Left arrow

PDC Super Series 4 Day Four: Players Championship 16 Draw and Live Scores

Right arrow

PDC Order of Merit following Super Series 4 in Milton Keynes

Wright doubles 2021 title tally at Players Championship 16

Jamie Shaw in PDC Super Series 17 Jun 2021
Peter Wright celebrates (Photo by Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

Peter Wright secured his second ranking title of the season with a 8-4 win over Luke Humphries in the Players Championship 16 final in Milton Keynes.

Wright backed up his Players Championship 8 triumph during PDC Super Series 2 with a second ProTour title of the year at the Marshall Arena.

Although he ended the day in sensational form, Wright followed up comfortable early wins over Scott Williams and Lorenzo Pronk by edging last-leg deciders over Ryan Joyce and Brendan Dolan.

The world number two found himself 5-3 down to Joyce before claiming the final three legs for a victory which he sealed with a 170 checkout, and held off Dolan’s fightback from 5-2 down to seal his Quarter-Final spot.

There, he powered past Rob Cross with a 103 average in a 6-1 rout, and went on to average 106 in a ruthless 7-0 whitewash of Callan Rydz in the Semi-Finals.

Wright extended his winning run to 13 consecutive legs by moving into a 3-0 lead in the final with legs of 15, 13 and 11 darts, twice breaking Humphries’ throw.

The UK Open finalist battled back to 3-2 behind before Wright found an 11-darter and took the next two legs to lead 6-2.

Back-to-back 14-darters from Humphries saw him continue to battle in his quest for a first senior PDC title as he pulled back to 6-4, but Wright regained breathing space on double 16 before finishing a 13-darter to seal the win.

“I’m very pleased,” said Wright, who averaged 108.9 in the final and over 100 for the day. “I always seem to leave it until the last day!

“I was 5-3 down against Ryan Joyce and said ‘I’ll be in the car in a minute, [to wife] Jo’ but he didn’t finish me off. He let me sneak in leg by leg.

“Luke’s a quality player. I’ve played him many times, and it shows you how good the darts system that we’ve got is that he’s come so far.”

Humphries has reached the UK Open final and two previous Players Championship deciders in 2021, and showed his quality on Thursday in another fine day.

He came through deciding legs against Alan Soutar, Rusty-Jake Rodriguez and Steve Beaton, but averaged 107 in a victory over Karel Sedlacek and also overcame Dutch duo Geert Nentjes and Dirk van Duijvenbode in reaching the final.

Van Duijvenbode enjoyed his first career victory over Gerwyn Price with a 6-3 quarter-final defeat of the World Champion, and he also overcame Premier League champion Jonny Clayton among five wins on the day.

Rydz, meanwhile, also lost out in the semi-finals in his bid to claim a second senior title in his best run since winning Players Championship 2 in February.

The Bedlington ace averaged a huge 113 in his second round whitewash of Jack Main, and also saw off John Michael and Adrian Lewis with averages above 102 on the day.

Two-time World Champion Lewis reached a second successive Quarter-Final in an encouraging return to form, including a 108.6 average in his First Round whitewash of Kai Fan Leung.

Price followed up his run to Monday’s final by concluding the week with another Last Eight appearance, while Cross followed up Wednesday’s Semi-Final with a Quarter-Final appearance 24 hours later.

Steve Beaton enjoyed his best run since February as he completed the Quarter-Final line-up.

The ProTour will resume with PDC Super Series 5 from July 5-8 in Coventry, featuring the final four Players Championship events before the cut-off for the Betfred World Matchplay.


