Left arrow

Players Championship 2020 Event Four Draw: The First Round line-up for Sunday’s ProTour event in Wigan

Right arrow

Players Championship darts events 5-6 live stream: How to watch exclusively live online

Rampant Ratajski claims Players Championship Four title

Jamie Shaw in Players Championship 16 Feb 2020
Six of the best for Ratajski (Photo by Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

Krzysztof Ratajski secured his sixth PDC ranking title at Players Championship Four courtesy of a dramatic 8-7 win over Ian White in the final in Wigan on Sunday.

Ratajski, who claimed a brace of Players Championship titles in 2018 and 2019 as well as the Gibraltar Trophy, opened his account for the new season with an impressive success at the Robin Park Sports Centre.

The Polish number one came through three last-leg deciders on the way to clinching the £10,000 title, including a gripping final against Stoke star White.

“When Ian took out 155 it was a terrible moment for me, it made it really hard,” said Ratajski.

“This tournament was sometimes lucky for me, I won a few games 6-5 and I survived match darts twice.

“But then I played very well with averages over 100 and I feel very comfortable with the new darts I am playing with.

“I hope this will be my best season. Last season was brilliant and I hope this one will be even better.”

The first six legs of the final were each won with the throw before Ratajski gained the first break with double 16 to lead 4-3.

He then followed up with a hold to move two clear, maintaining that advantage until 7-5, before White landed double eight in leg 13 and produced a sensational 155 checkout to force a decider with the Pole waiting on tops for the match.

Ratajski, though, missed the bull for a 170 checkout in the decider but returned to hit double eight to seal the deal.

He began his run to the final with a narrow 6-5 win over Mickey Mansell before overcoming Challenge Tour top-up Robert Collins 6-4.

The Polish Eagle then dispatched Vincent van der Voort 6-3 before holding his nerve to edge out Welsh newcomer Nick Kenny 6-5 with a 104.5 average.

Ratajski increased his average to 106.5 in seeing off German ace Gabriel Clemens 6-4 in the Quarter-Finals and followed up with a 103 average in a 7-2 rout of Danny Noppert.

Noppert had earlier knocked out Dutch rival Michael van Gerwen with a 6-4 scalp in the Quarter-Finals, following on from his nine-dart exploits on Saturday.

A resurgent Maik Kuivenhoven reached his second ProTour Quarter-Final of the season, where he was beaten 6-2 by Peter Wright – who averaged 112.8.

Despite a 103.8 average, Wright’s run ended at the Semi-Final stage at the hands of a rock solid White in a last-leg decider.

Players Championship Four Results

Sunday February 16

First Round
Michael van Gerwen 6-4 Andy Boulton
Ryan Murray 6-1 Devon Petersen
Ross Smith 6-5 Justin Pipe
Marko Kantele 6-3 Darren Penhall
Jermaine Wattimena 6-3 Ciaran Teehan
Andrew Gilding 6-3 Boris Krcmar
Gary Anderson 6-2 Jeffrey De Zwaan
Jonathan Worsley 6-3 Adrian Gray
James Wade 6-5 Ted Evetts
Harry Ward 6-3 Kai Fan Leung
Chris Dobey 6-2 William Borland
Ryan Searle 6-3 Derk Telnekes
Nathan Aspinall 6-3 Barrie Bates
Robert Thornton 6-5 Martijn Kleermaker
Danny Noppert 6-3 Adam Hunt
Christian Bunse 6-1 Lisa Ashton
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-5 Mickey Mansell
Robert Collins 6-1 Bradley Brooks
Vincent van der Voort 6-5 Mark McGeeney
Matthew Edgar 6-3 Darren Webster
Jonny Clayton 6-2 Damon Heta
Nick Kenny 6-4 Matthew Dennant
Conan Whitehead 6-2 Keegan Brown
Jelle Klaasen 6-4 Geert Nentjes
Toni Alcinas 6-4 Dave Chisnall
Harald Leitinger 6-2 Richard North
Gabriel Clemens 6-4 Benito van de Pas
Kirk Shepherd 6-2 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Adrian Lewis 6-4 William O’Connor
Luke Woodhouse 6-2 Andy Hamilton
Madars Razma 6-2 Steve Beaton
Mike De Decker 6-5 Steve West
Ian White 6-3 Jan Dekker
Martin Schindler 6-5 Simon Stevenson
John Henderson 6-5 Carl Wilkinson
Alan Tabern 6-4 Steffen Siepmann
Jamie Hughes 6-3 Scott Waites
Wesley Harms 6-3 Krzysztof Kciuk
Darius Labanauskas 6-1 Michael Smith
Scott Mitchell 6-3 John Michael
Mensur Suljovic 6-3 Callan Rydz
Steve Lennon 6-5 Mervyn King
Simon Whitlock 6-3 Jamie Lewis
Joe Murnan 6-5 Peter Jacques
Glen Durrant 6-5 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Jesus Noguera 6-1 Steve Brown
James Wilson 6-5 Ricky Evans
Niels Zonneveld 6-1 Adam Huckvale
Peter Wright 6-1 Wayne Jones
Gary Blades 6-3 Mike van Duivenbode
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-3 Aaron Beeney
Kim Huybrechts 6-2 Scott Baker
Rob Cross 6-4 Jeff Smith
Karel Sedlacek 6-5 Matt Clark
Jose De Sousa 6-3 Yordi Meeuwisse
Luke Humphries 6-3 Stu Wilson
Gavin Carlin 6-5 Daryl Gurney
Daniel Larsson 6-5 Reece Robinson
Brendan Dolan 6-5 Vincent Van der Meer
David Pallett 6-1 Michael Barnard
Joe Cullen 6-3 Martin Atkins
Maik Kuivenhoven 6-2 Ryan Joyce
Stephen Bunting 6-5 Ron Meulenkamp
Jason Lowe 6-2 Josh Payne

