Left arrow

The race to the 2022 Betfred World Matchplay | Qualification set to culminate in Barnsley

Right arrow

Betfred World Matchplay 2022 Draw | Van Gerwen to face Lewis in Blackpool

Field confirmed for 2022 Betfred World Matchplay

Jamie Shaw in World Matchplay 11 Jul 2022
32 of the sport’s top stars will head to The Winter Gardens (Photo by Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

The 32-player field for the 2022 Betfred World Matchplay has been confirmed, with four players set to make their debuts.

The prestigious ranking major will see the world’s top stars battle it out for a record £800,000 prize fund at the Winter Gardens in Blackpool from July 16-24.

The top 16 players from the PDC Order of Merit are seeded in the draw and are joined by 16 qualifiers from the ProTour Order of Merit.

Peter Wright heads to Blackpool as the top seed and defending champion, ahead of world number two Gerwyn Price, world finalist Michael Smith and Premier League champion Michael van Gerwen.

James Wade, Gary Anderson and Dimitri van den Bergh are among the other former World Matchplay champions in the line-up.

Van Gerwen, Wade Cullen and Luke Humphries are situated in the same quarter of the draw, while in-form Dutchmen Dirk van Duijvenbode and Danny Noppert join Smith and Anderson in the bottom quarter.

Madars Razma, Martin Lukeman, Martin Schindler and Rowby-John Rodriguez will make their debuts in the competition as ProTour qualifiers.

A resurgent Andrew Gilding returns to the Winter Gardens for the first time since 2015, having reached two ProTour finals this season.

Kim Huybrechts makes his first Matchplay appearance since 2018, while 2013 Adrian Lewis returns having picked up a ProTour title at the weekend.

The draw will be made live from 6.30pm BST on Monday and will be available to watch on Betfred’s social channels.

BET £10 AND GET £60 IN BONUSES WHEN YOU JOIN BETFRED (18+ | T&Cs Apply | Be Gamble Aware)

Betfred World Matchplay 2022 Field

Top 16 seeds (Main Order of Merit)

1. Peter Wright
2. Gerwyn Price
3. Michael Smith
4. Michael van Gerwen
5. James Wade
6. Gary Anderson
7. Jose de Sousa
8. Jonny Clayton
9. Dimitri Van den Bergh
10. Rob Cross
11. Danny Noppert
12. Luke Humphries
13. Joe Cullen
14. Dirk van Duijvenbode
15. Dave Chisnall
16. Krzysztof Ratajski

ProTour Qualifiers

1. Damon Heta
2. Nathan Aspinall
3. Ryan Searle
4. Martin Schindler
5. Brendan Dolan
6. Daryl Gurney
7. Callan Rydz
8. Gabriel Clemens
9. Adrian Lewis
10. Andrew Gilding
11. Stephen Bunting
12. Kim Huybrechts
13. Martin Lukeman
14. Chris Dobey
15. Madars Razma
16. Rowby-John Rodriguez