Players Championship 16 Results

Thursday June 17

First Round
Adrian Lewis 6-0 Kai Fan Leung
William O’Connor 6-2 Mickey Mansell
Scott Waites 6-3 Ciaran Teehan
Steve Brown 6-5 Gabriel Clemens
Matthew Edgar 6-5 Wayne Jones
Daryl Gurney 6-3 Sean Fisher
Martin Schindler 6-5 Niels Zonneveld
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-5 Berry van Peer
Jesus Noguera 6-3 Lisa Ashton
Callan Rydz 6-0 John Michael
Jack Main 6-5 Lee Evans
Jon Worsley 6-5 Danny Noppert
Jason Heaver 6-5 Simon Whitlock
Gary Anderson 6-5 Martijn Kleermaker
William Borland 6-1 Eddie Lovely
Michael Smith 6-4 Justin Pipe
Martin Thomas 6-1 Brett Claydon
Madars Razma 6-4 Geert De Vos
Krzysztof Kciuk 6-1 Derk Telnekes
Rob Cross 6-2 Jeffrey De Zwaan
Andy Hamilton 6-4 John Brown
Ryan Meikle 6-4 Ryan Searle
Maik Kuivenhoven 6-4 Gordon Mathers
Peter Wright 6-1 Scott Williams
Lorenzo Pronk 6-3 Aaron Beeney
Ryan Joyce 6-0 Peter Hudson
Luc Peters 6-5 Chris Dobey
Brendan Dolan 6-2 Mike De Decker
Michael Rasztovits 6-4 Jason Lowe
Ross Smith 6-0 Keegan Brown
Ricky Evans 6-3 Joe Murnan
Rowby-John Rodriguez 6-5 Kevin McDine
Lewis Williams 6-5 Darius Labanauskas
Steve Lennon 6-4 Nick Kenny
Alan Tabern 6-5 Ian White
Steve Beaton 6-2 Boris Krcmar
Mervyn King 6-3 John Henderson
Chas Barstow 6-3 Jim McEwan
Karel Sedlacek 6-1 Devon Petersen
Martin Atkins 6-2 Jeff Smith
Luke Humphries 6-5 Alan Soutar
Geert Nentjes 6-2 Josh Payne
Rusty-Jake Rodriguez 6-3 Damon Heta
Ted Evetts 6-1 Scott Mitchell
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-5 Matt Jackson
Danny Baggish 6-5 James Wilson
Kevin Doets 6-3 Boris Koltsov
Ron Meulenkamp 6-4 Jamie Hughes
Raymond van Barneveld 6-3 Adam Mould
Dave Chisnall 6-5 Steve West
Robert Thornton 6-2 Ritchie Edhouse
Vincent van der Voort 6-2 Ryan Murray
Andrew Gilding 6-1 David Evans
Jonny Clayton 6-5 Martin Lukeman
Gary Blades 6-2 Kim Huybrechts
Bradley Brooks 6-4 Stephen Bunting
Darren Webster 6-4 José Justicia
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-1 Jake Jones
Ryan De Vreede 6-5 Peter Jacques
Luke Woodhouse 6-4 Jermaine Wattimena
Andy Boulton 6-4 Jelle Klaasen

Second Round
Adrian Lewis 6-4 Joe Cullen
Scott Waites 6-4 William O’Connor
Steve Brown 6-5 Matthew Edgar
Daryl Gurney 6-4 Martin Schindler
Jesus Noguera 6-5 Krzysztof Ratajski
Callan Rydz 6-0 Jack Main
Jason Heaver 6-5 Jon Worsley
William Borland 6-3 Gary Anderson
Michael Smith 6-5 Martin Thomas
Madars Razma 6-3 Krzysztof Kciuk
Rob Cross 6-5 Andy Hamilton
Ryan Meikle 6-4 Maik Kuivenhoven
Peter Wright 6-2 Lorenzo Pronk
Ryan Joyce 6-4 Luc Peters
Brendan Dolan 6-3 Michael Rasztovits
Ross Smith 6-5 Ricky Evans
Rowby-John Rodriguez 6-5 José de Sousa
Lewis Williams 6-4 Steve Lennon
Steve Beaton 6-1 Alan Tabern
Mervyn King 6-2 Chas Barstow
Karel Sedlacek 6-2 Martin Atkins
Luke Humphries 6-2 Geert Nentjes
Rusty-Jake Rodriguez 6-1 Ted Evetts
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-5 Danny Baggish
Gerwyn Price 6-5 Kevin Doets
Ron Meulenkamp 6-2 Raymond van Barneveld
Dave Chisnall 6-4 Robert Thornton
Vincent van der Voort 6-5 Andrew Gilding
Jonny Clayton 6-2 Gary Blades
Bradley Brooks 6-2 Darren Webster
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-4 Ryan De Vreede
Luke Woodhouse 6-1 Andy Boulton
Losers: £500

Last 32
Adrian Lewis 6-5 Scott Waites
Steve Brown 6-2 Daryl Gurney
Callan Rydz 6-2 Jesus Noguera
Jason Heaver 6-5 William Borland
Michael Smith 6-3 Madars Razma
Rob Cross 6-3 Ryan Meikle
Peter Wright 6-5 Ryan Joyce
Brendan Dolan 6-4 Ross Smith
Lewis Williams 6-3 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Steve Beaton 6-1 Mervyn King
Luke Humphries 6-3 Karel Sedlacek
Rusty-Jake Rodriguez 6-2 Dimitri Van den Bergh
Gerwyn Price 6-3 Ron Meulenkamp
Vincent van der Voort 6-5 Dave Chisnall
Jonny Clayton 6-4 Bradley Brooks
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-5 Luke Woodhouse
Losers: £1,000

Last 16
Adrian Lewis 6-3 Steve Brown
Callan Rydz 6-2 Jason Heaver
Rob Cross 6-4 Michael Smith
Peter Wright 6-5 Brendan Dolan
Steve Beaton 6-2 Lewis Williams
Luke Humphries 6-5 Rusty-Jake Rodriguez
Gerwyn Price 6-5 Vincent van der Voort
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-2 Jonny Clayton
Losers: £1,500

Callan Rydz 6-3 Adrian Lewis
Peter Wright 6-1 Rob Cross
Luke Humphries 6-5 Steve Beaton
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-3 Gerwyn Price
Losers: £2,250

Peter Wright 7-0 Callan Rydz
Luke Humphries 7-3 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Losers: £3,000

Peter Wright 8-4 Luke Humphries
Winner: £10,000
Runner-up: £6,000