Left arrow

Players Championship 2020 Event Eight Draw: The First Round line-up for Sunday’s ProTour event in Barnsley

Right arrow

Players Championship 2022 Event One | Draw and Live Scores

Sparkling White claims Players Championship Eight title

Jamie Shaw in Players Championship 15 Mar 2020
Stoke star Ian White celebrates (Photo by Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

Ian White ended a two-year wait for a Players Championship title by claiming glory in Barnsley on Sunday with an 8-3 victory over James Wade in the final.

White, who picked up two European Tour titles in 2019, last tasted success in a Players Championship event in June 2018, but stormed to the £10,000 title at the Barnsley Metrodome.

The world number eleven averaged in excess of 100 in all but one of his seven victories on the day, including a 111.3 in his win over John Henderson in the Last 32.

White began the second day of the weekend’s ProTour double-header with a 105 average in a 6-4 win over William Borland before defeating Brazil’s Diogo Portela by the same scoreline with a 102.4 average

His Last 32 triumph over Henderson was followed by a 103.7 average in a 6-2 success over Stephen Bunting before averaging 109.7 in a 6-4 defeat of Dave Chisnall.

The 49-year-old then defeated Kim Huybrechts 7-4 in the Semi-Finals and went on to brush aside Wade for a 13th PDC title of his career.

“I’ve been playing good darts through the year but not been getting the luck, so this title has been coming,” said White.

“The form is coming on, I’ve had a few problems but I’m sorting myself out and everything is going well.

“A couple of weeks ago Peter Wright was hitting lots of 100-plus averages so that spurred me on to keep up with him.

“Everyone goes on about my TV form not being as good as my ProTour form but I play good darts on the TV stages, I’ve hit a few averages over 100.

“I’ve just run into top class players at their best a few times, I just think I’ve been unlucky.

“My heads on this year and I want to stay in that top ten.”

White squandered four darts at doubles to win the opening leg of the final but took out 80 in the second to level up.

The Stoke star then finished 71 and landed double ten to move two clear, and after Wade cleaned up 80 to peg back, ‘Diamond’ reeled off three consecutive legs with finishes of 71 and 98 en route to a 6-2 lead.

Wade stopped the rot with an 85 checkout but White followed in with a 105 finish to make it 7-3 before converting double ten to complete a commanding victory.

Wade was appearing in his first ranking final of the season following earlier wins over Wesley Harms, Jason Lowe, Ciaran Teehan, Josh Payne, Keegan Brown and Derk Telnekes.

The Machine’s win over Lowe saw him average 111.2, one of three ton-plus averages across the day.

Dutch newcomer Telnekes followed up Saturday’s Quarter-Final run with a superb run to the Semi-Finals as he continued his impressive start to life in the PDC.

World number one Michael van Gerwen suffered a shock First Round exit at the hands of his compatriot Maik Kuivenhoven in a last-leg decider.

Gary Anderson also fell at the first hurdle to Andy Hamilton, as did Saturday’s champion Nathan Aspinall – who was beaten by Latvia’s Madars Razma.

Players Championship 2020 Event Eight Results

Sunday March 15

First Round
Maik Kuivenhoven 6-5 Michael van Gerwen
Gavin Carlin 6-2 Mike van Duivenbode
Scott Waites 6-4 Darren Webster
Gary Blades 6-4 Alan Tabern
Derk Telnekes 6-5 Steve Beaton
Graham Usher 6-5 Marko Kantele
Jose De Sousa 6-0 Daniel Ayres
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-5 Adam Hunt
Jamie Lewis 6-4 Joe Cullen
Luke Woodhouse 6-5 Arjan Konterman
Jeff Smith 6-4 Gabriel Clemens
Mickey Mansell 6-3 Martin Schindler
Glen Durrant 6-5 Ryan Murray
Connor Scutt 6-2 Robert Thornton
Scott Mitchell 6-3 Chris Dobey
Ryan Meikle 6-4 Steve Lennon
James Wade 6-3 Wesley Harms
Jason Lowe 6-1 James Hubbard
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-4 Nathan Derry
Ciaran Teehan 6-5 Jim Walker
Jonny Clayton 6-1 Barrie Bates
Josh Payne 6-3 Nick Kenny
Danny Noppert 6-4 Richard North
Luke Humphries 6-5 Martijn Kleermaker
Daryl Gurney 6-2 Vincent Van der Meer
Steve West 6-4 Peter Jacques
Justin Pipe 6-2 Carl Wilkinson
Niels Zonneveld 6-5 Harry Ward
Rob Cross 6-4 Conan Whitehead
Steve Brown 6-4 Matthew Edgar
Keegan Brown 6-3 Kirk Shepherd
Kai Fan Leung 6-4 Michael Barnard
Ian White 6-4 William Borland
Diogo Portela 6-3 Aaron Beeney
John Henderson 6-4 Lisa Ashton
Mark McGeeney 6-4 Robert Collins
Dom Taylor 6-5 Jermaine Wattimena
Andy Hamilton 6-4 Gary Anderson
Stephen Bunting 6-1 Ross Smith
Rowby-John Rodriguez 6-3 Stu Wilson
Dave Chisnall 6-2 Adam Huckvale
Darren Penhall 6-4 Andrew Gilding
Mervyn King 6-5 Simon Stevenson
Benito van de Pas 6-2 Jelle Klaasen
Geert Nentjes 6-4 Jamie Hughes
Jonathan Worsley 6-4 David Pallett
Christian Bunse 6-2 Vincent van der Voort
Damon Heta 6-3 Kyle Anderson
Peter Wright 6-1 Colin Osborne
Scott Taylor 6-5 Reece Robinson
Scott Baker 6-5 William O’Connor
Ryan Searle 6-5 Bradley Brooks
Mike De Decker 6-1 Jeffrey De Zwaan
Jan Dekker 6-5 Ron Meulenkamp
Brendan Dolan 6-2 Devon Petersen
Kim Huybrechts 6-5 Adrian Gray
Madars Razma 6-3 Nathan Aspinall
Carl Hamilton 6-3 Ted Evetts
Ricky Evans 6-1 Jitse Van der Wal
Eddie Lovely 6-1 Darius Labanauskas
Michael Smith 6-4 Andy Boulton
Wayne Jones 6-1 James Wilson
Simon Whitlock 6-4 Ryan Joyce
Joe Murnan 6-3 Brian Raman

