Left arrow

PDC Super Series 7 Day Three | Players Championship 26 Draw and Live Scores

Right arrow

PDC Super Series 7 Day Four | Players Championship 27 Draw and Live Scores

Cross continues winning run at Players Championship 26

Jamie Shaw in PDC Super Series 21 Oct 2021
Rob Cross celebrates (Photo by Kais Bodensieck/PDC Europe)

Rob Cross continued his prolific resurgence by claiming the Players Championship 26 title in Barnsley with an 8-6 victory over Ryan Searle in the final.

Cross, who picked up a second European Championship title on Sunday, backed up that success by winning his first Players Championship title since June 2018.

The 2018 World Champion averaged above 100 in five of his seven matches on Thursday, registering wins over Scottish World Cup-winning pair Peter Wright and John Henderson, as well as defeating David Evans, Andy Hamilton and Vincent van der Voort.

He then defied a nine-darter from Madars Razma to win their Semi-Final 7-4, pulling clear from four-all to move into the title decider.

Cross dominated the final, taking out 124 on the bull to break in the opening leg, leading 2-0, 3-1 and 6-2 with some fine darts – including a pressure 96 in leg six to deny Searle a chance to level.

Searle took three legs in a row to reduce the gap to one leg at 6-5, but Cross produced a timely 14-darter to earn breathing space and responded to a 105 checkout from his opponent by finishing 76 to claim the title.

“It’s so surprising what a bit of confidence does – I’ve played well this week,” said Cross.

“I feel like I’m never going to miss when I put that first dart in there. That’s a kick-start, and the confidence on top made me a winner today.

“It’s taken a lot of work. For 18-20 months I’ve been terrible.

“I seem to find that, when things all go wrong, you never enjoy it, and then all of a sudden you start to get a little bit of improvement and enjoy it a little bit more.

“I want to wear my heart on my sleeve, I want to enjoy it and win. We’re going to ride this crest of a wave.”

Searle, who was celebrating his 34th birthday, averaged 103 against Robert Thornton and Mike De Decker, while also defeating Daryl Gurney, Michael Smith and Nathan Aspinall in his run to a third ProTour final of 2021.

Latvia’s Razma enjoyed his best run in a ProTour event this year, defeating top seed Joe Cullen and Nordic rival Darius Labanauskas on his way to the semi-finals, where he achieved his nine-darter in defeat to Cross.

Aspinall reached his third Semi-Final inside a month before losing out to Searle, having defeated Gary Anderson, Krzysztof Ratajski, Jose de Sousa and Dirk van Duijvenbode.

Van der Voort and Van Duijvenbode were joined in the quarter-finals by Michael Smith and Luke Woodhouse, while world number two Peter Wright lost out in the last 16.

Michael van Gerwen was defeated in the Last 32 by Daryl Gurney as the three-time World Champion lost despite a 107 average for the second time in three days.


Players Championship 26 Results

Thursday October 21

First Round
Joe Cullen 6-0 John Brown
Niels Zonneveld 6-4 Brett Claydon
Rusty-Jake Rodriguez 6-1 Jermaine Wattimena
Madars Razma 6-2 Darius Labanauskas
Ross Smith 6-5 Matthew Edgar
Devon Petersen 6-4 Darren Webster
Danny Noppert 6-1 Derk Telnekes
Jeffrey De Zwaan 6-2 Chas Barstow
Rowby-John Rodriguez 6-2 Dimitri Van den Bergh
Nick Kenny 6-3 Michael Rasztovits
Mervyn King 6-1 Adam Hunt
Luke Woodhouse 6-4 Florian Hempel
James Wade 6-2 Ryan Murray
Keegan Brown 6-3 Carl Wilkinson
Dave Chisnall 6-4 Matt Jackson
Ron Meulenkamp 6-3 William O’Connor
Peter Wright 6-2 Mark McGeeney
Danny Baggish 6-4 Lewis Williams
Martijn Kleermaker 6-4 Gordon Mathers
Jim McEwan 6-2 Steve Brown
Boris Krcmar 6-2 Luke Humphries
Andy Hamilton 6-4 Aaron Beeney
Rob Cross 6-0 David Evans
John Henderson 6-1 Jose Justicia
Brendan Dolan 6-0 Andrew Gilding
Karel Sedlacek 6-2 Harald Leitinger
Ryan Joyce 6-4 Max Hopp
Jeff Smith 6-1 Kevin McDine
Callan Rydz 6-1 Bradley Brooks
Steve West 6-2 Steve Beaton
Vincent van der Voort 6-4 Scott Mitchell
Jack Main 6-3 Kai Fan Leung
Jose de Sousa 6-1 Ciaran Teehan
Eddie Lovely 6-3 Jesus Noguera
Raymond van Barneveld 6-1 John Michael
Scott Waites 6-1 Wayne Jones
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-1 William Borland
Krzysztof Kciuk 6-4 Jamie Hughes
Nathan Aspinall 6-1 Adam Gawlas
Gary Anderson 6-2 Jelle Klaasen
Damon Heta 6-3 Luc Peters
Kevin Doets 6-5 Martin Thomas
Jason Heaver 6-4 Chris Dobey
Alan Tabern 6-4 Steve Lennon
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-4 Keane Barry
Kim Huybrechts 6-5 Alan Soutar
Ricky Evans 6-5 Mensur Suljovic
Lisa Ashton 6-2 Peter Jacques
Michael Smith 6-1 Gavin Carlin
Josh Payne 6-1 Jake Jones
Martin Schindler 6-1 Peter Hudson
Ted Evetts 6-3 Joe Murnan
Gabriel Clemens 6-3 Mickey Mansell
Geert Nentjes 6-4 Andy Boulton
Stephen Bunting 6-2 Gary Blades
Ritchie Edhouse 6-3 Ian White
Michael van Gerwen 6-5 Berry van Peer
Ryan Meikle 6-2 Boris Koltsov
Daryl Gurney 6-2 Jason Lowe
Geert De Vos 6-4 Simon Whitlock
Ryan Searle 6-2 Michael Unterbuchner
Robert Thornton 6-4 Maik Kuivenhoven
Jon Worsley 6-4 Adrian Lewis
Mike De Decker 6-1 James Wilson

