last week’s defeat to Martijn Kleermaker in Sindelfingen by progressing 6-4 with a solid 99 average.

James Wade recovered from 2-0 down to defeat Swedish debutant Andreas Harrysson 6-3, while Joe Cullen thrashed Robert Marijanovic 6-1 with a 101.2 average.

Michael Smith landed five maximums en route to a 6-2 victory over Martin Schindler, as Dave Chisnall overcame Ron Meulenkamp 6-3 with a 104.4 average and a high checkout of 135.

Mensur Suljovic, who came from 5-0 down to defeat Jamie Hughes 6-5 last weekend, set up a rematch between the pair after a deciding leg success over Gabriel Clemens.

Suljovic produced a timely 11-darter in the decider to get over the line, while Hughes was a 6-4 winner over Steve West in the opening match of the day despite an average of just 84.5

Premier League runner-up Nathan Aspinall held his nerve to edge out Jason Lowe 6-5 and will now face Wade in Round Three for the second consecutive weekend.


International Darts Open 2020 Results

Saturday October 24

Second Round

Afternoon Session
Jamie Hughes 6-4 Steve West
Adrian Lewis 3-6 Danny Noppert
Michael Smith 6-2 Martin Schindler
Joe Cullen 6-1 Robert Marijanovic
Daryl Gurney 3-6 Scott Baker
Dave Chisnall 6-3 Ron Meulenkamp
James Wade 6-3 Andreas Harrysson
Rob Cross 3-6 Franz Roetsch

Evening Session
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-4 Martijn Kleermaker
Stephen Bunting 5-6 Andy Hamilton
Nathan Aspinall 6-5 Jason Lowe
Mensur Suljovic 6-5 Gabriel Clemens
Michael van Gerwen 6-4 Madars Razma
Gerwyn Price 5-6 Ross Smith
Jose De Sousa 3-6 Max Hopp
Ian White 3-6 Jesus Noguera