Left arrow

World Matchplay to feature crowd noise and virtual fan interaction

Right arrow

World Matchplay Darts 2020 Day One preview and order of play: Former champions eyeing winning starts

World Matchplay Darts 2020 Draw, Live Scores and Tournament Schedule

Jamie Shaw in World Matchplay 26 Jul 2020
The World Matchplay will be held away from Blackpool for the first time in 26 years (Photo by PDC)

The stars of the sport head to Milton Keynes for the 2020 World Matchplay, and you can follow the latest results and match schedules here.

The 27th staging of the sport’s summer show-piece sees 32 of the world’s top stars battling it out for the Phil Taylor Trophy and £700,000 in prize money.

This year’s Betfred World Matchplay will take place behind closed doors at the Marshall Arena from July 18-26 as a result of restrictions relating to the covid-19 pandemic.

It will be the first time the prestigious major has not been staged at the Winter Gardens in Blackpool since the tournament began in 1994.

The top 16 players in the PDC Order of Merit will be joined by the 16 highest ranked players from the ProTour Order of Merit.

Rob Cross is the defending champion after he claimed the crown for the first time by defeating Michael Smith 18-13 in the final 12 months ago.

Michael van Gerwen, the 2015 and 2016 champion, is the number one seed, ahead of reigning World Champion and 2017 World Matchplay runner-up Peter Wright.

Gary Anderson and James Wade are the only other previous winners in the field, while Grand Slam champion Gerwyn Price and Premier League stars Nathan Aspinall, Glen Durrant and Daryl Gurney are among the other key contenders.

Four players will make their debut in this year’s tournament: Portugal’s Jose De Sousa, Germany’s Gabriel Clemens, Newcastle’s Ryan Joyce and Belgium’s Dimitri van den Bergh.

First Round matches are to be contested over the best of 19 legs, with Second Round best of 21, Quarter-Finals best of 31, Semi-Finals best of 33 and the final best of 35.

All matches must be won by two clear legs, with a match being extended if necessary for a maximum of six extra legs before a sudden death leg is required.

For example, in a first-to-10 First Round match, if the score reaches 12-12 then the 25th leg will be the sudden death decider.


Betfred World Matchplay 2020 Schedule

Saturday July 18

First Round

Simon Whitlock 10-4 Ryan Joyce
Krzysztof Ratajski 10-4 Jermaine Wattimena
James Wade 12-10 Keegan Brown
Michael van Gerwen 10-7 Brendan Dolan
Gary Anderson 10-5 Justin Pipe

Sunday July 19

First Round

Mensur Suljovic 12-10 Jamie Hughes
Glen Durrant 10-3 Jeffrey de Zwaan
Rob Cross 8-10 Gabriel Clemens
Peter Wright 10-8 Jose De Sousa
Michael Smith 10-3 Jonny Clayton

Monday July 20

First Round

Dave Chisnall 6-10 Vincent van der Voort
Ian White 12-13 Joe Cullen
Daryl Gurney 10-5 Ricky Evans
Gerwyn Price 7-10 Danny Noppert
Adrian Lewis 11-9 Steve Beaton

Tuesday July 21

1x First Round, 4x Second Round Matches

Dimitri Van den Bergh 10-5 Nathan Aspinall (RD1)
Michael Smith 14-12 Mensur Suljovic
Gary Anderson 11-8 James Wade
Simon Whitlock 11-4 Michael van Gerwen
Krzysztof Ratajski 12-10 Gabriel Clemens

Wednesday July 22

Second Round

Daryl Gurney 5-11 Vincent van der Voort
Dimitri Van den Bergh 11-9 Joe Cullen
Peter Wright 8-11 Glen Durrant
Danny Noppert 7-11 Adrian Lewis

Thursday July 23


Krzysztof Ratajski 13-16 Michael Smith
Simon Whitlock 12-16 Gary Anderson

Friday July 24


Adrian Lewis 12-16 Dimitri Van den Bergh
Glen Durrant 18-16 Vincent van der Voort

Saturday July 25


Michael Smith 16-18 Gary Anderson
Glen Durrant 15-17 Dimitri van den Bergh

Sunday July 26


Dimitri van den Bergh 18-10 Gary Anderson

Prize Fund
Winner: £150,000
Runner-up: £70,000
Semi-Final losers: £50,000
Quarter-Final losers: £25,000
Second Round losers: £15,000
First Round losers: £10,000