Left arrow

Gibraltar Darts Trophy 2022 | Day Two Preview and Order of Play

Right arrow

Gibraltar Darts Trophy 2022 | Day Three Preview and Order of Play

Mensur Suljovic sinks Gerwyn Price at the Gibraltar Darts Trophy as Aspinall completes stunning comeback

Jamie Shaw in European Tour 15 Oct 2022
Mensur Suljovic celebrates (Photo by Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

Mensur Suljovic gained revenge on Gerwyn Price to dispatch the defending Gibraltar Darts Trophy champion, as Nathan Aspinall produced a remarkable comeback to reach the Last 16.

Price had whitewashed Suljovic 8-0 in last year’s final, but the resurgent Austrian avenged that result by subjecting the world number two to a rare early exit on the European Tour.

Price produced checkouts of 110 and 160 in establishing a 3-2 lead, but Suljovic responded superbly with four of the last five legs courtesy of back-to-back 13-darters in the closing stages.

The world number 31 will now meet Gabriel Clemens in Sunday’s Last 16 at the Victoria Stadium, after the German number one thrashed an out of sorts Dimitri van den Bergh 6-1.

It was Aspinall, however, who stole the headlines with an astonishing fightback against Vincent van der Voort, recovering from 5-0 down to stun the Dutchman earlier in the afternoon.

Van der Voort punished an abject start from Aspinall to establish a commanding cushion, but after squandering five match darts for a 6-1 success, the Dutchman began to falter and Aspinall came roaring back.

The World Grand Prix runner-up followed up a 121 finish in leg eight with 14 and 15-darters to restore parity at five apiece, before surviving two more match darts in an extraordinary finale, pinning double four to complete the comeback.

Michael van Gerwen, who defeated Aspinall to claim World Grand Prix glory last weekend, underlined his title credentials with a sparkling display against Steve Beaton, averaging 106 to triumph 6-3 in a high-quality contest.

The three-time Gibraltar Trophy champion fired in three 180s and a 130 finish on the bull to continue his blistering form, as Beaton bowed out despite averaging 102.

World Champion Peter Wright ended home hopes in Gibraltar by reeling off five consecutive legs to close out an emphatic 6-2 win over Host Nation Qualifier Craig Galliano.

Galliano, granted a day off from his work as a police officer, raised the roof with a superb 120 checkout in leg two, but consecutive 14-darters and a 116 combination from Wright midway through the match curtailed the 20-year-old’s hopes of a shock victory.

Top seed Luke Humphries produced a sumptuous display of scoring in his tie against Kenny Neyens, averaging 99, landing five 180s and registering a brace of 11-darters to record a 6-3 win over the Belgian qualifier.

Humphries – competing for the first time since the birth of his first child, Rowan, earlier this week – will now take on Wesley Plaisier, who preserved his European Championship qualification hopes with a 6-3 victory over Belgian Darts Open champion Dave Chisnall.

Plaisier defied a ton-plus average from Chisnall to prevail in a high-quality tussle, taking out a 126 combination in leg six before capping off a clinical display with a fine 101 checkout.

Emerging star Josh Rock continued his dream 2022 campaign with a 6-3 win over former Gibraltar Trophy winner Michael Smith, converting six of his 11 attempts at double to set up a mouth-watering Last 16 tie against Jonny Clayton.

Clayton swept aside Stephen Bunting 6-2 in convincing fashion – kicking off proceedings with a 122 checkout – with Bunting unable to replicate the 105 average he produced in his First Round win over Daryl Gurney.

World Cup winner Damon Heta moved through to Sunday’s Last 16 with a battling 6-4 win over Chris Dobey, and will now renew his rivalry with Masters champion Joe Cullen, who survived a late onslaught from Ritchie Edhouse to prevail by the same scoreline.

Dirk van Duijvenbode survived a scare against Jason Lowe to book a meeting with comeback king Aspinall in round three, while Jose De Sousa will face Van Gerwen on Sunday afternoon, after claiming a 6-3 win over a returning Rowby-John Rodriguez.

Fifth seed Rob Cross defied a late rally from Austrian youngster Rusty-Jake Rodriguez in Saturday’s opener, and his reward is match-up against Ryan Joyce – who battled back from 5-3 adrift to dump out UK Open champion Danny Noppert.

Ryan Searle will take on World Champion Wright in the Last 16 after averaging 98 and conjuring up two ton-plus finishes to end William O’Connor’s European Championship qualification hopes.


18+ | T&Cs apply | Geo restrictions may apply | Be Gamble Aware | #Ad

Gibraltar Darts Trophy 2022 Day Two Results

Saturday October 15

Second Round

Afternoon Session
Rob Cross 6-3 Rusty-Jake Rodriguez
Ryan Searle 6-3 William O’Connor
Dave Chisnall 3-6 Wesley Plaisier
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-5 Jason Lowe
Danny Noppert 5-6 Ryan Joyce
Jose de Sousa 6-3 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Damon Heta 6-4 Chris Dobey
Nathan Aspinall 6-5 Vincent van der Voort

Evening Session
Michael Smith 3-6 Josh Rock
Luke Humphries 6-3 Kenny Neyens
Peter Wright 6-2 Craig Galliano
Jonny Clayton 6-2 Stephen Bunting
Michael van Gerwen 6-3 Steve Beaton
Gerwyn Price 4-6 Mensur Suljovic
Dimitri Van den Bergh 1-6 Gabriel Clemens
Joe Cullen 6-4 Ritchie Edhouse

LATEST DARTS FREE BET OFFERS (18+ | T&Cs apply | Be Gamble Aware)

  • Watch The Masters streamed here
  • Bet £10 and Get £50 in Free Bets when you register
  • Get £40 in Bonuses when you register and stake £10
  • Price Boosts and Specials on all Darts events