Left arrow

Premier League Darts 2020 Challengers confirmed

Right arrow

Premier League Darts 2020 Live Scores, Tournament Schedule and Table

Premier League Darts 2020 Fixtures: Van Gerwen and Wright to collide in Aberdeen

Jamie Shaw in Premier League Darts 20 Jan 2020
Reigning champion Michael van Gerwen is eyeing a fifth consecutive Premier League crown (Photo by Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

Peter Wright and Michael van Gerwen will face off in a traditional repeat of the world final on opening night of the 2020 Premier League in Aberdeen, with fixtures for the opening nine nights now confirmed.

Wright claimed World Championship glory at Alexandra Palace on New Year’s Day by defeating his former nemesis Van Gerwen 7-3 to claim the Sid Waddell Trophy and dethrone the Dutchman.

Van Gerwen, though, will be aiming for revenge as he opens his challenge to win an unprecedented fifth consecutive Premier League title in their meeting at the all-new P&J Live in Aberdeen on Thursday February 6.

The opening night will also see Scottish hero Gary Anderson make his Premier League return against Daryl Gurney, while newcomer Glen Durrant plays Michael Smith and Gerwyn Price takes on Rob Cross.

Local hero John Henderson will be the Challenger in Aberdeen, and he will face UK Open champion Nathan Aspinall in the opening night’s other fixture, with over 8,000 fans set to pack the venue.

Fallon Sherrock, who created history as the first female to taste victory at the World Championship last month, will appear as a Challenger on Night Two in Nottingham, taking on three-time BDO Champion Durrant.

The night also features a rematch of the 2019 UK Open final as Aspinall plays Cross, while Scottish World Cup champions Wright and Anderson face off and Van Gerwen plays Gurney.

Top Welshman Price will take on Gurney on Night Three as the Unibet Premier League visits Cardiff, where Welsh number two Jonny Clayton appears as a Challenger against Smith, while Van Gerwen plays Aspinall in a repeat of their recent World Championship semi-final.

Night Four in Dublin sees Ireland’s World Cup finalist William O’Connor compete as a Challenger against Van Gerwen, as Price and Wright meet in a rematch of their thrilling clashes in the 2019 Grand Slam of Darts final and recent World Championship semi-finals.

World Youth Champion Luke Humphries’ appearance as a Challenger in Exeter will see him take on Anderson, while Van Gerwen and Smith meet in a repeat of the 2018 Premier League and 2019 World Championship finals.

The meeting between Van Gerwen and Price will headline the visit to Liverpool’s M&S Bank Arena on Night Six, where Merseyside’s Stephen Bunting returns to the Premier League to take on Cross.

Chris Dobey takes to the stage in Newcastle on Night Seven, with the local hero set to face Gurney on a night which also sees Middlesbrough’s Durrant take on World Champion Wright and Van Gerwen’s clash with Cross.

The first phase of the Premier League season then concludes with a double-header at Rotterdam Ahoy on March 25-26, which includes Judgement Night as the ninth-placed player in the league table is eliminated.

Night Eight sees Van Gerwen taking on Durrant, while rising Dutch star Jeffrey de Zwaan will take on Wright.

The fixtures on Judgement Night include Van Gerwen resuming his rivalry with Anderson on the Premier League stage and Price facing Dutch Challenger Jermaine Wattimena.

Following Judgement Night, the remaining eight players meet once more in the remaining seven league nights in Belfast, Sheffield, Manchester, Berlin, Birmingham, Glasgow and Leeds.

The top four players then progress to face off for the title, and a £250,000 top prize, in the Play-Offs at The O2 in London on Thursday May 21.


Unibet Premier League 2020 Fixtures

Night One – Thursday February 6

P&J Live, Aberdeen

Michael Smith v Glen Durrant
Gary Anderson v Daryl Gurney
Michael van Gerwen v Peter Wright
Nathan Aspinall v John Henderson
Gerwyn Price v Rob Cross

Night Two – Thursday February 13

Motorpoint Arena, Nottingham

Rob Cross v Nathan Aspinall
Gerwyn Price v Michael Smith
Gary Anderson v Peter Wright
Glen Durrant v Fallon Sherrock
Daryl Gurney v Michael van Gerwen

Night Three – Thursday February 20

Motorpoint Arena, Cardiff

Peter Wright v Rob Cross
Jonny Clayton v Michael Smith
Michael van Gerwen v Nathan Aspinall
Daryl Gurney v Gerwyn Price
Glen Durrant v Gary Anderson

Night Four – Thursday February 27

3Arena, Dublin

Glen Durrant v Nathan Aspinall
Rob Cross v Gary Anderson
Daryl Gurney v Michael Smith
William O’Connor v Michael van Gerwen
Gerwyn Price v Peter Wright

Night Five – Thursday March 5

Westpoint Exeter

Rob Cross v Daryl Gurney
Gerwyn Price v Glen Durrant
Nathan Aspinall v Peter Wright
Gary Anderson v Luke Humphries
Michael Smith v Michael van Gerwen

Night Six – Thursday March 12

M&S Bank Arena, Liverpool

Michael Smith v Peter Wright
Daryl Gurney v Glen Durrant
Gerwyn Price v Michael van Gerwen
Rob Cross v Stephen Bunting
Gary Anderson v Nathan Aspinall

Night Seven – Thursday March 19

Utilita Arena, Newcastle

Michael Smith v Gary Anderson
Michael van Gerwen v Rob Cross
Nathan Aspinall v Gerwyn Price
Chris Dobey v Daryl Gurney
Peter Wright v Glen Durrant

Night Eight – Wednesday March 25

Rotterdam Ahoy

Gary Anderson v Gerwyn Price
Nathan Aspinall v Daryl Gurney
Michael Smith v Rob Cross
Michael van Gerwen v Glen Durrant
Peter Wright v Jeffrey de Zwaan

Judgement Night – Thursday March 26

Rotterdam Ahoy

Glen Durrant v Rob Cross
Nathan Aspinall v Michael Smith
Peter Wright v Daryl Gurney
Michael van Gerwen v Gary Anderson
Jermaine Wattimena v Gerwyn Price

Night Ten – Thursday April 2

SSE Arena, Belfast

Night 11 – Thursday April 9

FlyDSA Arena, Sheffield

Night 12 – Thursday April 16

The Manchester Arena

Night 13 – Thursday April 23

Mercedes-Benz Arena, Berlin

Night 14 – Thursday April 30

Arena Birmingham

Night 15 – Thursday May 7

The SSE Hydro, Glasgow

Night 16 – Thursday May 14

First Direct Arena, Leeds

Play-Offs – Thursday May 21

The O2, London