Left arrow

World Darts Championship 2021/22 qualification update | Ten places remain

Right arrow

World Darts Championship 2021/22 | Tour Card Holder Qualifier Draw and Live Scores

William Hill World Darts Championship 2021/22 Draw | Price to face Edhouse or Wen

Jamie Shaw in World Darts Championship 29 Nov 2021
Gerwyn Price raises the Sid Waddell Trophy (Photo by Chris Dean/PDC)

Gerwyn Price will begin the defence of his World Darts Championship title against either Ritchie Edhouse or Lihao Wen at Alexandra Palace.

The 29th staging of the PDC World Championship will feature the top 32 players from the PDC Order of Merit, the next highest 32 ranked players from the ProTour Order of Merit, plus a further 32 International Qualifiers.

The 2021/22 William Hill World Darts Championship takes place from December 15 to January 3 at London’s Alexandra Palace and will feature 96 battling it out for £2.5 million in prize money and the Sid Waddell Trophy.

Price is the defending champion and number one seed for the first time after he defeated Gary Anderson in January’s final to add his name to the sport’s history books.

The Welshman will kick off the defence of his crown on the opening night of the tournament against either ProTour qualifier Edhouse or China’s Wen.

Price will be situated in the same quarter of the draw as his Welsh compatriot Jonny Clayton – who is seeded number eight after winning the World Grand Prix and a further three TV titles this year.

Clayton has been drawn to face either 18-year-old Irish star Keane Barry or Hong Kong’s Royden Lam.

Peter Wright, the 2020 World Champion and newly-crowned Players Champion, will be seeded number two and therefore in the opposite half of the draw to Price and Clayton.

Wright starts out against either Ipswich left-hander Ryan Meikle or 16-year-old German debutant Fabian Schmutzler.

Three-time World Champion Michael van Gerwen is the number three seed and opens up against debutant Chas Barstow or Canada’s John Norman Jnr.

UK Open champion James Wade, the number four seed, meets Maik Kuivenhoven or Ky Smith, while five-time World Champion Raymond van Barneveld marks his return to Ally Pally with a tie against Philippines number one Lourence Ilagan for the right to take on 2018 champion Rob Cross in Round Two.

Gary Anderson, back-to-back champion in 2015 and 2016, awaits the winner of the tie between 2011 and 2012 champion Adrian Lewis or Canadian World Cup star Matt Campbell.

Fallon Sherrock, who enjoyed an historic run to the Third Round on her debut two years ago and reached the Quarter-Finals of the recent Grand Slam, will face former Lakeside Champion Steve Beaton – making his 31st appearance.

Tenth seed Nathan Aspinall awaits the winner of the match between Bolton’s Joe Murnan and 67-year-old Paul Lim, while fifth seed Dimitri Van den Bergh faces the winner of the all-German show-down between Florian Hempel and Martin Schindler.

Michael Smith, runner-up in 2019, will take on either Dutch left-hander Ron Meulenkamp or four-time Women’s World Champion Lisa Ashton.

The top 32 players in the PDC Order of Merit are seeded and will start their campaigns in the Second Round, while the 32 ProTour qualifiers and 32 International qualifiers meet in Round One.

The tournament schedule of play will be confirmed in due course.


William Hill World Darts Championship 2021/22 Draw

Second Round

Gerwyn Price (1) v Ritchie Edhouse/Lihao Wen
Peter Wright (2) v Ryan Meikle/Fabian Schmutzler
Michael van Gerwen (3) v Chas Barstow/John Norman Jnr
James Wade (4) v Maik Kuivenhoven/Ky Smith
Dimitri Van den Bergh (5) v Florian Hempel/Martin Schindler
Gary Anderson (6) v Adrian Lewis/Matt Campbell
Jose de Sousa (7) v Jason Lowe/Daniel Larsson
Jonny Clayton (8) v Keane Barry/Royden Lam
Michael Smith (9) v Ron Meulenkamp/Lisa Ashton
Nathan Aspinall (10) v Joe Murnan/Paul Lim
Rob Cross (11) v Raymond van Barneveld/Lourence Ilagan
Krzysztof Ratajski (12) v Steve Lennon/Madars Razma
Joe Cullen (13) v Ted Evetts/Jim Williams
Dave Chisnall (14) v Darius Labanauskas/Charles Losper
Ryan Searle (15) v William Borland/Bradley Brooks
Stephen Bunting (16) v Ross Smith/Jeff Smith
Dirk van Duijvenbode (17) v Jermaine Wattimena/Boris Koltsov
Danny Noppert (18) v Jason Heaver/Juan Rodriguez
Luke Humphries (19) v Rowby-John Rodriguez/Nick Kenny
Simon Whitlock (20) v Martijn Kleermaker/John Michael
Mervyn King (21) v Ryan Joyce/Roman Benecky
Daryl Gurney (22) v Ricky Evans/Nitin Kumar
Brendan Dolan (23) v Callan Rydz/Yuki Yamada
Glen Durrant (24) v William O’Connor/Danny Lauby
Gabriel Clemens (25) v Lewy Williams/Toyokazu Sibata
Mensur Suljovic (26) v Alan Soutar/Diogo Portela
Ian White (27) v Scott Mitchell/Chris Landman
Devon Petersen (28) v Jamie Hughes/Raymond Smith
Vincent van der Voort (29) v Adam Hunt/Boris Krcmar
Chris Dobey (30) v Rusty-Jake Rodriguez/Ben Robb
Damon Heta (31) v Luke Woodhouse/James Wilson
Kim Huybrechts (32) v Steve Beaton/Fallon Sherrock

