Left arrow

PDC representatives confirmed for 2020 US Darts Masters

Right arrow

US Darts Masters 2022 | Day One Preview and Order of Play

US Darts Masters postponed until 2021

Jamie Shaw in US Darts Masters 01 Apr 2020
Rob Cross makes his way to the stage (Photo by PDC)

The 2020 US Darts Masters at New York’s Madison Square Garden has been postponed until June 2021.

The highly-anticipated World Series event was due to take place from June 5-6 in the Hulu Theater within the iconic Madison Square Garden but has now been put back one year.

The sport’s top stars, led by current World Champion Peter Wright and world number one Michael van Gerwen, were set to take on leading players from North America.

However, with the global restrictions currently in place due to the Covid-19 pandemic, the decision has been made to move the US Darts Masters and North American Championship back 12 months.

The US Darts Masters is now set to be staged from June 4-5, 2021 with its existing line-up.

“There was huge excitement about taking the US Darts Masters to Madison Square Garden, not just from the players set to compete in June but also across the wider North American darting community,” said PDC Chief Executive Matthew Porter.

“However, with the ongoing worldwide situation we felt that the right decision was to postpone the World Series’ visit to New York for 12 months.

“This decision only strengthens our resolve to make the 2021 US Darts Masters and North American Championship a success as part of our global World Series of Darts tour.”

All original tickets will be honored for the corresponding session of the 2021 event.

Meanwhile, the Nordic Darts Masters has been moved back four months and will now be held from October 23-24.

The sport’s box office stars were set to take on leading players from across the Nordic & Baltic region on June 12-13 at Forum Copenhagen.

The four PDC Tour Card Holders from the Nordic & Baltic region retain their places in the tournament, with Lithuania’s Darius Labanauskas – a World Championship quarter-finalist – joined by Finland’s Marko Kantele, Sweden’s Daniel Larsson and Latvia’s Madars Razma in competing.

Three Danish representatives will also compete in the tournament, with the final place being awarded to a PDCNB qualifier.

The PDC representatives are also set to include Fallon Sherrock, who created history and worldwide headlines as the first woman to win at the PDC World Championship last December.