Left arrow

Brooks hits the jackpot in Hungarian Darts Trophy opener

Right arrow

Barry, Borland, Gawlas and Williams claim seeded scalps at the Hungarian Darts Trophy

Hungarian Darts Trophy 2021 Day Two preview and order of play | Seeds begin their campaigns in Budapest

Jamie Shaw in European Tour 04 Sep 2021
Dirk van Duijvenbode reacts (Photo by Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

The top 16 seeds begin their 2021 PDC European Tour campaigns on Day Two of the Hungarian Darts Trophy.

The opening day of the PDC’s inaugural visit to Budapest saw the qualifiers collide in Round One, with former World Champions Adrian Lewis and Steve Beaton among the notable early casualties, as well as all four Host Nation hopefuls.

Friday’s winners now progress to face one of the top 16 seeds from the ProTour Order of Merit (as of June 28) on Saturday, with another unmissable double session on the cards.

The afternoon’s action is headed by a mouth-watering clash between World Grand Prix finalist Dirk van Duijvenbode and former Challenge Tour event winner Keane Barry – the 19-year-old Irish sensation enjoying a fine start to life on the PDC circuit.

Danny Noppert’s late withdrawal meant Rob Cross was promoted into the seeded places, but faces a tough opener against recent ProTour event winner Ross Smith – who recorded the highest average of the First Round (100.2) in a 6-0 whitewash of Péter Strbik.

William O’Connor was due to face Noppert but subsequently received a bye and will start his campaign against reigning UK Open champion James Wade.

Luke Humphries, who was denied the UK Open title by Wade in the final in March, aims to continue his charge by overcoming ninth seed Devon Petersen – winner of last year’s German Darts Championship.

World Matchplay semi-finalist Krzysztof Ratajski, Euro Tour champion in Gibraltar two years ago, opens up against 19-year-old Welsh talent Lewis Williams.

Bradley Brooks’ reward for his dramatic deciding leg win over Adrian Lewis in Round One is a show-down with Premier League star Nathan Aspinall in what promises to be an explosive encounter.

Mensur Suljovic makes his return to competitive action after a lengthy absence as he faces Scottish youngster William Borland, while multiple PDC title winner Brendan Dolan takes on Scotland’s Alan Soutar – who averaged 97.4 in a 6-1 rout of József Rucska on Friday.

The evening session sees Michael van Gerwen launch his latest quest for a first PDC title of the year with a show-down against two-time major winner Daryl Gurney.

Van Gerwen has dominated the European Tour down the years, picking up a staggering 32 titles, 26 more than his nearest rival Peter Wright but faces tough opener against a fired-up ‘Superchin’ who averaged 99.5 in defeating MVG’s closest friend Vincent van der Voort on Friday.

Michael van Gerwen bids for his first title of the year (Photo by PDC Europe)

World Matchplay champion Peter Wright begins his bid for a seventh Euro Tour crown when he takes on German newcomer Florian Hempel – who came through European Qualifying School earlier this year.

World number one and World Champion Gerwyn Price meets Euro Tour debutant Richard Veenstra – the former Lakeside semi-finalist who knocked out Keegan Brown in Round One.

Grand Slam champion Jose De Sousa aims to get off and running in style by dispatching former ProTour event winner Joe Murnan, while two-time Euro Tour event winner Joe Cullen starts out against Belgian ace Geert de Vos – who saw off Geert Nentjes in his opener.

An all-Aussie clash sees World Cup team-mates Damon Heta and Simon Whitlock go head-to-head, with Whitlock having averaged 98 in a 6-4 success over Darren Webster on Day One.

Premier League champion Jonny Clayton kicks off the night’s action with a tie against former World Youth finalist Adam Gawlas – who saw off Boris Krcmar 6-5 with a 97 average in a high quality opener.

Michael Smith, the third most successful player in Euro Tour history with four titles and a further five final appearances, begins his latest pursuit of silverware with a match against Greek number one John Michael – who knocked out Steve Beaton in a deciding leg with a 99 average on Friday.

Day Two of the Hungarian Trophy gets under way from 12pm BST, with Second Round matches to be contested over the best of 11 legs.


Hungarian Darts Trophy 2021 Day Two Schedule

All times BST (Local time one hour ahead)

Saturday September 4

Second Round

Afternoon Session (12pm-4pm)
Rob Cross v Ross Smith
Krzysztof Ratajski v Lewis Williams
Brendan Dolan v Alan Soutar
James Wade v William O’Connor
Mensur Suljovic v William Borland
Devon Petersen v Luke Humphries
Dirk van Duijvenbode v Keane Barry
Nathan Aspinall v Bradley Brooks

Evening Session (6pm-10pm)
Jonny Clayton v Adam Gawlas
Joe Cullen v Geert De Vos
Damon Heta v Simon Whitlock
Jose de Sousa v Joe Murnan
Michael van Gerwen v Daryl Gurney
Gerwyn Price v Richard Veenstra
Peter Wright v Florian Hempel
Michael Smith v John Michael