Left arrow

Players Championship Darts live stream: How to watch events 29 & 30 exclusively live online

Right arrow

Quartet of qualifiers complete 2019 World Series of Darts Finals field

Rampant Wright clinches final Players Championship title of 2019

livedartsstaff in PDC Darts News 15 Oct 2019
Wright secures his third ranking title of the season (credit:Lawrence Lustig/PDC)
Peter Wright claimed the final ProTour title of 2019 and his third of the campaign by defeating Krzysztof Ratajski 8-1 in the final in Barnsley on Tuesday.
Scottish ace Wright followed up Monday’s record broadcast average achieved against Ratajski with another dominant display as he took the £10,000 top prize in the year’s final Players Championship event.
Wright maintained that brilliant form throughout Tuesday’s tournament, averaging over 104 against Ryan Searle, Steve West and Mark McGeeney in progressing to the latter stages.
He also overcame Joe Murnan and Arron Monk before a ruthless 7-2 Semi-Final win over Danny Noppert.
Wright asserted his dominance immediately in the final, leading 3-0 before legs of 11 and 12 darts moved him five clear of the Polish number one.
Ratajski hit back with a 14-darter, but Wright matched that in two of the next three legs to complete the win.
“It’s been a great couple of days,” said Wright. “I beat Krzysztof yesterday and today I wanted to try and beat him 8-0!
“He’s a fantastic player and the past two days have been very tiring for both of us, so I’m happy to win. It was a hard day and to come through and take the title is brilliant.”
Ratajski had been bidding to win a third Players Championship of the year, with his run to the final including some equally impressive darts as his eventual conqueror.
He averaged almost 107 in a superb 7-5 Semi-Final win over Gerwyn Price, missing double 18 for a nine-darter in that contest, while he took the deciding leg of his quarter-final with Jermaine Wattimena with a ten-darter.
Ratajski also averaged over 102 against Andrew Gilding and more than 96 in every match on his way to the decider, only for Wright to prove too strong.
Price landed a nine-dart finish during his run to the semi-finals, achieving perfection in the second round against Jonathan Worsley, before later averaging over 104 in a quarter-final win over Jonny Clayton.
Dutch ace Noppert won through to his fourth Players Championship Semi-Final of the year, only to lose out to in-form Wright.
Max Hopp recorded the day’s highest average with a stunning 119.24 in his victory over Ian White – who replied with a 111 average in defeat in their Last 32 contest.
Hopp, though, was subsequently knocked out by Andy Jenkins as the veteran star booked his place in the quarter-finals, while Monk, Clayton and Wattimena also reached the last eight.
Tuesday’s event was the last ProTour event of 2019, with the field for the Ladbrokes Players Championship Finals and provisional qualifiers for the William Hill World Darts Championship now set to be confirmed.

