Left arrow

Mensur Suljovic sinks Gerwyn Price at the Gibraltar Darts Trophy as Aspinall completes stunning comeback

Right arrow

Michael van Gerwen brands Jose de Sousa “a rookie” following Gibraltar Darts Trophy clash

Gibraltar Darts Trophy 2022 | Day Three Preview and Order of Play

Jamie Shaw in European Tour 16 Oct 2022
Searle and Wright go head-to-head (Photo by PDC)

The final European Tour silverware of the season is up for grabs on Sunday as the last 16 face off for the 2022 Gibraltar Darts Trophy title.

The 13th Euro Tour event of 2022 culminates at the Victoria Stadium, with a £25,000 top prize and two European Championship places on the line.

Following the event, the top 32 players from the European Order of Merit will qualify for the European Championship in Dortmund later in the month.

Five seeded players were sent packing on Saturday, but a host of star names remain in contention for glory in what looks to be the final Euro Tour event to be held in Gibraltar.

Mensur Suljovic avenged his whitewash defeat to Gerwyn Price in last year’s final by dispatching ‘The Ice Man’ 6-4 in Round Two, and the resurgent Austrian now comes up against German number one Gabriel Clemens – who thrashed an out of sorts Dimitri van den Bergh 6-1.

Michael van Gerwen resumes his quest for a fourth Gibraltar Trophy title with a tie against former Grand Slam champion Jose de Sousa.

Fresh from securing a sixth World Grand Prix title last weekend, Van Gerwen averaged 106 in a high quality 6-3 win over Steve Beaton in his opener and is eyeing a fourth Euro Tour crown of the campaign.

De Sousa defeated Rowby-John Rodriguez 6-3 in Round Two and victory over MVG would see him into a fourth consecutive Euro Tour Quarter-Final.

World number one Peter Wright faces a tough test against Ryan Searle in a repeat of last November’s Players Championship Finals final.

Wright prevailed 11-10 in an epic final in Minehead and is out to deny ‘Heavy Metal’ once again in a bid to land a second Euro Tour title of the year.

Two World Grand Prix runners-up collide as Nathan Aspinall takes on Dirk van Duijvenbode in what promises to be an explosive encounter.

Aspinall was denied Grand Prix glory by MVG last weekend but underlined his resilience once more by staging a sensational comeback from 5-0 down to defeat Vincent van der Voort in a decider on Saturday.

Van Duijvenbode, a two-time televised finalist this season, also held his nerve in a last-leg shoot-out to overcome Jason Lowe in his opener.

Top seed Luke Humphries, who became a father for the first time in midweek, steps up his quest for a fifth Euro Tour title of the season when he meets Associate Member qualifier Wesley Plaisier.

Plaisier has already seen off Jeff Smith and Dave Chisnall this weekend and knows that a further scalp would see him secure a debut spot in the European Championship at the expense of Krzysztof Ratajski.

Reigning European Champion Rob Cross, who has lost in three Euro Tour finals this year, continues his quest to go one better when he plays former World Championship quarter-finalist Ryan Joyce – who knocked out Danny Noppert in a deciding leg.

World number seven Jonny Clayton looks to avoid becoming the latest victim of Northern Irish sensation Josh Rock when the pair collide in the Last 16.

Clayton, New South Wales Masters winner in August, safely saw off Stephen Bunting on Saturday but will be braced for a close-run contest against the recent World Youth finalist – who dumped out Michael Smith in Round Two.

A familiar fixture sees Masters champion Joe Cullen look to continue his dominant recent record over World Cup winner Damon Heta.

Cullen has won each of their four meetings this year, including at the World Grand Prix and World Matchplay, and is aiming to follow up September’s Hungarian Darts Trophy triumph.

The action gets under way from 12pm BST, with Third Round and Quarter-Final ties to be contested over the best of 11 legs, Semi-Finals best of 13 and the final best of 15.


18+ | T&Cs apply | Geo restrictions may apply | Be Gamble Aware | #Ad

Gibraltar Darts Trophy 2022 Day Three Schedule

All times BST (local time +1 hour)

Sunday October 16

Third Round

Afternoon Session (12pm-4pm)
Luke Humphries v Wesley Plaisier
Ryan Searle v Peter Wright
Josh Rock v Jonny Clayton
Rob Cross v Ryan Joyce
Michael van Gerwen v Jose De Sousa
Nathan Aspinall v Dirk van Duijvenbode
Mensur Suljovic v Gabriel Clemens
Damon Heta v Joe Cullen

Evening Session (6pm-10pm)

Humphries/Plaisier v Searle/Wright
Rock/Clayton v Cross/Joyce
Van Gerwen/De Sousa v Aspinall/Van Duijvenbode
Suljovic/Clemens v Heta/Cullen



  • Bet £10 Get a £30 Surprise Bet when you join Kwiff
  • Official partners of the WDF World Championship
  • Get £30 in Free Bets when you place any first bet
  • Price Boosts and Specials on all Darts events