Left arrow

Players Championship Darts Event 21 | Draw and Live Scores

Right arrow

Players Championship Darts Event 22 | Draw and Live Scores

Brendan Dolan bags Players Championship 21 title

Jamie Shaw in Players Championship 11 Jul 2022
Brendan Dolan celebrates (Photo by Lawrence Lustig/PDC)

Brendan Dolan picked up his first title of 2022 at Players Championship 21 in Barnsley, defeating Jonny Clayton 8-5 in the final.

Dolan warmed up for the upcoming Betfred World Matchplay in dream fashion by clinching his ninth career PDC title at the Barnsley Metrodome.

Heading into the final tournament before the qualification cut-off for the Matchplay, Dolan’s place among the 16 ProTour Qualifiers was not guaranteed.

However, the Northern Irishman quashed any concerns of missing out on a Blackpool return as he marched to the £12,000 top prize.

Having not won a game in Players Championships 18-20 from Friday to Sunday, Dolan regained the winning habit to maintain his record of reaching at least one ranking final each year since 2019.

“Everyone was telling me I was a dead cert to qualify [for the World Matchplay] but I knew that I wasn’t mathematically in,” admitted Dolan.

“So that was on my mind, maybe I was thinking too much about qualifying for that and the World Grand Prix which was why I couldn’t win a game the last three days.

“I’ve had a really bad year, to be fair. I’ve possibly put myself under too much pressure and not even been able to qualify for European Tours.

“Today I just wanted to win one game. I never felt like I was playing well enough to win it, I got lucky today at times.

“There were moments of good darts but there wasn’t enough consistency so I’m not going to get too excited about this win. But, in the context of my year, this is massive.”

Dolan’s day began with a 6-0 whitewash of Nick Fullwell before he came through last-leg deciders to deny Ian White, Joe Murnan and Danny Noppert.

Victories over Keegan Brown and Damon Heta in the Quarter-Finals and Semi-Finals respectively took the 48-year-old to the final, where he denied Clayton a first title of the year.

With the final finely poised at three-all, Dolan reeled off the next three legs to open up a commanding 6-3 lead.

Clayton replied with a superb 138 checkout to break throw, which he backed up with an 81 finish to hold and move within a leg at 6-5 behind.

Dolan, however, fended off the Welshman’s fightback with a 13-dart hold and then clinched victory with a 102 checkout.

Chris Dobey, Madars Razma and Rowby-John Rodriguez also made sure of qualification for the World Matchplay at Players Championship 21, with Razma and Rodriguez set to make their Winter Gardens debuts at the event.

LATEST DARTS FREE BET OFFERS (18+ | T&Cs apply | Be Gamble Aware)

Players Championship 21 Results

Monday July 11

First Round
Luke Humphries (BYE)
Cameron Menzies 6-3 Steve Haggerty
Lee Evans 6-2 Scott Williams
Karel Sedlacek 6-5 John Henderson
Jimmy Hendriks 6-4 Daryl Gurney
Scott Marsh 6-5 Mario Vandenbogaerde
Gabriel Clemens 6-4 Jon Worsley
Keegan Brown 6-4 Brett Claydon
Joe Cullen 6-3 Steve West
Joe Murnan 6-2 David Evans
Brendan Dolan 6-0 Nick Fullwell
Ian White 6-1 Pete Burgoyne
Danny Noppert 6-4 Boris Koltsov
Geert Nentjes 6-5 Raymond van Barneveld
Luke Woodhouse 6-2 Madars Razma
Connor Scutt 6-2 Peter Jacques
Damon Heta 6-0 Krzysztof Kciuk
Josh Rock 6-2 George Killington
Ricky Evans 6-5 Brian Raman
Geert De Vos 6-4 Martijn Kleermaker
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-5 Ryan Joyce
Matt Campbell 6-1 Adam Hunt
Jamie Clark 6-5 Stephen Bunting
Steve Lennon 6-1 Boris Krcmar
Shaun Wilkinson 6-3 Ryan Searle
Danny Jansen 6-4 Mike De Decker
Simon Whitlock 6-3 Darren Webster
Nathan Rafferty 6-1 Lewy Williams
Ritchie Edhouse 6-5 Martin Schindler
Alan Soutar 6-1 Maik Kuivenhoven
Ryan Meikle 6-4 Martin Lukeman
Mensur Suljovic 6-1 Luc Peters
Michael Smith 6-3 Ross Montgomery
Ron Meulenkamp 6-5 Danny Baggish
Keane Barry 6-3 Gordon Mathers
Jamie Hughes 6-2 Max Hopp
Dave Chisnall 6-2 Danny van Trijp
Richie Burnett 6-3 Jake Jones
James Wade 6-3 Stu Wilson
Scott Mitchell 6-4 Jason Heaver
Peter Wright 6-2 Bradley Brooks
Jermaine Wattimena 6-5 Matthew Edgar
Rowby Rodriguez 6-3 Kevin Burness
Peter Hudson 6-2 Adam Gawlas
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-4 Berry van Peer
Niels Zonneveld 6-3 Vladimir Andersen
Chris Dobey 6-5 Jeff Smith
Kevin Doets 6-4 James Wilson
Rob Cross 6-5 William Borland
Jeffrey De Zwaan 6-3 Jose Justicia
Vincent van der Voort 6-1 Ted Evetts
Darius Labanauskas 6-4 Tony Martinez
Jonny Clayton 6-3 Ricardo Pietreczko
Jack Main 6-0 Scott Waites
Andrew Gilding 6-3 Eddie Lovely
Mervyn King 6-1 William O’Connor
Nathan Aspinall 6-2 Stephen Burton
Devon Petersen 6-4 Florian Hempel
Ross Smith 6-5 Damian Mol
Jim Williams 6-4 Jules van Dongen
Jose de Sousa 6-5 Radek Szaganski
Mickey Mansell 6-4 John O’Shea
Kim Huybrechts 6-2 Rusty Rodriguez
Steve Beaton 6-2 Andy Boulton

