Left arrow

PDC Super Series Day Four Draw: The First Round line-up for Players Championship 4

Right arrow

Razma clarifies Van Gerwen incident at the PDC Super Series

In-form Clayton claims PDC Super Series title

Jamie Shaw in PDC Super Series 28 Feb 2021
Clayton doubles his title tally for the season (Photo by Chris Dean/PDC)

Jonny Clayton secured his second title of 2021 at the PDC Super Series in Bolton with an 8-6 victory over Damon Heta in the final.

Masters Champion Clayton, who had finished runner-up in two of the opening three PDC Super Series events, went one better on the final day as he clinched the £10,000 top prize.

Clayton had been in terrific form throughout the week and averaged 98.5 across his seven wins en route to glory on Sunday.

“It’s all about confidence and I’m feeling very good,” said Clayton. “Sometimes when I feel like I’ve played badly, I’m still averaging nearly 96 so something must be going right.

“I had my chances against Joe [Cullen] and Callan [Rydz] in the other finals, but that’s how it goes. I’m very happy to have won one.”

The Welsh World Cup winner began by thrashing Wigan’s Martin Atkins 6-1 before averaging 109.6 in a 6-2 victory over Andy Boulton.

He followed that up with a 103.3 average in defeating Rowby-John Rodriguez 6-4 before replicating that scoreline against Grand Slam champion Jose De Sousa in the Last 16.

Clayton then saw off Michael Smith 6-3 before edging out German number one Gabriel Clemens 7-5 in the Semi-Finals.

The world number 18 began the final strongly by taking the first leg against the throw and doubling his lead with an 80 checkout.

Heta, however, hit back with a run of three consecutive legs to move in front, but only to miss two darts at double 14 and allow Clayton to restore parity.

Heta did regain the lead with a 68 checkout but Clayton levelled again before producing a clinical ten-darter and a 68 finish to move 6-4 ahead.

The duo then exchanged 68 finishes before Heta landed double six to stay in touch at 7-6 behind, but Clayton held firm to close out victory in leg 14.

Australia’s Heta was bidding for his second Players Championship title in the space of 12 months and enjoyed a remarkable run of results en route to the final.

The 2019 Brisbane Masters champion whitewashed David Evans before dispatching Saturday’s winner Raymond van Barneveld, Mervyn King, Peter Wright, Dirk van Duijvenbode and Michael van Gerwen.

Meanwhile, Luke Woodhouse became the fourth player in as many days to achieve a nine-dart finish, but it was not enough to avert a 6-3 defeat to Danny Noppert in Round One.

Gary Anderson suffered a shock First Round exit at the hands of World Youth Champion Bradley Brooks, while the likes of Simon Whitlock, Dimitri van den Bergh and Nathan Aspinall also crashed out at the first hurdle.


PDC Super Series 2021 Event Four Results

Sunday February 28

First Round
Martin Schindler 6-3 William Borland
Ricky Evans 6-2 Michael Unterbuchner
Kirk Shepherd 6-2 Karel Sedlacek
Dave Chisnall 6-5 Matthew Edgar
Scott Waites 6-2 Danny Baggish
Daryl Gurney 6-1 Eddie Lovely
Martin Lukeman 6-5 Simon Whitlock
Devon Petersen 6-4 Lisa Ashton
Rusty-Jake Rodriguez 6-0 Mark McGeeney
Gabriel Clemens 6-4 John Michael
Geert De Vos 6-1 Steve Brown
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-1 Daniel Larsson
Darius Labanauskas 6-2 Boris Krcmar
Vincent van der Voort 6-1 William O’Connor
John Brown 6-2 Jelle Klaasen
José de Sousa 6-4 Zoran Lerchbacher
Maik Kuivenhoven 6-5 Aaron Beeney
Kai Fan Leung 6-4 Ross Smith
Ryan Meikle 6-5 Chris Dobey
Jonny Clayton 6-1 Martin Atkins
Andy Boulton 6-3 Peter Hudson
Rowby-John Rodriguez 6-4 Brendan Dolan
Ron Meulenkamp 6-2 Harald Leitinger
Michael Smith 6-2 Gary Blades
Justin Pipe 6-3 Jeffrey De Zwaan
Steffen Siepmann 6-3 Martijn Kleermaker
Gordon Mathers 6-3 Mickey Mansell
Danny Noppert 6-3 Luke Woodhouse – *Woodhouse hits a nine-darter*
Krzysztof Kciuk 6-2 Mike De Decker
Callan Rydz 6-2 Lewis Williams
Andy Hamilton 6-4 Brett Claydon
Michael van Gerwen 6-2 Adam Gawlas
Bradley Brooks 6-4 Gary Anderson
Kim Huybrechts 6-2 Boris Koltsov
Luke Humphries 6-1 Steve West
Rob Cross 6-1 Berry van Peer
Michael Rasztovits 6-3 Martin Thomas
Glen Durrant 6-5 Jason Lowe
Jake Jones 6-3 Dimitri Van den Bergh
Chas Barstow 6-4 Nathan Aspinall
Alan Tabern 6-3 Keane Barry
Madars Razma 6-4 John Henderson
Luc Peters 6-5 Joe Murnan
Adrian Lewis 6-3 Ian White
Jesus Noguera 6-3 Ciaran Teehan
Jermaine Wattimena 6-2 Ryan Murray
Nick Kenny 6-3 Andrew Gilding
Peter Wright 6-2 Adam Hunt
Jack Main 6-4 Derk Telnekes
Ryan Joyce 6-2 Lorenzo Pronk
Ted Evetts 6-4 Jon Worsley
Damon Heta 6-0 David Evans
Raymond van Barneveld 6-4 Geert Nentjes
Mervyn King 6-3 Jason Heaver
Alan Soutar 6-2 Darren Webster
James Wade 6-3 Steve Lennon
Peter Jacques 6-4 Ritchie Edhouse
James Wilson 6-3 Stephen Bunting
Jeff Smith 6-4 Niels Zonneveld
Keegan Brown 6-3 Mensur Suljovic
Ryan Searle 6-4 Josh Payne
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-1 Scott Mitchell
Max Hopp 6-4 Steve Beaton