Players Championship 30 Results

Tuesday October 15
First Round
Ian White 6-1 Ted Evetts
Davy Van Baelen 6-2 Terry Temple
Max Hopp 6-0 Darius Labanauskas
Josh Payne 6-5 Jose Justicia
Reece Robinson 6-2 Jose De Sousa
Jelle Klaasen 6-4 Mark Webster
Jan Dekker 6-1 Ricky Evans
Andy Jenkins 6-3 David Pallett
George Killington 6-5 Joe Cullen
Yordi Meeuwisse 6-4 Dave Prins
Simon Whitlock 6-2 Callan Rydz
David Evans 6-5 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Wessel Nijman 6-4 Adrian Lewis
Harry Ward 6-4 Scott Baker
Danny Noppert 6-5 Matthew Edgar
Mike van Duivenbode 6-4 Kevin Garcia
Peter Wright 6-2 Joe Murnan
Ryan Searle 6-1 Mickey Mansell
Steve West 6-1 Brendan Dolan
Niels Zonneveld 6-2 Nathan Derry
Jamie Hughes 6-3 Kyle Anderson
Mark McGeeney 6-0 Adam Huckvale
Wayne Jones 6-4 Vincent van der Voort
Adam Hunt 6-3 Richard North
Dave Chisnall 6-3 Kevin Burness
Andy Boulton 6-3 James Richardson
Arron Monk 6-3 Justin Pipe
Alan Norris 6-4 Maik Kuivenhoven
Jeffrey De Zwaan 6-0 Mario Robbe
Simon Stevenson 6-3 John Michael
Stephen Bunting 6-1 Ritchie Edhouse
Madars Razma 6-5 Robert Thornton
Gerwyn Price 6-1 Scott Taylor
Jonathan Worsley 6-3 Benito van de Pas
Geert Nentjes 6-4 Ron Meulenkamp
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-1 Christian Kist
Chris Dobey 6-3 Ross Smith
Luke Humphries 6-2 Marko Kantele
Steve Beaton 6-4 Steve Lennon
Mark Wilson 6-2 Bradley Brooks
Carl Wilkinson 6-5 Glen Durrant
Darren Webster 6-3 Conan Whitehead
Mervyn King 6-2 Tony Newell
Cristo Reyes 6-5 Robert Owen
Jonny Clayton 6-2 Eddie Dootson
Mark Dudbridge 6-3 Ryan Harrington
John Henderson 6-4 Adrian Gray
Barrie Bates 6-5 Stephen Burton
Berry van Peer 6-4 Daryl Gurney
Cody Harris 6-4 Alan Tabern
Gabriel Clemens 6-1 Mark Barilli
Ryan Meikle 6-3 Matt Clark
Jermaine Wattimena 6-4 Dawson Murschell
Kim Huybrechts 6-1 Darren Johnson
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-4 Luke Woodhouse
Jamie Lewis 6-5 Ronny Huybrechts
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-5 Ryan Joyce
Andrew Gilding 6-4 David Ladley
Devon Petersen 6-2 William O’Connor
Martin Schindler 6-4 Gavin Carlin
Michael Smith 6-3 Vincent Van der Meer
Peter Hudson 6-5 Michael Barnard
Keegan Brown 6-4 Matthew Dennant
Zoran Lerchbacher 6-0 Tytus Kanik
Second Round
Ian White 6-5 Davy Van Baelen
Max Hopp 6-4 Josh Payne
Jelle Klaasen 6-3 Reece Robinson
Andy Jenkins 6-2 Jan Dekker
Yordi Meeuwisse 6-5 George Killington
Simon Whitlock 6-4 David Evans
Wessel Nijman 6-3 Harry Ward
Danny Noppert 6-3 Mike van Duivenbode
Peter Wright 6-3 Ryan Searle
Steve West 6-3 Niels Zonneveld
Mark McGeeney 6-5 Jamie Hughes
Adam Hunt 6-2 Wayne Jones
Andy Boulton 6-2 Dave Chisnall
Arron Monk 6-3 Alan Norris
Jeffrey De Zwaan 6-4 Simon Stevenson
Stephen Bunting 6-2 Madars Razma
Gerwyn Price 6-3 Jonathan Worsley
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-4 Geert Nentjes
Chris Dobey 6-4 Luke Humphries
Steve Beaton 6-1 Mark Wilson
Darren Webster 6-4 Carl Wilkinson
Cristo Reyes 6-4 Mervyn King
Jonny Clayton 6-2 Mark Dudbridge
Barrie Bates 6-5 John Henderson
Cody Harris 6-3 Berry van Peer
Gabriel Clemens 6-1 Ryan Meikle
Jermaine Wattimena 6-1 Kim Huybrechts
Jamie Lewis 6-4 Dimitri Van den Bergh
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-1 Andrew Gilding
Martin Schindler 6-4 Devon Petersen
Michael Smith 6-2 Peter Hudson
Zoran Lerchbacher 6-4 Keegan Brown
Losers: £500
Last 32
Max Hopp 6-2 Ian White
Andy Jenkins 6-3 Jelle Klaasen
Simon Whitlock 6-1 Yordi Meeuwisse
Danny Noppert 6-5 Wessel Nijman
Peter Wright 6-5 Steve West
Mark McGeeney 6-2 Adam Hunt
Arron Monk 6-5 Andy Boulton
Jeffrey De Zwaan 6-3 Stephen Bunting
Gerwyn Price 6-2 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Chris Dobey 6-2 Steve Beaton
Darren Webster 6-0 Cristo Reyes
Jonny Clayton 6-0 Barrie Bates
Cody Harris 6-2 Gabriel Clemens
Jermaine Wattimena 6-1 Jamie Lewis
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-4 Martin Schindler
Michael Smith 6-1 Zoran Lerchbacher
Losers: £1,000
Last 16
Andy Jenkins 6-2 Max Hopp
Danny Noppert 6-4 Simon Whitlock
Peter Wright 6-5 Mark McGeeney
Arron Monk 6-4 Jeffrey de Zwaan
Gerwyn Price 6-3 Chris Dobey
Jonny Clayton 6-4 Darren Webster
Jermaine Wattimena 6-1 Cody Harris
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-4 Michael Smith
Losers: £1,500
Danny Noppert 6-2 Andy Jenkins
Peter Wright 6-2 Arron Monk
Gerwyn Price 6-4 Jonny Clayton
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-5 Jermaine Wattimena
Losers: £2,250
Peter Wright 7-2 Danny Noppert
Krzysztof Ratajski 7-5 Gerwyn Price
Losers: £3,000 
Peter Wright 8-1 Krzysztof Ratajski
Winner: £10,000
Runner-up: £6,000