Left arrow

World Grand Prix 2020 Draw: Van Gerwen to face Ratajski in Coventry opener

Right arrow

World Grand Prix 2020 Day One preview and order of play: Double-start drama commences in Coventry

World Grand Prix 2020 Draw, Live Scores and Schedule of Play

Jamie Shaw in World Grand Prix 12 Oct 2020
Michael van Gerwen is the reigning and five-time champion (Photo by Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

The stars of world darts convene in Coventry for the annual World Grand Prix, and you can follow all the latest results and fixtures here.

The unique double-start tournament will see 32 players competing for the prestigious trophy and £450,000 in prize money at the Ricoh Arena from October 6-12.

It will be the first time the Boylesports World Grand Prix has been held away from the Citywest Hotel in Dublin for 20 years and will be staged behind closed doors due to ongoing Covid-19 restrictions.

The top 16 players from the main PDC Order of Merit are joined in the star-studded line-up by the next 16 highest ranked players from the ProTour Order of Merit.

Michael van Gerwen is the defending champion after defeating Dave Chisnall 5-2 in last year’s final and is bidding for a sixth crown since making his breakthrough in 2012.

Former finalist Peter Wright and world number three Gerwyn Price are looking to get their hands on this trophy for the first time, along with the likes of Gary Anderson, Glen Durrant and Nathan Aspinall.

James Wade and Daryl Gurney are the only other former World Grand Prix champions in the competition.

The six debutants in this year’s field include recent German Championship winner Devon Petersen, Portugal’s Jose De Sousa and Dutchman Dirk van Duijvenbode.

First Round matches are to be contested over the best of three sets, Second Round and Quarter-Finals best of five, Semi-Finals best of seven and the final best of nine.

All Sets are the best of five legs and here will be no tie-break in any Set. All legs must begin and end with a double, meaning that a player must hit a double before he can begin scoring in each leg.


BoyleSports World Grand Prix 2020 Schedule of Play

Tuesday October 6

First Round

Danny Noppert 2-1 Ryan Searle
Mensur Suljovic 1-2 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Jose De Sousa 0-2 Devon Petersen
James Wade 0-2 Mervyn King
Rob Cross 0-2 Gary Anderson
Michael van Gerwen 2-1 Krzysztof Ratajski
Michael Smith 0-2 Dimitri Van den Bergh

Wednesday October 7

First Round

Brendan Dolan 1-2 Kim Huybrechts
Jonny Clayton 2-1 Ian White
Dave Chisnall 2-0 Glen Durrant
Daryl Gurney 1-2 Joe Cullen
Peter Wright 0-2 Ryan Joyce
Gerwyn Price 2-0 Jermaine Wattimena
Nathan Aspinall 0-2 Gabriel Clemens
Simon Whitlock 2-0 Chris Dobey*
Jamie Hughes 1-2 Jeffrey De Zwaan*

Thursday October 8

Second Round

Dimitri Van den Bergh 1-3 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Mervyn King 2-3 Simon Whitlock
Gary Anderson 3-0 Danny Noppert
Michael van Gerwen 3-0 Devon Petersen

Friday October 9

Second Round

Ryan Joyce 2-3 Dave Chisnall
Gabriel Clemens 0-3 Jeffrey de Zwaan
Gerwyn Price 3-0 Kim Huybrechts
Jonny Clayton 2-3 Joe Cullen

Saturday October 10


Dirk van Duijvenbode 3-1 Gary Anderson
Dave Chisnall 3-2 Joe Cullen
Michael van Gerwen 0-3 Simon Whitlock
Gerwyn Price 3-1 Jeffrey de Zwaan

Sunday October 11


Simon Whitlock 1-4 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Dave Chisnall 3-4 Gerwyn Price

Monday October 12


Gerwyn Price 5-2 Dirk van Duijvenbode

Prize Fund
Winner: £110,000
Runner-up: £50,000
Semi-Final losers: £25,000
Quarter-Final losers: £16,000
Second Round losers: £10,000
First Round losers: £6,000

  • Bet £10 Get £40 in Free Bets when you join
  • Double your odds on any Premier League Darts market
  • Get 50% of your stake back as a Free Bet if your first bet loses
  • Multiple markets on all major darts tournaments