Left arrow

Rowby-John Rodriguez dispatches Gerwyn Price at the European Darts Matchplay

Right arrow

Luke Humphries seals fantastic fourth European Tour title of 2022 at the European Darts Matchplay

European Darts Matchplay 2022 | Day Three Preview and Order of Play

Jamie Shaw in European Tour 03 Jul 2022
Scott Williams celebrates (Photo by Kais Bodensieck/PDC Europe)

The ninth European Tour silverware of the season is up for grabs in Trier on Sunday as the 16 remaining hopefuls compete for the European Darts Matchplay title.

Ten seeds were sent packing on a dramatic Day Two at the Trier Arena, opening up both halves of the draw bracket.

The afternoon session on Day Three plays host to the Third Round ties, before the Quarter-Finals, Semi-Finals and final take place in the evening.

Luke Humphries has now been installed as favourite to claim a fourth Euro Tour title of the season, the number three seed steps up his quest with a Third Round tie against home hero Lukas Wenig.

Humphries overcame Cameron Menzies 6-4 on Saturday despite a 100 average from the Scot, and now aims to spoil the party by ending the run of the Host Nation qualifier.

Wenig, a non Tour Card holder, followed up his First Round scalp of Steve Lennon by averaging 101 in a 6-4 success over Chris Dobey with sensational finishes of 170 and 167 along the way.

Two recent televised title winners and flatmates go head-to-head as World Cup winner Damon Heta takes on back-to-back World Series event winner Dimitri Van den Bergh.

Aussie ace Heta battled past Callan Rydz 6-4 with a 91 average in his opener, while Van den Bergh lit up the stage with a magnificent 110.8 average in a 6-2 defeat of Florian Hempel to pick up from where he left off in Amsterdam a week ago.

Rowby-John Rodriguez’ reward for his 6-2 rout of Gerwyn Price in the Second Round is a show-down with German number one Gabriel Clemens – who edged out Daryl Gurney in a last-leg decider on Saturday.

Rodriguez still harbours hope of gate-crashing the World Matchplay later this month and could move within touching distance of the provisional qualification places by reaching the final, or effectively secure his spot by winning the title.

Scott Williams is another player with one eye on the Winter Gardens, having defied a 103 average from Jonny Clayton in Round Two to move less than £3,000 away from the qualification places.

The recent ProTour event winner, who does not hold a Tour Card, now faces former UK Open champion Nathan Aspinall – who is vying to reclaim a place among the world’s top 16.

Reigning European Champion Rob Cross, who has lost in three Euro Tour finals this season, comes up against Luke Woodhouse – who knocked out 12th seed Krzysztof Ratajski in Round Two.

Martin Lukeman continues his quest to reach a second Euro Tour final of the season when he meets former Lakeside Champion Stephen Bunting.

Lukeman saw off second seed Ryan Searle 6-4 on Saturday, while Bunting edged past Polish teenager Sebastian Białecki in a last-leg shoot-out.

Associate Member qualifier Wesley Plaisier looks to move into his second Euro Tour Quarter-Final of the season at the expense of Latvian World Cup star Madars Razma – who has seen off German opposition in Dragutin Horvat and Martin Schindler so far this weekend.

Ian White punished a staggering seven missed match darts from Joe Cullen to deny the Premier League finalist 6-5 on Saturday and now meets Jeffrey de Zwaan – who came from 5-3 down to defeat in-form Dirk van Duijvenbode by the same scoreline.

The action gets under way from 12pm BST, with Third Round and Quarter-Final ties to be contested over the best of 11 legs, Semi-Finals best of 13 and the final best of 15.


European Darts Matchplay 2022 Day Three Schedule of Play

All times BST (Local time one hour ahead)

Sunday July 3

Afternoon Session (12pm-4pm)

Last 16
Rowby-John Rodriguez v Gabriel Clemens
Nathan Aspinall v Scott Williams
Wesley Plaisier v Madars Razma
Rob Cross v Luke Woodhouse
Martin Lukeman v Stephen Bunting
Damon Heta v Dimitri Van den Bergh
Luke Humphries v Lukas Wenig
Ian White v Jeffrey de Zwaan

Evening Session (6pm-10pm)

Rodriguez/Clemens v Aspinall/Williams
Plaisier/Razma v Cross/Woodhouse
Lukeman/Bunting v Heta/Van den Bergh
Humphries/Wenig v White/De Zwaan



LATEST DARTS FREE BET OFFERS (18+ | T&Cs apply | Be Gamble Aware)

Today's Top Offers

  • Watch the New South Wales Darts Masters streamed live
  • Bet £10 and Get £50 in Free Bets when you register