Left arrow

Jelle Klaasen enjoys impressive Euro Tour return at the European Darts Grand Prix

Right arrow

Martin Lukeman thrashes Michael van Gerwen at the European Darts Grand Prix

European Darts Grand Prix 2022 | Day Two Preview and Order of Play

Jamie Shaw in European Tour 21 May 2022
Peter Wright reacts (Photo by Kais Bodensieck/PDC Europe)

The seeded stars commence their European Darts Grand Prix campaigns in Stuttgart on Saturday as the Second Round action takes centre stage.

The seventh Euro Tour event of the season features 47 players battling it out for £140,000 in prize money, with 15 qualifiers having progressed through Friday’s opening round to set up a meeting with one of the 16 seeded stars.

One of the stand-out ties of the Second Round sees reigning Premier League champion and this season’s table-topper Jonny Clayton take on two-time World Champion Adrian Lewis.

Clayton is aiming to end a four-year wait for a European Tour title and heads to Stuttgart having lost in the final of Night 15 of the Premier League at The O2 in London on Thursday.

Lewis, meanwhile, reached the Last 16 in Prague a week ago, defeating Gerwyn Price in a controversial clash along the way, and will be out to deny another Welsh star having edged past Luke Woodhouse in Round One.

The evening also features a repeat of March’s UK Open as Premier League star Michael Smith vies for revenge over champion Danny Noppert.

Peter Wright, who opted out of last week’s Czech Darts Open, returns to Euro Tour action to face Sweden’s Johan Engstrom – who knocked out German number one Gabriel Clemens in a deciding leg to earn his first win on the Euro Tour.

Luke Humphries kicks off his pursuit of a second successive Euro Tour title and a third of the season when he takes on Ipswich left-hander Ryan Meikle – a six-time Development Tour winner.

Fresh from Thursday’s Premier League triumph in London to boost his play-off hopes, Joe Cullen starts his campaign in Stuttgart against in-form Rowby-John Rodriguez – quarter-finalist in Prague last weekend and a 6-5 winner over Jim Williams on Friday.

Michael van Gerwen, a winner of three Euro Tour titles already this term, faces a tricky opener against German Darts Grand Prix runner-up Martin Lukeman – who averaged 97 in a 6-3 win over Switzerland’s Stefan Bellmont in Round One.

Dirk van Duijvenbode, winner of a ProTour event this season, has his sights set on claiming a maiden Euro Tour crown, and starts his latest quest against World Youth finalist Nathan Rafferty – appearing at this stage of a Euro Tour event for the first time.

German hopes once again rest solely on the shoulders of Martin Schindler, and the country’s most in-form darter aims to delight an expectant crowd by overcoming Latvia’s Madars Razma.

The afternoon session begins with a tie between Damon Heta, the number eight seed, and resurgent left-hander Mickey Mansell – who reached the Last 16 in Prague and thrashed Radek Szagański 6-1 here on Day One.

Dimitri van den Bergh, runner-up in Leverkusen a fortnight ago, faces former ProTour event winner Joe Murnan, while 15th seed Brendan Dolan hosts 19-year-old Dutch star Danny Jansen – who swept aside Martijn Kleermaker 6-1 on Friday.

Former World Champion Jelle Klaasen – who marked his return to the Euro Tour with an impressive win over Callan Rydz – now aims to knock out European Champion Rob Cross – last week’s beaten finalist.

Ryan Searle aims to avenge last week’s 6-5 defeat to Czech youngster Adam Gawlas in the Third Round when the pair go head-to-head once again.

Two former Euro Tour event winners collide as 12th seed Krzysztof Ratajski faces Kim Huybrechts, while second seed Jose de Sousa meets recent ProTour event finalist Andrew Gilding.

Two-time major champion Daryl Gurney opens up against Tour Card Qualifier Eddie Lovely – who received a bye in Round One following the withdrawal of Gerwyn Price.

The action gets under way from 12pm BST, with Second Round matches to be contested over the best of 11 legs.


European Darts Grand Prix 2022 Day Two Schedule of Play

All times BST (Local time one hour ahead)

Saturday May 21

Second Round

Afternoon Session (12pm-4pm)
Damon Heta v Mickey Mansell
Dimitri Van den Bergh v Joe Murnan
Ryan Searle v Adam Gawlas
Daryl Gurney v Eddie Lovely
Jose de Sousa v Andrew Gilding
Krzysztof Ratajski v Kim Huybrechts
Brendan Dolan v Danny Jansen
Rob Cross v Jelle Klaasen

Evening Session (6pm-10pm)
Joe Cullen v Rowby-John Rodriguez
Luke Humphries v Ryan Meikle
Jonny Clayton v Adrian Lewis
Michael van Gerwen v Martin Lukeman
Martin Schindler v Madars Razma
Peter Wright v Johan Engstrom
Michael Smith v Danny Noppert
Dirk van Duijvenbode v Nathan Rafferty

Today's Top Offers

  • Watch the Dutch Darts Masters streamed here
  • Bet £10 and Get £50 in Free Bets when you register