Left arrow

PDC Super Series 8 Day Three | Players Championship 30 Draw and Live Scores

Ruthless Ratajski claims Players Championship 30 triumph

Jamie Shaw in PDC Super Series 04 Nov 2021
Polish ace Ratajski celebrates (Photo by Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

Krzysztof Ratajski secured the final Players Championship title of 2021 with a dramatic 8-7 win over Joe Cullen in the final in Barnsley.

The Polish ace last tasted victory on the ProTour in February 2020, but saved his best display of the year for the 30th Players Championship to clinch the £10,000 title.

Cullen had looked on course to win his third Players Championship title of 2021 as he established leads of 3-1 and 7-5 in a gripping final.

Ratajski, though, followed up earlier finishes of 139 and 108 by landing double eight to break throw in leg 13 and then taking out 87 to send the final into a deciding leg.

Against the throw, he was crucially first to a finish and checked out 112 in clinical fashion to complete his comeback.

“It was incredible for me, very emotional,” admitted Ratajski. “I’m really happy with this win, it’s very important for me.

“It’s a long time since I won the last tournament and it’s something incredible for me, really.

“At the start of the season I played good in the stage tournaments but in the floor tournament’s I wasn’t so good.

“In these last three days I’ve played really brilliant darts and felt really good. It’s a big thing for me.”

Ratajski had produced some outstanding displays earlier in the day, including a 107.7 average to defeat Simon Whitlock, a 12-darter in the deciding leg against form star Jonny Clayton and a 100 average in his 7-3 Semi-Final win over Darius Labanauskas.

Cullen, meanwhile, achieved three ton-plus averages during his run to a fourth Players Championship final of the year.

He came from 3-0 down to win his semi-final against Michael van Gerwen with a stunning average of 111.28, hitting seven doubles from as many attempts and six 180s in a remarkable comeback.

Van Gerwen had been bidding to claim back-to-back ProTour wins after picking up his first ranking title of 2021 on Wednesday.

The world number three had continued his fine form with three ton-plus averages and defeats of Daryl Gurney and Damon Heta in reaching the Semi-Finals, only to see Cullen’s brilliance end his hopes.

Lithuania’s Labanauskas enjoyed his best run in a Players Championship since May 2019 as he saw off UK Open champion James Wade, Dirk van Duijvenbode and in-form Ryan Searle in five wins to end the ProTour season on a high.

Matthew Edgar reached his first Players Championship Quarter-Final since February 2019 as he overcame top seed Michael Smith and UK Open finalist Luke Humphries.

Simon Whitlock’s run to the Last 16 was enough to secure him a place in the Players Championship Finals later this month, which features the top 64 players from the final 2021 Players Championship Order of Merit.


Players Championship 30 Results

Thursday November 4

First Round
Michael Smith (BYE)
Alan Soutar 6-4 Ryan Meikle
Matthew Edgar 6-5 Martijn Kleermaker
Robert Thornton 6-3 Eddie Lovely
Luke Humphries 6-2 Darren Webster
Ricky Evans 6-5 Ted Evetts
Ross Smith 6-3 Gary Blades
Jason Heaver 6-4 William Borland
Michael van Gerwen 6-1 Jon Worsley
Ryan Murray 6-5 Steve Lennon
Daryl Gurney 6-2 Ian White
Rowby-John Rodriguez 6-4 Mickey Mansell
Damon Heta 6-1 Florian Hempel
Max Hopp 6-4 Ryan De Vreede
Dave Chisnall 6-4 Brett Claydon
Adam Hunt 6-4 Ciaran Teehan
Joe Cullen 6-3 Jeffrey De Zwaan
Andy Boulton 6-2 William O’Connor
Kim Huybrechts 6-1 Richard Veenstra
David Evans 6-0 Martin Lukeman
Callan Rydz 6-3 John Henderson
Peter Hudson 6-3 Jake Jones
Jamie Hughes 6-3 Chris Dobey
Gary Anderson 6-3 Steve Brown
Keegan Brown 6-4 Brendan Dolan
Mike De Decker 6-5 Alan Tabern
Martin Schindler 6-3 Lorenzo Pronk
Wayne Jones 6-1 Luc Peters
Jim McEwan 6-2 Dimitri Van den Bergh
Madars Razma 6-0 John Brown
Danny Noppert 6-4 Jack Main
Joe Murnan 6-5 Aaron Beeney
Jose de Sousa 6-2 Lukas Wenig
Ritchie Edhouse 6-4 Jesus Noguera
Jermaine Wattimena 6-1 Jason Lowe
Mensur Suljovic 6-2 Peter Jacques
Nick Kenny 6-4 Gabriel Clemens
Carl Wilkinson 6-5 Davy Proosten
James Wade 6-0 Jelle Klaasen
Scott Williams 6-5 Chas Barstow
Darius Labanauskas 6-4 Ryan Searle
Andrew Gilding 6-3 Krzysztof Kciuk
Ryan Joyce 6-2 Boris Krcmar
Maik Kuivenhoven 6-4 Devon Petersen
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-4 James Wilson
Mark McGeeney 6-5 Sean Fisher
Danny Baggish 6-3 Vincent van der Voort
Steve West 6-2 Andy Hamilton
Karel Sedlacek 6-4 Peter Wright
Simon Whitlock 6-2 Lisa Ashton
Raymond van Barneveld 6-3 Boris Koltsov
Adam Gawlas 6-2 Gordon Mathers
Nathan Aspinall 6-3 Lewis Williams
Luke Woodhouse 6-4 Kai Fan Leung
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-4 Berry van Peer
Jose Justicia 6-1 Josh Payne
Jonny Clayton 6-4 Steve Beaton
Keane Barry 6-1 Gavin Carlin
Adrian Lewis 6-3 Martin Thomas
Scott Mitchell 6-4 Kevin McDine
Rob Cross 6-1 Matt Jackson
Kevin Doets 6-4 Geert De Vos
Stephen Bunting 6-5 Scott Waites
Martin Atkins 6-5 Ron Meulenkamp