PDC Order of Merit Top 32 (Seeded to Second Round)

Gerwyn Price (Wales)
Peter Wright (Scotland)
Michael van Gerwen (Netherlands)
James Wade (England)
Dimitri Van den Bergh (Belgium)
Gary Anderson (Scotland)
Jose de Sousa (Portugal)
Jonny Clayton (Wales)
Michael Smith (England)
Nathan Aspinall (England)
Rob Cross (England)
Krzysztof Ratajski (Poland)
Joe Cullen (England)
Dave Chisnall (England)
Ryan Searle (England)
Stephen Bunting (England)
Dirk van Duijvenbode (Netherlands)
Danny Noppert (Netherlands)
Luke Humphries (England)
Simon Whitlock (Australia)
Mervyn King (England)
Daryl Gurney (Northern Ireland)
Brendan Dolan (Northern Ireland)
Glen Durrant (England)
Gabriel Clemens (Germany)
Mensur Suljovic (Austria)
Ian White (England)
Devon Petersen (South Africa)
Vincent van der Voort (Netherlands)
Chris Dobey (England)
Damon Heta (Australia)
Kim Huybrechts (Belgium)

ProTour Order of Merit Qualifiers

Callan Rydz (England)
Ross Smith (England)
Raymond van Barneveld (Netherlands)
Ryan Joyce (England)
Adrian Lewis (England)
Scott Mitchell (England)
Alan Soutar (Scotland)
Martijn Kleermaker (Netherlands)
Darius Labanauskas (Lithuania)
Ritchie Edhouse (England)
Luke Woodhouse (England)
Jamie Hughes (England)
Maik Kuivenhoven (Netherlands)
Rowby-John Rodriguez (Austria)
Steve Beaton (England)
William O’Connor (Ireland)
Ricky Evans (England)
Keane Barry (Ireland)
Jason Heaver (England)
William Borland (Scotland)
Ron Meulenkamp (Netherlands)
Steve Lennon (Ireland)
Rusty-Jake Rodriguez (Austria)
Lewy Williams (Wales)
Florian Hempel (Germany)
Jermaine Wattimena (Netherlands)
Joe Murnan (England)
Ryan Meikle (England)
Chas Barstow (England)
Ted Evetts (England)
Adam Hunt (England)
Jason Lowe (England)

International Qualifiers

Lisa Ashton (England)
Roman Benecky (Czech Republic)
Bradley Brooks (England)
Matt Campbell (Canada)
Lourence Ilagan (Philippines)
Boris Koltsov (Russia)
Nitin Kumar (India)
Royden Lam (Hong Kong)
Chris Landman (Netherlands)
Daniel Larsson (Sweden)
Danny Lauby (USA)
Paul Lim (Singapore)
Charles Losper (South Africa)
John Michael (Greece)
John Norman Jnr (Canada)
Madars Razma (Latvia)
Diogo Portela (Brazil)
Ben Robb (New Zealand)
Juan Francisco Rodriguez (Spain)
Martin Schindler (Germany)
Fabian Schmutzler (Germany)
Fallon Sherrock (England)
Toyokazu Shibata (Japan)
Jeff Smith (Canada)
Ky Smith (Australia)
Raymond Smith (Australia)
Lihao Wen (China)
Jim Williams (Wales)
Yuki Yamada (Japan)
Nick Kenny (Wales)
Boris Krcmar (Croatia)
James Wilson (England)