Left arrow

World Grand Prix 2020 Day One preview and order of play: Double-start drama commences in Coventry

Right arrow

Van Gerwen edges Ratajski in last-leg thriller as Wade and Smith bow out of the World Grand Prix

Lewis and Bunting out of Boylesports World Grand Prix after positive Covid tests

Jamie Shaw in World Grand Prix 06 Oct 2020
Lewis and Bunting have been withdrawn from the event

Adrian Lewis and Stephen Bunting will miss the 2020 Boylesports World Grand Prix after returning positive tests for Covid-19 ahead of the event.

All players and staff involved in the tournament underwent Covid-19 testing on arrival at the Ricoh Arena in Coventry on Monday.

Both Lewis and Bunting tested positive and will now return home to isolate in line with Government guidelines.

By following the relevant protocols, neither came into contact with other players or staff during their time at the venue.

Lewis will now be replaced by Simon Whitlock – the next non-qualified player on the PDC Order of Merit – provided that the Australian provides a negative result when he is tested on arrival at the venue on Tuesday night.

Whitlock would then play Chris Dobey on Wednesday night, with Tuesday’s session now reduced to seven matches.

Bunting will be replaced by Jeffrey De Zwaan, who will also be required to provide a negative test result when he arrives in Coventry on Tuesday night before then being able to play Jamie Hughes.

Should either player return a positive test, their scheduled opponent would then receive a Bye into the Second Round.

The revised schedule of play for the First Round of the BoyleSports World Grand Prix can be seen below.

BoyleSports World Grand Prix 2020 Schedule of Play

Tuesday October 6

First Round

Danny Noppert v Ryan Searle
Mensur Suljovic v Dirk van Duijvenbode
Jose De Sousa v Devon Petersen
James Wade v Mervyn King
Rob Cross v Gary Anderson
Michael van Gerwen v Krzysztof Ratajski
Michael Smith v Dimitri Van den Bergh

Wednesday October 7

First Round

Brendan Dolan v Kim Huybrechts
Jonny Clayton v Ian White
Dave Chisnall v Glen Durrant
Daryl Gurney v Joe Cullen
Peter Wright v Ryan Joyce
Gerwyn Price v Jermaine Wattimena
Nathan Aspinall v Gabriel Clemens
Simon Whitlock v Chris Dobey*
Jamie Hughes v Jeffrey De Zwaan*