Second Round
Gavin Carlin 6-2 Maik Kuivenhoven
Gary Blades 6-3 Scott Waites
Derk Telnekes 6-3 Graham Usher
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-4 Jose De Sousa
Luke Woodhouse 6-2 Jamie Lewis
Mickey Mansell 6-2 Jeff Smith
Glen Durrant 6-1 Connor Scutt
Scott Mitchell 6-5 Ryan Meikle
James Wade 6-1 Jason Lowe
Ciaran Teehan 6-5 Dimitri Van den Bergh
Josh Payne 6-3 Jonny Clayton
Luke Humphries 6-5 Danny Noppert
Daryl Gurney 6-2 Steve West
Justin Pipe 6-2 Niels Zonneveld
Rob Cross 6-4 Steve Brown
Keegan Brown 6-4 Kai Fan Leung
Ian White 6-4 Diogo Portela
John Henderson 6-3 Mark McGeeney
Dom Taylor 6-2 Andy Hamilton
Stephen Bunting BYE Rowby-John Rodriguez
Dave Chisnall 6-3 Darren Penhall
Mervyn King 6-4 Benito van de Pas
Jonathan Worsley 6-1 Geert Nentjes
Christian Bunse 6-5 Damon Heta
Peter Wright 6-2 Scott Taylor
Ryan Searle 6-4 Scott Baker
Jan Dekker 6-5 Mike De Decker
Kim Huybrechts 6-2 Brendan Dolan
Carl Hamilton 6-2 Madars Razma
Ricky Evans 6-5 Eddie Lovely
Michael Smith 6-5 Wayne Jones
Joe Murnan 6-5 Simon Whitlock
Losers: £500

Last 32
Gavin Carlin 6-4 Gary Blades
Derk Telnekes 6-2 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Luke Woodhouse 6-5 Mickey Mansell
Glen Durrant 6-4 Scott Mitchell
James Wade 6-4 Ciaran Teehan
Josh Payne 6-5 Luke Humphries
Justin Pipe 6-3 Daryl Gurney
Keegan Brown 6-5 Rob Cross
Ian White 6-3 John Henderson
Stephen Bunting 6-5 Dom Taylor
Dave Chisnall 6-5 Mervyn King
Christian Bunse 6-1 Jonathan Worsley
Peter Wright 6-4 Ryan Searle
Kim Huybrechts 6-1 Jan Dekker
Ricky Evans 6-2 Carl Hamilton
Michael Smith 6-2 Joe Murnan
Losers: £1,000

Last 16
Derk Telnekes 6-2 Gavin Carlin
Luke Woodhouse 6-5 Glen Durrant
James Wade 6-5 Josh Payne
Keegan Brown 6-2 Justin Pipe
Ian White 6-2 Stephen Bunting
Dave Chisnall 6-0 Christian Bunse
Kim Huybrechts 6-0 Peter Wright
Michael Smith 6-5 Ricky Evans
Losers: £1,500

Derk Telnekes 6-3 Luke Woodhouse
James Wade 6-4 Keegan Brown
Ian White 6-4 Dave Chisnall
Kim Huybrechts 6-4 Michael Smith
Losers: £2,250

James Wade 7-2 Derk Telnekes
Ian White 7-4 Kim Huybrechts
Losers: £3,000

Ian White 8-3 James Wade
Winner: £10,000
Runner-up: £6,000