Left arrow

PDC Order of Merit following the 2022 World Grand Prix | Wright regains world number one spot

Right arrow

Boylesports World Grand Prix 2023 | Draw, Live Scores and Schedule of Play

Boylesports World Grand Prix 2023 Draw | Van Gerwen to launch title defence against Rock

Jamie Shaw in World Grand Prix 25 Sep 2023
Van Gerwen is the defending champion (Photo by Kieran Cleeves/PDC)

The draw for the 2023 Boylesports World Grand Prix has been confirmed, with Michael van Gerwen to begin his title defence against Josh Rock in Leicester.

Van Gerwen stormed to a sixth World Grand Prix crown in 2022 and will begin his latest campaign with a mouth-watering opener against World Youth Champion Rock.

The 2023 Boylesports World Grand Prix will take place from October 2-8 at the Morningside Arena in Leicester as 32 players compete for £600,000 in prize money.

The top 16 players from the main PDC Order of Merit are joined in the field for the unique double-start major by the next 16 highest ranked players from the ProTour Order of Merit.

Van Gerwen, seeded number two, has been drawn to face Northern Irish ace Rock – one of three debutants in this year’s tournament.

Elsewhere, 2020 champion Gerwyn Price will open up against 2021 semi-finalist Danny Noppert in another mouth-watering First Round tie.

Jonny Clayton, the 2021 World Grand Prix champion, will take on reigning European champion Ross Smith, while world number one and World Champion Michael Smith meets a resurgent Callan Rydz.

Two former World Grand Prix runners-up collide as Dirk van Duijvenbode takes on history maker Brendan Dolan, while 2018 finalist Peter Wright faces German number one Gabriel Clemens.

Sixth seed Luke Humphries starts his latest bid for a maiden major title with a clash against 2017 champion Daryl Gurney, as last year’s runner-up and current World Matchplay champion Nathan Aspinall faces former Lakeside Champion Stephen Bunting.

Eighth seed Rob Cross, winner of two World Series events last month, has been drawn against UK Open champion Andrew Gilding, while 2016 finalist Gary Anderson opens up against former Grand Slam champion Jose De Sousa.

James Wade, Grand Prix champion back in 2007 and 2010, will take on recent European Tour event winner Krzysztof Ratajski, as former Masters champion Joe Cullen takes on Belgian debutant Mike De Decker.

Another tasty tie sees five-time World Champion Raymond van Barneveld, making his first appearance in this event since 2018, face German number two Martin Schindler.

Two of this year’s Premier League stars collide as Dimitri van den Bergh faces Chris Dobey, while World Matchplay quarter-finalists Damon Heta and Ryan Searle also face off.

In-form Dave Chisnall, runner-up in this event in 2013 and 2019, hosts debutant Luke Woodhouse – who secured the final ProTour qualification spot last weekend.

Boylesports World Grand Prix 2023 Draw

Round One

Michael Smith (1) v Callan Rydz
Dirk van Duijvenbode v Brendan Dolan
Rob Cross (8) v Andrew Gilding
Jose de Sousa v Gary Anderson
Gerwyn Price (4) v Danny Noppert
Krzysztof Ratajski v James Wade
Nathan Aspinall (5) v Stephen Bunting
Martin Schindler v Raymond van Barneveld
Michael van Gerwen (2) v Josh Rock
Dimitri Van den Bergh v Chris Dobey
Jonny Clayton (7) v Ross Smith
Joe Cullen v Mike De Decker
Peter Wright (3) v Gabriel Clemens
Damon Heta v Ryan Searle
Luke Humphries (6) v Daryl Gurney
Dave Chisnall v Luke Woodhouse

Boylesports sign-up offer: Bet £10 and get £10 in Free Bets + £10 Casino Bonus


New UK customers (Excluding NI) only. £20 in FREE Bets (FB) as £10 in sports bets & a £10 casino bonus (CB). Min Deposit £10. Min stake £10. Min odds Evs. FB applied on 1st settlement of any qualifying bet. FB 7-day expiry. 1 FB offer per customer, household & IP address only. Account & Payment restrictions. 14 days to accept £10 CB, then active for 3 days. CB 5x wagering & max redeemable £100. Game restrictions apply. Cashed out/Free Bets won’t apply. 30 days to qualify. 18+. T&Cs apply. T&Cs apply