Left arrow

Mensur Suljovic to miss the 2021 World Matchplay

Right arrow

World Matchplay 2021 Day One preview and order of play: Summer show-piece commences in Blackpool

Betfred World Matchplay 2021 Live Scores and Schedule of Play

Jamie Shaw in World Matchplay 25 Jul 2021
The prestigious major returns to the Winter Gardens (Photo by PDC)

The Betfred World Matchplay returns to Blackpool in 2021, and you can follow the latest results and match schedule here.

The historic major returns to the Winter Gardens for the first time since 2019 and will feature 32 players competing for £700,000 in prize money and the Phil Taylor Trophy from July 17-25.

The top 16 players from the PDC Order of Merit are seeded in the draw and are joined by 16 qualifiers from the one-year ProTour Order of Merit.

Dimitri van den Bergh claimed the title in sensational style on his debut last year, defeating Gary Anderson 18-10 in the final in Milton Keynes.

World number one Gerwyn Price is bidding to land the Matchplay title for the first time, while 2017 runner-up Peter Wright is the number two seed.

Michael van Gerwen, the 2015 and 2016 champion, is the number three seed and is vying to claim his first title of the year.

Three other former champions also feature in the field, with James Wade, Rob Cross and Gary Anderson seeded fourth, fifth and sixth respectively.

Seven players will make their debut in this year’s Betfred World Matchplay: Devon Petersen, Damon Heta, Dirk van Duijvenbode, Ross Smith, Luke Humphries, Ryan Searle and Callan Rydz.

First Round matches are to be contested over the best of 19 legs, with Second Round best of 21, Quarter-Finals best of 31, Semi-Finals best of 33 and the final best of 35.

All matches must be won by two clear legs, with a match being extended if necessary for a maximum of six extra legs before a sudden death leg is required.

For example, in a first to ten First Round match, if the score reaches 12-12 then the 25th leg will be the sudden death decider.


Betfred World Matchplay 2021 Schedule

Saturday July 17

First Round

Dave Chisnall 10-8 Vincent van der Voort
Jonny Clayton 10-7 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Gerwyn Price 10-4 Jermaine Wattimena
Dimitri Van den Bergh 10-5 Devon Petersen

Sunday July 18

First Round

Afternoon Session (1pm-5pm)
Krzysztof Ratajski 10-4 Brendan Dolan
Glen Durrant 6-10 Callan Rydz
Rob Cross 10-8 Ross Smith
James Wade 3-10 Luke Humphries

Evening Session (7.30pm-11.30pm)
Joe Cullen 10-8 Chris Dobey
Michael Smith 10-7 Ryan Searle
Peter Wright 10-2 Danny Noppert
Jose de Sousa 10-2 Gabriel Clemens

Monday July 19

First Round

Daryl Gurney 7-10 Ian White
Nathan Aspinall 10-6 Mervyn King
Michael van Gerwen 10-7 Damon Heta
Gary Anderson 10-5 Stephen Bunting

Tuesday July 20

Second Round

Rob Cross 8-11 Callan Rydz
Luke Humphries 5-11 Krzysztof Ratajski
Gerwyn Price 11-3 Jonny Clayton
Dimitri Van den Bergh 11-8 Dave Chisnall

Wednesday July 21

Second Round

Michael Smith 13-11 Jose De Sousa
Gary Anderson 9-11 Nathan Aspinall
Michael van Gerwen 11-8 Ian White
Peter Wright 11-5 Joe Cullen

Thursday July 22


Krzysztof Ratajski 16-8 Callan Rydz
Gerwyn Price 9-16 Dimitri van den Bergh

Friday July 23


Peter Wright 16-7 Michael Smith
Michael van Gerwen 16-9 Nathan Aspinall

Saturday July 24


Dimitri van den Bergh 17-9 Krzysztof Ratajski
Peter Wright 17-10 Michael van Gerwen

Sunday July 25


Dimitri van den Bergh 9-18 Peter Wright

Betfred World Matchplay Prize Fund

Winner: £150,000
Runner-up: £70,000
Semi-Final losers: £50,000
Quarter-Final losers: £25,000
Second Round losers: £15,000
First Round losers: £10,000