Second Round
Joe Cullen 6-5 Niels Zonneveld
Madars Razma 6-3 Rusty-Jake Rodriguez
Ross Smith 6-4 Devon Petersen
Jeffrey De Zwaan 6-4 Danny Noppert
Rowby-John Rodriguez 6-2 Nick Kenny
Luke Woodhouse 6-5 Mervyn King
Keegan Brown 6-5 James Wade
Dave Chisnall 6-0 Ron Meulenkamp
Peter Wright 6-5 Danny Baggish
Martijn Kleermaker 6-5 Jim McEwan
Andy Hamilton 6-3 Boris Krcmar
Rob Cross 6-4 John Henderson
Brendan Dolan 6-4 Karel Sedlacek
Ryan Joyce 6-0 Jeff Smith
Steve West 6-4 Callan Rydz
Vincent van der Voort 6-4 Jack Main
Jose de Sousa 6-3 Eddie Lovely
Raymond van Barneveld 6-5 Scott Waites
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-0 Krzysztof Kciuk
Nathan Aspinall 6-3 Gary Anderson
Kevin Doets 6-2 Damon Heta
Jason Heaver 6-5 Alan Tabern
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-3 Kim Huybrechts
Ricky Evans 6-1 Lisa Ashton
Michael Smith 6-1 Josh Payne
Martin Schindler 6-3 Ted Evetts
Gabriel Clemens 6-5 Geert Nentjes
Stephen Bunting 6-5 Ritchie Edhouse
Michael van Gerwen 6-2 Ryan Meikle
Daryl Gurney 6-2 Geert De Vos
Ryan Searle 6-3 Robert Thornton
Mike De Decker 6-5 Jon Worsley
Losers: £500

Last 32
Madars Razma 6-2 Joe Cullen
Ross Smith 6-4 Jeffrey De Zwaan
Luke Woodhouse 6-0 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Dave Chisnall 6-5 Keegan Brown
Peter Wright 6-4 Martijn Kleermaker
Rob Cross 6-2 Andy Hamilton
Brendan Dolan 6-4 Ryan Joyce
Vincent van der Voort 6-1 Steve West
Jose de Sousa 6-1 Raymond van Barneveld
Nathan Aspinall 6-3 Krzysztof Ratajski
Jason Heaver 6-5 Kevin Doets
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-1 Ricky Evans
Michael Smith 6-2 Martin Schindler
Stephen Bunting 6-5 Gabriel Clemens
Daryl Gurney 6-3 Michael van Gerwen
Ryan Searle 6-1 Mike De Decker
Losers: £1,000

Last 16
Madars Razma 6-5 Ross Smith
Luke Woodhouse 6-4 Dave Chisnall
Rob Cross 6-3 Peter Wright
Vincent van der Voort 6-2 Brendan Dolan
Nathan Aspinall 6-2 Jose de Sousa
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-2 Jason Heaver
Michael Smith 6-3 Stephen Bunting
Ryan Searle 6-4 Daryl Gurney
Losers: £1,500

Madars Razma 6-4 Luke Woodhouse
Rob Cross 6-2 Vincent van der Voort
Nathan Aspinall 6-4 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Ryan Searle 6-4 Michael Smith
Losers: £2,250

Rob Cross 7-4 Madars Razma – *Razma hits a nine-darter*
Ryan Searle 7-5 Nathan Aspinall
Losers: £3,000

Rob Cross 8-6 Ryan Searle
Winner: £10,000
Runner-up: £6,000

Latest Darts Offers

  • Bet £10 and get £50 in Free Darts Bets
  • Bet £10 on World Championship winner and get £2 Free Bet for every match they win
  • Watch all Modus Live League matches streamed here
  • Get up to £100 in Bet Credits when you join