Second Round
Cameron Menzies 6-5 Luke Humphries
Karel Sedlacek 6-4 Lee Evans
Scott Marsh 6-5 Jimmy Hendriks
Keegan Brown 6-3 Gabriel Clemens
Joe Murnan 6-4 Joe Cullen
Brendan Dolan 6-5 Ian White
Danny Noppert 6-3 Geert Nentjes
Luke Woodhouse 6-5 Connor Scutt
Damon Heta 6-5 Josh Rock
Ricky Evans 6-5 Geert De Vos
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-5 Matt Campbell
Steve Lennon 6-2 Jamie Clark
Danny Jansen 6-4 Shaun Wilkinson
Nathan Rafferty 6-4 Simon Whitlock
Ritchie Edhouse 6-5 Alan Soutar
Mensur Suljovic 6-3 Ryan Meikle
Michael Smith 6-5 Ron Meulenkamp
Keane Barry 6-5 Jamie Hughes
Dave Chisnall 6-2 Richie Burnett
James Wade 6-3 Scott Mitchell
Peter Wright 6-2 Jermaine Wattimena
Rowby Rodriguez 6-3 Peter Hudson
Niels Zonneveld 6-2 Dimitri Van den Bergh
Chris Dobey 6-0 Kevin Doets
Rob Cross 6-1 Jeffrey De Zwaan
Vincent van der Voort 6-1 Darius Labanauskas
Jonny Clayton 6-4 Jack Main
Mervyn King 6-2 Andrew Gilding
Nathan Aspinall 6-4 Devon Petersen
Ross Smith 6-1 Jim Williams
Mickey Mansell 6-4 Jose de Sousa
Kim Huybrechts 6-5 Steve Beaton
Losers: £750

Last 32
Cameron Menzies 6-4 Karel Sedlacek
Keegan Brown 6-4 Scott Marsh
Brendan Dolan 6-5 Joe Murnan
Danny Noppert 6-3 Luke Woodhouse
Damon Heta 6-3 Ricky Evans
Krzysztof Ratajski 6-3 Steve Lennon
Nathan Rafferty 6-5 Danny Jansen
Mensur Suljovic 6-1 Ritchie Edhouse
Michael Smith 6-4 Keane Barry
Dave Chisnall 6-1 James Wade
Peter Wright 6-4 Rowby Rodriguez
Niels Zonneveld 6-5 Chris Dobey
Vincent van der Voort 6-4 Rob Cross
Jonny Clayton 6-2 Mervyn King
Nathan Aspinall 6-4 Ross Smith
Mickey Mansell 6-1 Kim Huybrechts
Losers: £1,250

Last 16
Keegan Brown 6-1 Cameron Menzies
Brendan Dolan 6-5 Danny Noppert
Damon Heta 6-3 Krzysztof Ratajski
Mensur Suljovic 6-1 Nathan Rafferty
Dave Chisnall 6-4 Michael Smith
Peter Wright 6-2 Niels Zonneveld
Jonny Clayton 6-4 Vincent van der Voort
Nathan Aspinall 6-4 Mickey Mansell
Losers: £2,000

Brendan Dolan 6-3 Keegan Brown
Damon Heta 6-2 Mensur Suljovic
Dave Chisnall 6-4 Peter Wright
Jonny Clayton 6-3 Nathan Aspinall
Losers: £3,000

Brendan Dolan 7-4 Damon Heta
Jonny Clayton 7-4 Dave Chisnall
Losers: £4,000

Brendan Dolan 8-5 Jonny Clayton
Winner: £12,000
Runner-up: £8,000

Today's Top Offers

  • Watch the New South Wales Darts Masters streamed live
  • Bet £10 and Get £50 in Free Bets when you register
  • Get 6/1 for Usyk OR 15/1 for Joshua to win
  • Available to new 888 Sport customers