Second Round
Michael van Gerwen 6-2 Ryan Murray
Ross Smith 6-4 Marko Kantele
Andrew Gilding 6-4 Jermaine Wattimena
Gary Anderson 6-1 Jonathan Worsley
James Wade 6-2 Harry Ward
Ryan Searle 6-4 Chris Dobey
Nathan Aspinall 6-2 Robert Thornton
Danny Noppert 6-2 Christian Bunse
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-4 Robert Collins
Vincent van der Voort 6-4 Matthew Edgar
Nick Kenny 6-3 Jonny Clayton
Conan Whitehead 6-4 Jelle Klaasen
Toni Alcinas 6-3 Harald Leitinger
Gabriel Clemens 6-2 Kirk Shepherd
Adrian Lewis 6-5 Luke Woodhouse
Madars Razma 6-5 Mike De Decker
Ian White 6-3 Martin Schindler
Alan Tabern 6-5 John Henderson
Jamie Hughes 6-2 Wesley Harms
Darius Labanauskas 6-5 Scott Mitchell
Mensur Suljovic 6-5 Steve Lennon
Simon Whitlock 6-4 Joe Murnan
Glen Durrant 6-5 Jesus Noguera
James Wilson 6-4 Niels Zonneveld
Peter Wright 6-1 Gary Blades
Kim Huybrechts 6-5 Dimitri Van den Bergh
Karel Sedlacek 6-5 Rob Cross
Luke Humphries 6-4 Jose De Sousa
Daniel Larsson 6-3 Gavin Carlin
David Pallett 6-4 Brendan Dolan
Maik Kuivenhoven 6-4 Joe Cullen
Jason Lowe 6-3 Stephen Bunting
Losers: £500

Last 32
Michael van Gerwen 6-3 Ross Smith
Gary Anderson 6-3 Andrew Gilding
James Wade 6-1 Ryan Searle
Danny Noppert 6-4 Nathan Aspinall
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-3 Vincent van der Voort
Nick Kenny 6-3 Conan Whitehead
Gabriel Clemens 6-1 Toni Alcinas
Adrian Lewis 6-3 Madars Razma
Ian White 6-5 Alan Tabern
Jamie Hughes 6-1 Darius Labanauskas
Mensur Suljovic 6-4 Simon Whitlock
Glen Durrant 6-3 James Wilson
Peter Wright 6-4 Kim Huybrechts
Karel Sedlacek 6-0 Luke Humphries
Daniel Larsson 6-4 David Pallett
Maik Kuivenhoven 6-3 Jason Lowe
Losers: £1,000

Last 16
Michael van Gerwen 6-3 Gary Anderson
Danny Noppert 6-3 James Wade
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-5 Nick Kenny
Gabriel Clemens 6-3 Adrian Lewis
Ian White 6-4 Jamie Hughes
Mensur Suljovic 6-2 Glen Durrant
Peter Wright 6-4 Karel Sedlacek
Maik Kuivenhoven 6-5 Daniel Larsson
Losers: £1,500

Danny Noppert 6-4 Michael van Gerwen
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-4 Gabriel Clemens
Ian White 6-3 Mensur Suljovic
Peter Wright 6-2 Maik Kuivenhoven
Losers: £2,250

Krzysztof Ratajski 7-2 Danny Noppert
Ian White 7-6 Peter Wright
Losers: £3,000

Krzysztof Ratajski 8-7 Ian White
Winner: £10,000
Runner-up: £6,000