Second Round
Michael Smith 6-3 Alan Soutar
Matthew Edgar 6-1 Robert Thornton
Luke Humphries 6-2 Ricky Evans
Jason Heaver 6-4 Ross Smith
Michael van Gerwen 6-5 Ryan Murray
Daryl Gurney 6-3 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Damon Heta 6-2 Max Hopp
Adam Hunt 6-4 Dave Chisnall
Joe Cullen 6-5 Andy Boulton
Kim Huybrechts 6-5 David Evans
Callan Rydz 6-0 Peter Hudson
Gary Anderson 6-4 Jamie Hughes
Keegan Brown 6-5 Mike De Decker
Martin Schindler 6-1 Wayne Jones
Jim McEwan 6-4 Madars Razma
Danny Noppert 6-2 Joe Murnan
Jose de Sousa 6-0 Ritchie Edhouse
Mensur Suljovic 6-2 Jermaine Wattimena
Carl Wilkinson 6-3 Nick Kenny
James Wade 6-1 Scott Williams
Darius Labanauskas 6-4 Andrew Gilding
Maik Kuivenhoven 6-5 Ryan Joyce
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-1 Mark McGeeney
Danny Baggish 6-2 Steve West
Simon Whitlock 6-5 Karel Sedlacek
Raymond van Barneveld 6-2 Adam Gawlas
Nathan Aspinall 6-4 Luke Woodhouse
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-1 Jose Justicia
Jonny Clayton 6-3 Keane Barry
Adrian Lewis 6-2 Scott Mitchell
Rob Cross 6-3 Kevin Doets
Stephen Bunting 6-5 Martin Atkins
Losers: £500

Last 32
Matthew Edgar 6-4 Michael Smith
Luke Humphries 6-4 Jason Heaver
Michael van Gerwen 6-4 Daryl Gurney
Damon Heta 6-4 Adam Hunt
Joe Cullen 6-5 Kim Huybrechts
Callan Rydz 6-2 Gary Anderson
Martin Schindler 6-2 Keegan Brown
Danny Noppert 6-3 Jim McEwan
Mensur Suljovic 6-3 Jose de Sousa
James Wade 6-4 Carl Wilkinson
Darius Labanauskas 6-2 Maik Kuivenhoven
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-2 Danny Baggish
Simon Whitlock 6-5 Raymond van Barneveld
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-2 Nathan Aspinall
Jonny Clayton 6-1 Adrian Lewis
Stephen Bunting 6-4 Rob Cross
Losers: £1,000

Last 16
Matthew Edgar 6-5 Luke Humphries
Michael van Gerwen 6-4 Damon Heta
Joe Cullen 6-4 Callan Rydz
Danny Noppert 6-5 Martin Schindler
James Wade 6-5 Mensur Suljovic
Darius Labanauskas 6-5 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-2 Simon Whitlock
Jonny Clayton 6-1 Stephen Bunting
Losers: £1,500

Michael van Gerwen 6-3 Matthew Edgar
Joe Cullen 6-3 Danny Noppert
Darius Labanauskas 6-4 James Wade
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-5 Jonny Clayton
Losers: £2,250

Joe Cullen 7-4 Michael van Gerwen
Krzysztof Ratajski 7-3 Darius Labanauskas
Losers: £3,000

Krzysztof Ratajski 8-7 Joe Cullen
Winner: £10,000
Runner-up: £6,000

  • Get 25/1 for England and France to reach QFs
  • New UK customers with bonus code: ENGFRA25
  • Watch PDC Darts streamed live here
  • Bet £10 and Get £50 in Free Bets when you register