Left arrow

Entries confirmed for PDC Women’s Series

Right arrow

Hedman secures PDC World Championship debut as Ashton seals her return

Ashton and Hedman claim opening PDC Women’s Series titles

Jamie Shaw in PDC Women's Series 17 Oct 2020
Hedman held on to second spot (Photo by PDC)

Lisa Ashton and Deta Hedman shared victories on the opening day of the PDC Women’s Series in Barnsley on Saturday.

A series of four events are being held across the weekend, with the top two players from the final Order of Merit securing a place in this year’s World Championship.

Ashton followed up Friday’s Grand Slam qualification by storming to victory in the opening PDC Women’s Series Event, defeating Fallon Sherrock 6-3 in the final.

Ashton dropped just two legs in her first five games to reach the final, although Sherrock edged the early exchanges to lead 2-1.

Ashton then checked out 95 and 170 – for a 12-darter – to move ahead, and after Sherrock levelled in leg six it was the four-time Women’s World Champion who took out 120 and 100 for further 12-dart legs as she raced to victory.

Australia’s Corinne Hammond ended Ashton’s hopes in the Last 32 of Event Two, with 60-year-old Hedman capitalising to claim the £1,000 title.

Hedman saw off Anastasia Dobromyslova in her second game of the event and also recorded three whitewash victories before enjoying a 5-1 Semi-Final success against Sherrock.

Aileen de Graaf came from 2-1 down to lead 3-2 and 5-3 in the final, but the leading Dutch ace was unable to close out the win as Hedman showed her experience to battle back and win the deciding leg.

Hedman leads the Women’s Series Order of Merit with £1,400, with Ashton on £1,050 and Sherrock on £1,000.


PDC Women’s Series Event One Results (Last 16 onwards)

Last 16
Lisa Ashton 4-1 Rhian O’Sullivan
Louise Pearson 4-3 Chloe O’Brien
Beau Greaves 4-2 Eleanor Cairns
Joanne Locke 4-1 Teri-Frances Kidwell
Corrine Hammond 4-2 Vicky Pruim
Deta Hedman 4-0 Evonne Taylor
Fallon Sherrock 4-3 Lorraine Winstanley
Felicia Blay 4-2 Anastasia Dobromyslova

Lisa Ashton 4-0 Louise Pearson
Joanne Lock 4-3 Beau Greaves
Deta Hedman 4-1 Corinne Hammond
Fallon Sherrock 4-0 Felicia Blay

Lisa Ashton 5-1 Joanne Locke
Fallon Sherrock 5-4 Deta Hedman

Lisa Ashton 6-3 Fallon Sherrock

PDC Women’s Series Event Two Results (Last 16 onwards)

Last 16
Aileen De Graaf 4-1 Mandy Solomons
Tracey Davies 4-2 Crissy Manley
Annmarie Potts 4-0 Joanne Locke
Lorraine Winstanley 4-1 Katie Sheldon
Deta Hedman 4-0 Natalie Gilbert
Vicky Pruim 4-1 Corrine Hammond
Fallon Sherrock 4-0 Denise Cassidy
Donna Gleed 4-1 Felicia Blay

Aileen de Graaf 4-0 Tracey Davies
Lorraine Winstanley 4-1 Annmarie Potts
Deta Hedman 4-0 Vicky Pruim
Fallon Sherrock 4-1 Donna Gleed

Aileen de Graaf 5-3 Lorraine Winstanley
Deta Hedman 5-1 Fallon Sherrock

Deta Hedman 6-5 Aileen de Graaf

PDC Women’s Series Order of Merit

1. Deta Hedman £1,400
2. Lisa Ashton £1,050
3. Fallon Sherrock £1,000
4. Aileen de Graaf £650
5. Lorraine Winstanley £500
6. Joanne Locke £500
7. Vicky Pruim £350
8. Corrine Hammond £350
9. Felicia Blay £350