Second Round
Joe Cullen 6-4 Martin Schindler
Kirk Shepherd 6-5 Ricky Evans
Dave Chisnall 6-3 Scott Waites
Daryl Gurney 6-2 Martin Lukeman
Devon Petersen 6-3 Rusty-Jake Rodriguez
Gabriel Clemens 6-5 Geert De Vos
Darius Labanauskas 6-4 Krzysztof Ratajski
John Brown 6-5 Vincent van der Voort
José de Sousa 6-0 Maik Kuivenhoven
Ryan Meikle 6-4 Kai Fan Leung
Jonny Clayton 6-2 Andy Boulton
Rowby-John Rodriguez 6-5 Ron Meulenkamp
Michael Smith 6-1 Justin Pipe
Steffen Siepmann 6-2 Gordon Mathers
Danny Noppert 6-1 Krzysztof Kciuk
Callan Rydz 6-3 Andy Hamilton
Michael van Gerwen 6-2 Bradley Brooks
Kim Huybrechts 6-3 Luke Humphries
Michael Rasztovits 6-5 Rob Cross
Jake Jones 6-3 Glen Durrant
Chas Barstow 6-5 Alan Tabern
Madars Razma 6-3 Luc Peters
Jesus Noguera 6-3 Adrian Lewis
Nick Kenny 6-3 Jermaine Wattimena
Peter Wright 6-4 Jack Main
Ted Evetts 6-2 Ryan Joyce
Damon Heta 6-4 Raymond van Barneveld
Mervyn King 6-2 Alan Soutar
James Wade 6-1 Peter Jacques
Jeff Smith 6-5 James Wilson
Ryan Searle 6-3 Keegan Brown
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-1 Max Hopp
Losers: £500

Last 32
Joe Cullen 6-4 Kirk Shepherd
Daryl Gurney 6-3 Dave Chisnall
Gabriel Clemens 6-2 Devon Petersen
Darius Labanauskas 6-1 John Brown
José de Sousa 6-3 Ryan Meikle
Jonny Clayton 6-4 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Michael Smith 6-5 Steffen Siepmann
Danny Noppert 6-5 Callan Rydz
Michael van Gerwen 6-2 Kim Huybrechts
Jake Jones 6-3 Michael Rasztovits
Chas Barstow v Madars Razma
Jesus Noguera 6-4 Nick Kenny
Peter Wright 6-3 Ted Evetts
Damon Heta 6-5 Mervyn King
James Wade 6-4 Jeff Smith
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-3 Ryan Searle
Losers: £1,000

Last 16
Daryl Gurney 6-4 Joe Cullen
Gabriel Clemens 6-2 Darius Labanauskas
Jonny Clayton 6-4 Jose De Sousa
Michael Smith 6-5 Danny Noppert
Michael van Gerwen 6-3 Jake Jones
Madars Razma 6-5 Jesus Noguera
Damon Heta 6-2 Peter Wright
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-2 James Wade
Losers: £1,500

Gabriel Clemens 6-4 Daryl Gurney
Jonny Clayton 6-3 Michael Smith
Michael van Gerwen 6-2 Madars Razma
Damon Heta 6-3 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Losers: £2,250

Jonny Clayton 7-5 Gabriel Clemens
Damon Heta 7-3 Michael van Gerwen
Losers: £3,000

Jonny Clayton 8-6 Damon Heta
Winner: £10,000
Runner-up: £6,000